We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mainstay Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mainstay Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mainstay Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 231: English reviews
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Very clean rooms. Helpful staff members. A little ways from down town. But very happy with our stay. Will definitely be starting here again. Great breakfast in the morning. House keeping did a great job

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael m
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Your kind remarks are greatly appreciated:) And we agree with you wholeheartedly that our housekeeping team is A #1!! We look forward to your next visit.

Gulf Breeze, Florida
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I never write reviews until now. Checking in was fine. Went to the pool and it was disgusting. Very dirty. The second floor hallway smelled musty and looked worn. Our room had a single queen and it was placed right next to the AC unit. I mean it is two feet from your face! Whoever designed this room layout was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were dissatisfied with the guest room on your recent stay with us. It is my understanding that upon arrival you requested an upgrade to a room with 2 queen beds. And while we would have gladly accommodated that request we had no double queen suites available that night. The guest service agent who assisted...

Camanche, Iowa
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Overnight stay on our way to Alligator Point, Fl. Nice accommodations with friendly staff. Room was clean and the location is very quiet and secluded. The bed wasn't as comfortable as most Choice Hotels, but still ok.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shootyeah1964
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We have almost replaced every bed in the hotel with Serta double pillow top mattresses and they are getting rave reviews! Stop in again the next time you are headed to the Point and I guarantee you a comfortable mattress!

Reviewed 5 August 2016

Enjoyed the breakfast. Room was nice, clean. It was nice to have a fridge for cold drinks. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only problem was bed was right next to a/c and I had to block vent with sofa cushions to prevent draft blowing on me and getting a stiff neck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Joy S, We are pleased that you enjoyed the guest amenities and staff service:) Our maintenance team is currently searching for diverters for the ptac units in the queen guestrooms to alleviate the problem you mentioned. The other room types we offer don't present that issue. Thank you again for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback as...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

My family of 5 needed a last minute hotel on our way to Cape San Blas. After researching several options this seemed to be the only selection that did not require a minimum of 2 night stay. I won't lie. I was expecting the worst and hoping for the best. Pulling up to the hotel, my hope was rising. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MRFaulk
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Score! Great review for Team MainStay! We appreciate you:) Please keep us in mind for your next trip to the Cape!

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We really liked the Mainstay. The rooms were spacious and not only were they clean but they had a clean and fresh smell to them. Beds were comfortable and it was nice having a refrigerator. The pool felt like bath water, which we did not mind at all being as our pools at home are very chilly. The free breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orlandobound88
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

I am so pleased that we were able to accommodate your family's early arrival and provide you with a spacious comfortable guest room and excellent guest services. We appreciate your business and your comments:)

Ocala, Florida
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Worn out furniture, especially the lumpy bed. Stained carpeting and tv sets which required a Degree in Communications to operate. Breakfast the next morning was no big deal, we decided to get some breakfast on the road instead.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyFloridians
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Dear HappyFloridians, I too am a happy Floridian:) Born and raised in the sunshine state! Your review of your recent stay "stings" a little, but we want you to know that we have already replaced most of the box springs and mattresses with more arriving daily to complete the job. We are converting all of the queen deluxe suites into...

Tampa
Reviewed 11 July 2016

The rooms are nice, clean, and spacious. Jeff from management was great. Very close to St. Joseph Peninsula State Park. Includes breakfast again too! We will definitely be back again. Includes breakfast too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myreviews098
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities:) Jeff is a definite asset to our front desk team, super friendly, and very knowledgeable about the area fishing! See you soon:)

Chilhowee, Missouri
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights here for a quick trip to the beach. I have mixed feelings about this place. First for the positives. The room was nice enough and was a reasonable rate. The staff was friendly. The pool was great, my kids really enjoyed it. I had never had any interest in staying somewhere with a pool before since...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mandy H
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Mandy, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. Please allow me to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations regarding our housekeeping policy. Housekeeping is available upon request and that should have been explained to you when at check in. You have the option of having light service (beds made, trash taken...

Riverview, Florida
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We are traveling from Tampa to Texas and decided to include a detour at port st. Joe as part of our itinerary. I reserved my room via Expedia several months in advance, and thinks to cyber crossed wires wound up with two identical reservations, although Expedia claimed I only had one. The staff at the mainstay worked so hard to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for this rave review! And the very best part of your review? That you will recommend us to your family and friends!! Please come back and see us again soon!

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
4.2 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
234 reviews
28.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
508 reviews
29.1 km away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 km away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
317 reviews
28.7 km away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
120 reviews
29.3 km away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Mainstay Suites

Address: 3951 E Highway 98, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-5318
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Price Range: $104 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mainstay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Hotel Port Saint Joe
Mainstay Port Saint Joe
Mainstay Suites Port Saint Joe, Florida
Port Saint Joe Mainstay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mainstay Suites staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Crown Point, Indiana
over a year ago
Leesburg, Florida
over a year ago
Marietta, Georgia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mainstay Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Noticed a few dogs at the hotel but it was amazingly quite.”
 of 5 bubbles jol375, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quiet, convenient to hospital and medical park.”
 of 5 bubbles Matt_R_12345, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This is in a very quiet area, all rooms should be fine.”
 of 5 bubbles ada369, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Upon arrival, ask to take a look at the room and if reserved online, be sure you get what you asked for and paid for.”
 of 5 bubbles bfp0p, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The ground floors have outside access”
 of 5 bubbles patr95, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay