The Old Powder House Inn

The Old Powder House Inn

38 Cordova Street Downtown Historic District, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Traveller (287)
Room & Suite (128)
Dining (50)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#7 of 91 hotels in St. Augustine
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
This historic Victorian-style B&B is a 7-minute walk from the Lightner Museum and an 8-minute walk from Castillo De San Marcos National Monument. Individually decorated rooms come with period furnishings and Wi-Fi; some showcase collections of antiques. Soaking tubs and whirlpool tubs are available in select rooms. There's also a suite that sleeps 4. Amenities include a porch, a veranda, courtyards and gardens. Breakfast is available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Adults only
Newspaper
24-hour check-in
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Complimentary welcome drink
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Umbrella
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

38 Cordova Street Downtown Historic District, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Jacksonville Intl Airport
75.7 km
See all flights
St. Augustine Airport
393Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 348
  • 25
  • 9
  • 4
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Soulheart wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights at this beautiful historic bed & breakfast. We just loved everything about this place. Vintage Victorian beauty, owned by Bob and Suzanne. What an amazing couple. They are the kindest people you’d ever want to meet. Ready to accommodate with any of your needs with a smile. They felt like old friends. The breakfast, well, wow! Our room had a private entrance, on our way to the dining room for breakfast, we caught Suzanne picking fresh mint from her garden for our scrumptious breakfast. I loved that special touch. Over the top delicious! Served on beautifully set tables for two. Our room was spotless and charming. Coffee, wine, and snacks were available 24/7. Many thanks to Bob and Suzanne for making our first time stay wonderfully memorable. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If room size is important to you, make sure you ask. We did not ask, our room was the smallest,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bob Hailey, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn
Responded Feb 22, 2021
It was wonderful being your hosts on your special trip to St Augustine. We had so much fun making you feel relaxed and well taken care of. We hope you'll be back soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aellis837 wrote a review Aug 2021
Tennessee
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My mom and I kicked off our annual mother daughter vacation with a weekend at the Old Powder House. It was my mom’s first bed and breakfast experience and we loved it. The owners are new and so nice. We loved chatting with the owner John and also really enjoyed meeting Mary who helps out at breakfast. Breakfasts were delicious and John made special accommodations for guests who wanted a different dish. On our final day, we and one couple were the only guests and he let us select what we wanted. We loved the porches for relaxing and this was a prime location for leaving the car and walking everywhere. We had the Serenity room which was the best located room in my opinion - the only room which was entered directly from the porch. I felt the decor here was a good blend of old and modern - not like some B&Bs that feel a little too much like your grandma’s house, haha. Note that there’s no way up to floor 2 except a tiny flight of stairs, definitely be aware this may not work well for mobility issues or seniors. I felt this stay was a great value for the cost with the 3-course breakfast and extras like wine and snacks available 24/7. I hear they’re going to be making some renovations and we’d love to return. You won’t go wrong booking here!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan F wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My finance and I eloped to the Powered House Inn, and must say Bob and Suzanne and Beverly were the most gracious and perfect host we could of ever dreamed of. The experience, as special as it was to us, was made very special and memorable. The Inn is both quaint and romantic, along with being in the perfect location to enjoy the everything the city has to offer. The breakfast and atmosphere was perfect, gourmet dining and great company. The ceremony took place in the garden, followed by a wonderful carriage around the city to a fabulous restaurant. The weekend was absolutely perfect, and all the thanks goes to our host. They paid particular attention to every detail making it not only easy, but perfect.

Thanks for everything!
Bill and Susan
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from suzanne hailey, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn
Responded Jun 21, 2020
It was a very special experience for Bob and me to be part of your special day. It was perfect. Hope to see you celebrating your anniversary with us. Thanks so much for choosing us, and our fabulous city, to make magic.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim T wrote a review Jan 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointed in our room. Advertised as a garden entrance, very misleading! Our door was very difficult to close and lock without slamming it shut with your hip, pulling onto the door to lock it! The owner cleaned our room and left the door unlocked and not completely shut with our valuables in the room. The room is a few steps from the parking lot in the back of the building and anyone can just walk right into the room! The enchanted room is very, very small as well as the shower, nowhere literally to put your bathroom item's or bags. It's a room for someone single. We addressed the issues with the door twice as well as the size of room requesting a bigger room and a door you can shut and lock without difficulty. Sad to say but Cady was not accommodating nor willing to fix the door lock. As far as breakfast the first morning we were served a breakfast burrito with beef peppers and onions and a side ofrefried beans. This is not a breakfast burrito. It was missing the egg, bacon or ham etc! Difficult to get down at 9:30 am. Not sure the cook knows what a breakfast burrito is!. Disappointed as it was our 40th wedding anniversary celebration. The only compensation from her regarding our the issues was a minnie bottle of wine. Sorry Cady for the poor review, for a B & B and the rate you charge, we expected a lot more personal hospitality, definitely a larger room, with a bigger shower and a door to the room that shuts and locks appropriately without worry and some type of compensation for the issues.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather C, Innkeeper at The Old Powder House Inn
Responded Jan 27, 2023
Hi Kim, Thank you for your feedback, we received your phone call right when we were closing up for the day and had explained to you right away when you asked if we had any vacancy, that the ONLY room we had available was our smallest room. After informing you of that, you accepted that it was small, and booked anyway. We also told you that our Inn was completely booked, and we were unable to switch you to a different room. We had several complaints from you throughout your stay, that we tried our best to accommodate and fix. Even personally coming to the Inn at 10pm to help with an issue. All that being said, we did also give you a return credit of 20%. Im sorry that you felt your stay was less than satisfactory, as we strive to make everyone's stay as sooth and comfortable as possible. Breakfast varies, and it's always changing. It was sausage, not beef. I assure you the chef knows what they are doing, as they are trained in what they do. Everyone has different opinions on what is or is not breakfast, and we are sorry that it wasn't up to your standards. We again, appreciate your feedback and we wish you the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MICHELLE H wrote a review Jul 2020
Tampa, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I believe that to own a Bed & Breakfast you have to have "IT" in your heart and owners, Bob & Suzanne definitely have IT! They are genuinely kind and caring. From the moment you're met at the door you get a warm welcome. We stayed in room 6 Serenity. It's upstairs with a verandah facing the street. There's a king size bed with a private bathroom with shower (no bathtub). On the verandah there's chairs, tables, a porch swing, a refrigerator with soda, water, cheese & smoked sausage. There's also some board games to play. There was some street noise but it didn't bother us. There is also a mini coffee/tea bar with a little sink & a mini fridge. Also a carafe of sherry if you so choose to have a night cap. Shampoo, conditioner, bar soap, lotion all provided. There's also a hair dryer, iron, ironing board, television and a window unit a/c that you control the temperature. Besides the amazing hosts, the food was incredible!!! The 1st day we had watermelon salad with feta & mint from their garden - how cool is that?! There was also apple cinnamon cake and the main course was a deconstructed eggs benedict. Delicious! The 2nd morning we had mango/pineapple salad, banana bread and the main course was peach & cream cheese stuffed french toast. Unbelievably amazing and beautifully presented. Fresh orange juice and coffee served, too. This place is EVERYTHING one would want in a Bed and Breakfast! There is much love and pride put into this wonderful establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Set alarm and make sure to make it to breakfast - it's at 9 a.m. only. You DO NOT want to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bob Hailey, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Thank you, Michelle, for your glowing review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfasts. We hope to see you again so we can spoil you some more. Cheers!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellenmail wrote a review Dec 2020
Vero Beach, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We randomly selected The Old Powder House for our night in SA. What a stroke of luck! The innkeepers, Suzanne and Bob, were charming and enthusiastic. Breakfast was delicious with never ending cups of coffee.
Our king size bedroom on the first floor was super comfortable and quiet even though on the street. We both slept like babies.
The Inn is in the thick of everything so no need to move your car while you are there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bob Hailey, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn
Responded Feb 22, 2021
We're sure glad you chose us. The Victoria Rose room is one of the two Victorian themed rooms we have. The King size bed and the hardwood floors hopefully made you feel like it was your home away from home. Come on back. We've got eight other rooms you can try.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kyle L wrote a review Jul 10
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing time here at the Old Powder House, and will definitely return. Comfortable bed, great water pressure and a/c. All things that are a must for me. The upstairs porch was beautiful and a great place to relax. Some of these reviews crack me up, obviously you can hear the sound of the street if you book a street-facing room. On their website they are very clear about where the rooms are located, and there is a room in the back that you could book if traffic noise bothers you. I know this just from seeing their website and then obviously being at the property. I found this to be the opposite of an issue, considering this location is fantastic and anywhere inside the historic district is an easy 5 minute walk. We didn't have to touch the car once we parked on arrival day. Check out the Lightner Museum if you visit. The employee who checked us in and owner we met the next morning were both very friendly, the breakfast was great and a perfect start to the day. I looked at Airbnbs, hotels, B&Bs and we chose the OPH, it was a great experience overall. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt G wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had such a delightful time staying at the Old Powder House Inn. Bob and Suzanne are wonderful hosts, and they felt like family by the time we left. Room (Memories) was spacious and charming, and the bed was comfortable. We were blown away by the breakfast each morning, and these meals alone would be enough to justify a stay here. It was a nice touch to come back to the house in the evening for a glass of wine, sit on the porch swing, and watch trolleys and people pass by. Also, great location - 2 min walk to St. George street. Highly, highly recommend this place!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bob Hailey, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn
Responded Feb 22, 2021
We have fun when you have fun, and your visit was fun for all of us. That's something we strive for each time guests come to our magical city. And.... you found one of The Old Powder House highlights. The upstairs porch swing. Come back soon. Thanks so much for your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lore M wrote a review Feb 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay at the Old Powder House Inn. Suzanne and Bob are wonderful hosts and gave us a wealth of information on the area. I have stayed at the Old Power House several times before but my friends have never been there before and they were very impressed. The gourmet breakfasts are excellent. Our rooms are very clean. I enjoyed the contactless check in, as we are concerned about Covid, whole experience felt safe.
So easy to walk the historic district. And free parking which is an added bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bob and Suzanne Hailey, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn
Responded Feb 27, 2021
You and your friends are welcome back anytime. We know parking is tough in St. Augustine, so we're thrilled we could provide that for you. Our goal is to make you feel taken care of ..... and well fed! See you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christiana S wrote a review Jan 2024
Sarasota, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you, Powder House Inn, for an enjoyable New Year's stay. We were greeted by Cadie's mom who was very personable and informative. Our room was clean and as expected. We enjoyed the homemade breakfasts and Heather the chef and housekeeper really took her time in providing a nice dining room, meal and atmosphere. We were walking distance to everything and were very comfortable. The building is historical and provides a sense of St. Augustine's history and culture.
The inn provides parking, which is a huge plus, there is a shared veranda on the second floor and a parlor with coffee, tea, and after dinner drinks. The personal touch and historical significance are what make bed and breakfasts stand out above the big chain hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cadie Camp, Innkeeper at The Old Powder House Inn
Responded May 6, 2024
Thank you Christi for your kind words about our Inn. I am grateful to your mention of our special touches, as I work hard to maintain that type of quality in an old home- and love when its appreciated!! Please come back to stay with us again:)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Winter Haven15 contributions6 helpful votes
Yes, I know. But this is where it ended up. I was trying to get this message to Bob..
Sydney D asked a question Nov 2016
Jacksonville, Florida
How much is a room.
Answer from mamanole
Satellite Beach, Florida66 contributions15 helpful votes
Their rooms are all different prices. We stayed in one of the larger rooms and I believe it was $235 per night.
ronaldj374 asked a question Apr 2016
Evergreen, Colorado23 contributions24 helpful votes
air conditioning?
St. Augustine, Florida1 contribution
Yes, each room has it's own so you can control the temperature to your liking
janet3073 asked a question Mar 2015
Atlanta, Georgia12 contributions5 helpful votes
Is there parking on site?
Answer from janet3073
Atlanta, Georgia12 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes, there is parking on site. We did not use our car the entire time. The Inn is close to everything so walking was a pleasure.
Saltwaterdiva wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere"
Read full review
mmcowby wrote a tip Dec 2023
Vero Beach, Florida236 contributions87 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good parking at the Inn"
Read full review
Arfleetwood wrote a tip Jul 2023
Jacksonville, Florida32 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t worry about driving anywhere. It is in a perfect location for walking around."
Read full review
Danielle N wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walking distance to EVERYTHING. Best location. "
Read full review
Gaynej wrote a tip Oct 2022
Apopka9 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice, quick weekend getaway!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Augustine area.
PRICE RANGE
C$268 - C$459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the old powder house hotel saint augustine
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSt. Augustine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Old Powder House Inn - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Powder House Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Powder House Inn?
Nearby attractions include Magic Hideaway (0.4 km), Medieval Torture Museum (0.2 km), and St. Augustine Historic Walking Tours (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old Powder House Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Old Powder House Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at The Old Powder House Inn?
Yes, free parking and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Powder House Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Reina Taqueria & Tequila, The Hyppo, and Collage Restaurant.
Is The Old Powder House Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of St. Augustine.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old Powder House Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Jail Museum (1.5 km), Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (0.4 km), and National Shrine of Our Lady of La Leche at Mission Nombre de Dios (1.0 km).
Does The Old Powder House Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All St. Augustine HotelsSt. Augustine Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. AugustineHotels near The Old Powder House Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars