The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens

The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens

Traveller (837)
Room & Suite (148)
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#12 of 91 hotels in St. Augustine
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Collector Luxury Inn Gardens offers the personal touches of a bed and breakfast with modern amenities of a luxury hotel in the historic district.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Taxi service
Adults only
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Poolside bar
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:Advance Purchase - 20% off

Location

149 Cordova Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4425
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Jacksonville Intl Airport
76.4 km
See all flights
St. Augustine Airport
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,094 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a prime location, The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens is a hit among travelers for its easy access to nearby attractions and walkability, though the buzz of the city occasionally filters through. Guests have called out the inn's rooms for their charming blend of history and modern amenities, despite sporadic noise and cleanliness hiccups. The inn's array of praised amenities, such as the complimentary breakfast and the enchanting bar 'The Well', complement the clean and well-maintained environment. While service is typically regarded as warm and professional, it's not without its rare missteps. The overall atmosphere marries historical elegance with contemporary comfort, leaving guests with a memorable experience, although opinions on value do vary.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Top-notch

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,094Review26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 920
  • 79
  • 57
  • 23
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jennifersC2261WH wrote a review Jun 15
Milton, Florida10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent service, very comfortable, clean and quiet, yet walking distance to many restaurants and activities. Historic homes full of charm, beautiful gardens with relaxing pool and nighttime ambient lighting. Fire pits and delicious cocktails. *No screaming children.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take the property tour. Complimentary breakfast is very good considering limited kitchen. This...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie Robles, General Manager at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens
Responded 2 days ago
Greetings "JenniferC, Thanks for taking the time to share your recent visit with us here at The Collector. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon! Cheers,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ALMichael wrote a review Jan 2020
Spanish Fort, Alabama12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been to St Augustine several times and were ready for a trip back. An internet search found The Collector. After reading reviews I decided to book. After booking through my credit card reward program I called the hotel to see if I could bring our small dog. I was told by Lynn at the front desk that we had booked a room that did not allow dogs and we had booked a handicap accessible room. She offered an upgrade for a small fee and I accepted and thanked her. After ending the call she called me back a few minutes later and told me that she moved some people around and had an opening in the building that allowed dogs. We were so happy to travel with our dog. We later found out what would be our only complaint about the hotel, we could not leave our crate trained dog unattended at the hotel. This was okay as most places in the city are dog friendly but it would have been nice to leave him for dinner at times. Other than this our stay was amazing. From our arrival we were greeted by Mike the valet who helped us with our luggage and told us all about the inn and shared his suggestions for food and adventures. We found The Well in the middle of the grounds and were welcomed by a true mixologist John who spun amazing cocktails in the hotel's bar. He mixed our drinks for a few nights until his night off and Emma picked up right where he left off. Our room was on the second floor of the Canova House. The king bed room was well perfectly stocked with all the amenities we needed including a small sink, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Breakfast was served every morning in the hotel lobby with fresh pastries, bagels including smoked salmon and coffee. The hotel even provides bikes that can be checked out daily.

One of the things that we really enjoyed was the history tour of the grounds of the hotel. This is offered several times a week and lasted about an hour.

My wife and I cannot wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 370charlier, General Manager at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear "Almichael" Thank you so much for sharing your experience here at The Collector, we truly appreciate your kind words. The reason we require the dog to not be left in the room alone is because you are sharing a house with other guests and often the dog becomes anxious when left in a strange place and either bark or whine, disturbing other guests. The front desk will be happy to assist you in finding dog friendly places to eat, there are many in St. Augustine. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Collector.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Ed B wrote a review Nov 2020
Pasadena, California108 contributions161 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed a short stay in late September and found ourselves wishing we had more time there. All the rumors are true - great people, amazing property and smack dab in the middle of town. The service was impeccable (the welcome margarita was super nice) and the valet by itself sets it apart from other properties in this area.

Our room a/c was great, shower pressure was strong and you just enjoy the historic value of walking inside the property as well. During covid - lots of things were still closed, but the continental breakfast was definitely not run of the mill. Salmon and cheese plate was phenomenal.

After touring around town, we were so glad to have made the decision to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie Robles, General Manager at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens
Responded Dec 14, 2020
Thanks "Meerkat92101" We are so glad you had an opportunity to have a bit of a "covid vacay" and were are thrilled you chose us. We hope to see you back again soon Happy Holidays and stay safe!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eliapadron wrote a review Jul 2021
11 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
the rugs need to be shampooed, and there was A LOT of dust under the bed, you clearly have not swept nor vacuumed for months. My husband's allergies started to act up. Why are you not checking to see that housekeeping is actually doing their job satisfactorily? At over $200 a night this is unacceptable. Very noisy place, people slamming doors, talking loudly at all times throughout the night and day. And several times the door outside of our building was kept open, anyone can walk in. Not safe at all. You have a tablet with the camera ON facing the bathroom. Also, if you have a VPN you can't use your private IP address with your laptop. We had to go to Casa Monica to access personal accounts. Incredibly dirty under the bed, we took pictures of how horrible it was. My husband couldn't stop sneezing because it was so dusty. The kitchenette space is very uncomfortable. No blackouts on the windows and with noisy people, and door slamming, it is impossible to get a good nights sleep. The mattresses were very hard. There were people leaving the door to enter the building open and ajar. The fan in the bedroom has a white reflex that feels like a light has been turned on in the room. Their breakfast leaves much to be desired, Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, kibble looking turkey sausage, overcooked boiled eggs that had a green yolk, overcooked oatmeal mush. They don't have a kitchen as they are a historic building, but to serve these items that leave much to be desired, they could have catering from a local business. I mean you are paying a lot of money and they serve you frozen breakfast sandwiches? Hard to justify that one.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie Robles, General Manager at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens
Responded Jul 7, 2021
Dear "eliapadron" I am very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience. The carpets are antique and shampooed monthly. The IPad is for your use whale you are a guest, if you have a problem with it we are happy to remove it from your room, or you can put it in a drawer. The Ipads are on a private network and not even I have access to them. They are not "on" when not in use. I am not sure why you couldn't use your laptop as I have never had a complaint regarding this from another guest except one who had to clear their computers cache first. Without a professional kitchen (as required by the health department, our breakfast is quite extensive. Did you not see the smoked salmon and bagels as well as the pastries delivered daily? Historic buildings are certainly not for everyone and I am sorry if other guests were noisy. If you call the front desk they will notify the guest who is not respecting your enjoyment and ask them to quiet down. I understand you spoke with the Assistant GM who made an adjustment to your bill for any inconvenience you encountered. Thanks again, for sharing and stay well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SGL3281 wrote a review Jan 2021
Cocoa, Florida11 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival, I tried to get the attention of the valet, but he was to busy looking at his phone. We then decided to park on the street and went into the office. The valet came in a few minutes later asking who was parked on the street and they may get a ticket. I found his actions a cover-up for his lack of attention when I called out to him when we parked and was ignored.

Once we got into the room, the rug on the floor had debris on it. As we left for dinner, I mentioned it to Matt, Front Desk Clerk, and he took care of it. Later that evening I noticed several other issues with the room.
1. Wall in sitting area had gouges in the paint. Installing chair rail trim pieces would prevent this, in the future.
2. Ceiling has dirty marks and looks like they never finished painting or repairing the area.
3. In the bathroom, the shower door has mold growing(also looks like spots on the shower wall), grout missing, and the ceiling (above the shower specifically) has cracks and needs painted.
4. Also in the bathroom – the tile/vinyl floor has a lot of stains and has not been properly cleaned to remove them. In addition, the walls were dusty (including the bathroom entry door), and there is paint spattering throughout the bathroom, on walls and flat surfaces.
5. Additional bathroom issues – the toilet rocks back and forth(side to side) when you sit on it. Very startling when it first happened.
6. Lastly in the bathroom – The bath towels were rolled up and put on the window sill above the toilet. They were pushed against the window which caused them to become wet due to condensation buildup from the windows.
7. Bedroom – the was dust throughout the room and all surfaces really needed dusted.
8. Bedroom draw curtain has a problem with the left side pull. It is either broken or disconnected. This caused us to reach up really high to ensure we could close it, preventing light into the room.
9. WiFi – the WiFi password changed on Wednesday and we were not notified. I had a Zoom session that evening and was unable to present my material because I was unable to connect to get to my information. I called the front desk after the call and was told it was changed. The staff failed in relaying that info to the guests, resulting in several inconvenient issues.

