We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Powder House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Old Powder House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Old Powder House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Our stay was great. They greet you and talk to you like friends. The room was small but it's not a problem because nobody stays in their room on vacation. The staff and the service was great. Breakfast was excellent. They really go out of their way to make you feel like you got more than you pay for. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

One of the great things about being an inn owner is making people feel special and taken care of. All of us here at the Old Powder House Inn are dedicated to making sure that happens. Please come back again. There are so many things to see in our fabulous ancient city.

Winter garden
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We spent the weekend with family visiting from out of state & we're pleased beyond our expectations. Bob & Suzanne made us feel so welcome & went above & beyond. Breakfast was fabulous & there was always wine, water, soda, baked cookies & snacks available. Parking was a big plus, as was the short walk to St George St. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cscooby
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for such a lovely review. We take much pride in the Flagler College students who help make our city great. Please invite your grandson for breakfast when you visit next. We'd love to meet him.

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Wow! The Old Powder House Inn was always the coolest and most welcoming Inn. But they have done a recent and oh soo fabulouse refresh restoration. This grand, historic gem is even grander, yet so chill and friendly. The rooms are even more lovely and inviting. The verandas are beautiful, comfy and relaxing. Best people watching spot in St. Augustine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelgalfbg
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like you caught the awesome vibe Old Powder House exudes . We're glad you got a peek of your new kitchen too. Come back soon. We'd love to host you again.

Crestview, Florida, United States
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We have been to St Augustine many time, but this time we decided to stay at The Old Powder a house Inn. It was not a mistake! Bob and Suzanne were wonderful hosts. The Inn was outstanding! Our room, Serenity, was wonderful. Second floor opening to a beautiful veranda for great evenings. The breakfasts were awesome as were the amenities....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you are happy. We hope you'll be coming back soon so we can host your visit again. We like to spoil our guests.

Reviewed 22 August 2016

This was my fourth stay at The Old Powder House Inn and it was wonderful as expected. Suzanne and Bob were very welcoming and knowledgable of the sites and accommodated us for our travel needs. The B&B location is perfect walk to all the sites in old town. Loved the veranda- had morning coffee and evening wine, both are complementary,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lore M
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

Your fifth visit will be even better since you know your way around town. We hope to see you soon. There will always be a parking space.

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 18 August 2016

From the start, Bob and Suzanne, owners of the Old Powder House Inn made our family feel right at home. Our room was charming and we thoroughly enjoyed our morning coffee and gourmet breakfasts. We loved the location of the Inn in Old Town; in close proximity to so many amazing things to see and do in St. Augustine. At...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calypso1708
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit at The Old Powder House Inn. One of the most popular things to do is sit on the veranda .... and you can see why! Come back soon and explore more of the things we have to do in our wonderful city.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 18 August 2016

My second visit to The Old Powder House Inn was even better than my first…if that’s possible. FIVE-stars both times! The breakfasts were amazing. Suzanne and Bob Hailey clearly love creating gourmet dishes that are as delicious as they are beautiful to the eye. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. The FREE ON-SITE PARKING was a huge convenience and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarlaAnna
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

All of us at the Old Powder House Inn, love when our guests return. There are so many wonderful things in our city, you'll never run out of things to do, or restaurants to visit. Come back soon, park your car and stay even longer next time.

Reviewed 18 August 2016

My family visited from Washington State in July and found the Inn to be charming, well taken care of, and (most importantly to me) adequately air conditioned. Our room looked onto the street and opened onto a lovely balcony. The food was great and the owners are delightful hosts who were very helpful in recommending places to visit. Because of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

We are thrilled you came from one coast to the other to visit us at the Old Powder House Inn. Our summers are hot, so it's a priority to make sure you stay cool. See you next summer.

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 17 August 2016

I had the pleasure of staying at The Old Powderhouse Inn recently and was so impressed with the charm and and comfort. It was very clean, the food was excellent, and the hosts went out of their way to help my husband and me feel at home. They directed us to several of the fun and unique tourist spots and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LWBeck
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed St. Augustine and The Old Powder House Inn. There are so many things to see and do in our beautiful and romantic city, it's hard to decide where to go each day. Thanks for coming and be sure you come back to see the rest of all the excitement our magical city has to...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Our bedroom (Enchantment): Awful! Tiny. Poorly maintained - wall paper peeling, furniture worn, humidity seeping into window joints. When we arrived in our room the ceiling fan, A/C and dehumidifier were all running - necessary but very noisy. Our bathroom: not large enough to comfortably accommodate an adult. Breakfast: inflexible hour. Service at 9AM sharp only. Fixed menu. Management is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank landr20162016
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like your special visit to our special city was not so special. We are so sorry you had that experience, and can't imagine why something like that would happen at the Old Powder House Inn. So please come back. We always want our guest to have a magical experience in our magical city.

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.3 km away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#5 of 79 in Saint Augustine
831 reviews
0.8 km away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.3 km away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#13 of 79 in Saint Augustine
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.1 km away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in Saint Augustine
815 reviews
0.6 km away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#10 of 31 in Saint Augustine
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1899, this inn has nine guestrooms all with private baths. Located in the center of the historic district, it's just a short walk to museums, historic attractions, restaurants, art galleries and gift shops. A three course gourmet breakfast is served every morning at 9. The sprawling verandas are the place to relax after an exciting day in our fabulous city. Complimentary beverages, fresh baked cookies and snacks are always available. Private on-site parking. We'd love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Powder House Inn

Address: 38 Cordova St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-3629
Region: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Price Range: $217 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Powder House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Powder House Hotel Saint Augustine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Powder House Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Evergreen, Colorado
7 months ago
Atlanta, Georgia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Powder House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles jovibat, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms seemed quiet and nicely decorated.”
 of 5 bubbles brendaj491, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The front room looking over the street (Serenity) is awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms are charming.”
 of 5 bubbles LWBeck, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For 3-4 people in family (with older kids) choose Garden Room... LOVE the upstairs Veranda & room right off it!”
  • View of Methodist Church from Front Lower Porch
 of 5 bubbles MarsyG, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5