Overall, the stay was just okay. On a scale of 1 to 5, I would say a 3. The staff were very helpful, except as noted above. The bar-tending staff in the “WELL” were excellent and attentive.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie Robles, General Manager at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens
Responded Jan 22, 2021
Thanks for sharing your experience, I am happy you took the time. Please call me directly so I can learn more and rectify this situation. I assure you this is very out of the ordinary and not what we want our guests to think of us. All the best
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim W wrote a review Dec 2021
Acworth, Georgia119 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent Christmas weekend here with my folks. I cannot say enough about the cleanliness of the hotel. I’ve stayed in a lot of hotels in my life and this was the cleanest I’ve ever been in. I had a king suite that was spacious and well appointed. The bed was a little soft for me but room was comfortable. I did however not enjoy the constant light that flooded the room (H203). The side windows were lit up with Christmas lights so the room never got dark making it difficult to sleep. Some blackout curtains would be appreciated. The grounds are fabulous with all sorts of gathering areas and a few fire pits that go 24/7. The pool is small but well kept and there is a bar on-site that has unique beers and cocktails.

My 3 star rating is primarily because the hotel doesn’t really prepare you for what you will or will not be getting. This hotel is old….very old. It’s a collection of small houses with 3-4 rooms per house. There is little soundproofing so you hear ALOT between rooms and the outside. There are no elevators so you will walk a lot of stairs. They do have bellhops to take your bags up and down but the bellhops are also the valet drivers so expect delays at checkin and checkout. The valet is understaffed so every time you want your car it’s a wait which is compounded by the fact that the cars are parked 1.5miles off site. The staff is super friendly but some additional staff would help some of this. There is no restaurant on site and the “gourmet European continental breakfast” promoted in the brochure was little better than breakfast at a Hampton.

Overall I liked the hotel, and you are paying a premium for the location. But didn’t feel like it was quite up to the 5-star pricing we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Very little self parking in the area and drop off location is super small. Avoid most popular...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie Robles, General Manager at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens
Responded Dec 31, 2021
Greetings "Z970..." I'm sorry you weren't completely happy with your visit, hopefully I can explain a few things. We are required by the city to have off site parking so we own a lot 3 blocks away. Due to traffic and some 1-way streets it sometimes takes a few minutes to get your car. Most guests don't use their cars while here because of the narrow streets and traffic, especially during the holidays. Due to the fact that we are historic, we are not allowed to build a commercial kitchen which is required by the health department to offer a cooked to order breakfast. As I am sure you would agree a Hampton does not offer smoked salmon with capers, locally baked pastries and muffins as well as locally roasted coffee. We do not have elevators (these are residential buildings) but you can request a first floor room when available. We sincerely hope you have a great New Year!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Li2beth wrote a review Apr 2022
26 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently spent three nights in a King Suite on the second floor of the Dow House, and just fell in love with this really unique property. It's about a block from the Lightner Museum, right outside the historic district and basically the perfect walking or driving distance from most things you could want. It's also pretty quiet at night.

My rooms included a private staircase to a sitting room with couch, coffee table, and small table with dining chairs; a very generously sized bedroom (with a fireplace! and window seats!); and a rather cozy bathroom. There was also an immaculate kitchenette area with microwave and half refrigerator and a small selection of mini bar items offered at shockingly reasonable prices.

I ate breakfast on site twice, and was perfectly content with the hot and cold offerings. All staff that I interacted with were friendly, professional, and available when you needed them.

Even with the buildings and rooms spread out a bit, I never felt unsafe. The whole complex is surrounded by high brick walls, and each building has its own key code for access, plus, of course, the key card for your room.

It would have been nice to have daily housekeeping offered, but I survived. The only other minor issue for me was the bathroom, which could use some minor upgrades to make it more user friendly. There was only a pedestal sink, and nowhere to set my toiletry bags unless I wanted to balance them on top of the toilet. The shower itself was lovely, but again, nowhere to set my own toiletries, ended up having to just line them up on the floor. So my advice would be - bring a hanging toiletry bag and maybe a dorm-style shower basket.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Historic wood floors are a bit squeaky. If you can handle stairs, request a second floor room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie Robles, General Manager at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Hi there "li2beth" I share your concern for more space and we are installing some more shelving for toiletries. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pamela L wrote a review Sep 2021
Highlands Ranch, Colorado65 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I recently spent three nights in the Canova House at The Collector as we wanted to enjoy a restful long weekend in St. Augustine. As there are many hotels/B&B from which to choose, we feel fortunate that we chose The Collector.
Our rooms were very comfortable and peaceful, with plenty of room, though in such a historic home. The breakfast buffet was delicious and varied, with a concentration on cleanliness. It was such a treat that The Collector offers complimentary filtered waters, still, sparkling and flavored throughout one's visit. Thank you!
The grounds are magnificent with all the imported statuary and decor. We loved the grounds tour led by Melissa. She is a true gem, as she has been with this property for nearly 50 years, being familiar with the former residents and owners. Such a wealth of knowledge.
The location was perfect, within a 5 minutes walk from the heart of the historic district, Flagler College and the Lightner Museum, yet far enough from city traffic and pedestrian noise.
From the complimentary bicycles, umbrellas, the heated pool, onsite bar, nightly fire pits and lawn games, this is our "go to" for a perfect St. Augustine visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie Robles, General Manager at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens
Responded Sep 29, 2021
Dear "PamelaL, You should be writing copy for hotel brochures! LOL Seriously, I really appreciate all that you said Just an FYI, since installing the water machine 2 months ago we have kept over 8100 plastic water bottles from going into landfill! Hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kah50442 wrote a review Dec 2021
Tampa, Florida895 contributions104 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Collector Inn in St. Augustine is a solid four star. It gets five stars for quaint, clean, enjoyable atmosphere and convenient location. As an all adult establishment, it does have a nice cash bar unlike other B&B’s. If you are a Foodie, then you’ll be a bit disappointed on the breakfast. Microwave heated items, similar to Jimmy Deans frozen breakfast and the limited seating is definitely an issue. There really is not a true dining area. Because of the cooler weather and having only 3 or 4 inside tables, guests were taking food back to the rooms, some older people balanced their dishes on their laps because the needed to sit by the fire-pit for warmth. None of the workers wore masks, except the breakfast area which is combined with the reception area. Anyway, the breakfast is lacking and should be reflected in the establishment rating. Daily room maid service was stopped, thus if you’re there a few days you need to ask for more towels. They could leave new towels daily by the door if not wanting to enter rooms. (Hair conditioner bottle in shower was empty) Simple things like this is not representative of a 5-star place because you should not have to ask for such basics. No bottle water but you were given squirt bottles to fill at the water station in the reception lobby. You probably wouldn’t mind until it’s 10 pm and you realized that the “water station” is in another building. You might think we didn’t like the place which is not true. It very lovely but needs some attention to truly get that 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie Robles, General Manager at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens
Responded Dec 9, 2021
Hi there, Thanks for the honest review, we appreciate it. Please note that due to the historical nature of the property we are not allowed to add a commercial kitchen, something required to produce a cooked breakfast. In addition due to the virus, we were required to limit the indoor seating to 3 tables. The water machine was installed to help reduce the plastic being put into land fills and worse our waterways. It actually costs more than bottled water but in the last 10 months we have kept over 13,000 bottles from being discarded. We have been using small bottles of shampoo and conditioner as with many items, the bulk products are still on back order. I apologize for the inconvenience, I assure you we are trying as everyone else is. Happy Holidays!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
3 B's wrote a review Aug 2020
Melbourne, Florida9 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here for one evening, and to say the least it was amazing. From the seamless check in, fantastic valet, two free cocktails and breakfast delivered to your room. The layout of the hotel property consists of 9 building each from a different time period with a historical story about each one. We stayed in the Howell House (I believe that was the name) the building had a beautiful front porch for enjoying your cocktails or just relaxing, the street is very quiet away from . The street is away from the hustle bustle. Everything is within walking distance and I mean everything. We took advantage of the bicycles onsite and enjoyed our ride through town. The room is modern and spotlessly clean, we had a king room and it was perfect. This hotel takes CDC guidelines in regards to COVID very seriously and you will be given a sheet that explains what they do to prepare the room for guests, There is a beautiful swimming pool onsite as well as large grassy areas. We saw maybe a handful of guests while we were there. We booked a rate that included two free drinks which were delicious, the bar called "The Well" is onsite with a very friendly bartender, you are served your drinks through a window as the bar itself was closed while we were there. They light the fire pits at night as well as landscape lighting. If you're looking to get the true feel of St. Augustine, look no further as this is the only place we will stay when we are here. You pick your breakfast items that you want and they deliver them to your room at your desired time. We stayed during the week and St. Augustine was extremely quiet, not many people on St. George street.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Not a bad room in this place from what I could tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie Robles, General Manager at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens
Responded Aug 20, 2020
Dear "Killer..." THANK YOU so much for sharing your recent experience here at The Collector, we so appreciate it. Our goal is to help our guests create great memories to take home and it sounds like you did just that. On behalf of the entire Collector team, we look forward to your joining us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Charlie R
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Dogs under 40# are allowed only in 1 of the 9 houses and are charged $75 per stay. We changed our policy to allow only children 16 and over after many requests by our guests. We are happy to recommend some equally fine hotels that allow all ages.
Answer from Charlie R
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Pet fee is $75 per stay for dogs under 40#. Smoking is only allowed around the fire pits.
Answer from jonalanstewart
Deerfield, Illinois67 contributions58 helpful votes
Maybe 2 mins
Caren c asked a question Mar 2021
Venice, Florida
I would like to know if you took a deposit from me
Answer from Charlie R
3 contributions3 helpful votes
During the pandemic we do take a 1-night room deposit. This is fully refundable if you cancel more than 3 days prior to arrival.
Joshua A wrote a tip Jun 17
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the historic tour early into your stay. The valet parking lot is off site, so be sure to grab what you need upon arrival."
Read full review
jennifersC2261WH wrote a tip Jun 15
Milton, Florida10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the property tour. Complimentary breakfast is very good considering limited kitchen. This hotel’s location is key."
Read full review
Lisa S wrote a tip May 2024
Bethesda, Maryland103 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We bring our own favorite drinks and get ice buckets from the bar next to the pool!"
Read full review
Audrey M wrote a tip May 2024
7 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Attendants were very helpful and accommodating. Many rooms are upstairs so if you have issues with that, ask for a ground floor room."
Read full review
Nmkoepke wrote a tip Apr 2024
Dayton, Ohio25 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use the valet parking. Be sure and visit The Well on The grounds of The Collector!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Augustine area.
PRICE RANGE
C$385 - C$539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSt. Augustine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens
Which popular attractions are close to The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens?
Nearby attractions include Magic Hideaway (0.3 km), Ximenez-Fatio House Museum (0.2 km), and Cathedral Basilica of St. Augustine (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Reina Taqueria & Tequila, The Kookaburra, and Gaufres & Goods.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of St. Augustine.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Jail Museum (2.1 km), Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (0.9 km), and National Shrine of Our Lady of La Leche at Mission Nombre de Dios (1.7 km).
Does The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All St. Augustine HotelsSt. Augustine Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. AugustineHotels near The Collector Luxury Inn & Gardens
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars