We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel

Save
Share
215 Anastasia Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-4504
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
vocoHotels
US$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-07-04
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#18 of 90 in St. Augustine
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The new voco St. Augustine - Historic District is ideally located, within walking distance of downtown St. Augustine and a quick drive to local beaches. We are convenient to top attractions, including Castillo de San Marcos, the St. Augustine Amphitheater, St. Augustine Alligator Farm Zoological Park, and Flagler College. Enjoy shopping at downtown boutiques, visiting local art galleries and museums, and finish the day with an ice cold beverage at our rooftop pool. Our newly-renovated rooms feature plush bedding with upscale amenities. Enjoy all-day dining at BLVD bistro, our onsite restaurant & bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Concierge
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
210Reviews5Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 156
  • 28
  • 10
  • 7
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Devin Pugh wrote a review Jun. 5
Jacksonville, Florida3 contributions1 helpful vote
Very overpriced and the two stars are only for the renovations and cleanliness! Please note the following issues encountered: 1. Elevators stoped working for our entire stay 2. Used water bottle underneath the bed 3. Room key issues, ie. stoped working all of sudden 4. Restaurant onsite is not serving dinner ….I was very displeased and will never stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. We’re sorry to hear you encountered issues with cleanliness, the elevators, your room keys, and the restaurant. Thank you for pointing out what we can do better in the future. Karissa N. Community Manager
Read more
jktrock wrote a review Jun. 4
Sagamihara, Japan696 contributions96 helpful votes
Pros: excellent location. About 10 min walk to the historical downtown across Bridge of Lions (and that’s with 2 kids tagging along). A bit longer if you have to wait for the bridge opening. Free breakfast (has hot items, potatoes/biscuit/gravy one day and sausage/omelette another), a full bowl of strawberries and blueberries, my kids loved that. Good coffee in the room (Nespresso machine), but it was difficult for me to figure out how to use it, Front Desk sent a housekeeper to help. Nice bathroom. Although the tub doesn’t have a curtain, it has a glass door that only goes half way along the tub 🤷🏼‍♀️ . Free parking. SUPER comfortable bed. The most comfortable bed from all IHG hotels I ever stayed at in many counties. Nice (small) pool. Outstanding variety of lounge chairs We could hear traffic during the day a little bit through the window but honestly I don’t recall hearing anything when I would go to sleep at night. Cons: just one. VERY small room. We stayed in standard 2 double beds. 2 adults and 2 kids (9 and 11 years old). The room was so small 2 people can’t stand at the same time in the room. So small we couldn’t use the luggage stand to open our suitcase. There was literally no space for it. We had to use the small space in front of the door to do that. I don’t know if all the rooms are like this. No big deal if you are out of the room most of the day. But if you are traveling with little kids, that’s something to consider.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Parking is free, under the hotel. There are a few spots next to the hotel, but under the sun.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi, thank you for leaving your wonderful review, it sounds like our hotel location was ideal for your trip. We’re glad that you enjoyed the range of breakfast menu items available. We’re also delighted to hear that you found the bathroom was nice, that the bed was super comfortable, and that you were able to get some help from housekeeping for the Nespresso machine. It’s great to hear that you had a good experience in the communal areas. We appreciate your feedback about the size of your room. We’re sorry to hear that you found it to be a little smaller than you expected. We’ll review your comments with our management team. Thank you so much for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon. Sabrina P. Community Manager
Read more
alison w wrote a review May 2022
Middletown, New York1 contribution
Our stay at the Voco was more than amazing....Scott was absolutely the best....He was attentive and handled all of our needs with no problem....The beds were more than comfortable for a good nights rest... .Our stay was awesome...Would definitely recommend to others to stay at this new Boutique Hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
We are so delighted to receive your five-star review. We're happy to hear you had a comfortable rest and that Scott took care of your needs during your stay. We hope to see you again soon! Karissa N. Community Manager
Read more
kemms wrote a review May 2022
Chattanooga, Tennessee28 contributions51 helpful votes
This hotel was one of the mid-range hotel options for St. Augustine, and we had a great stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but the thing that made this place stand out was the amazing staff! Friendly, helpful, and accommodating, they were what made this trip a memorable experience. Would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: The taco shop right across the street is a fabulous stop.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel
Responded May 5, 2022
Thank you for leaving us a five-star review. We're glad to hear you had a great stay and found our rooms clean and comfortable. We're happy that our amazing staff made your stay memorable. We look forward to your next visit. Karissa N. Community Manager
Read more
Bette Ann T wrote a review Apr. 2022
1 contribution
We loved this hotel. The rooms were very clean and the beds were super comfortable. Scott the manger was awesome and very hard working. Eric at the front desk was friendly, professional and his recommendations were spot on. Lisa May the bartender extraordinaire was very friendly and helpful as well. These three made this feel like our home away from home. We were welcomed when we returned from our day trips. The location was great, we walked to many restaurants and it was a just a short drive into Old City. Wish we could have stayed longer!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel
Responded Apr. 28, 2022
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your comments about the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms, beds, and hotel location. Our staff's service is something we take great pride in. We'll definitely let Scott, Eric, and Lisa know how much their excellent service helped to make your stay with us even better. We hope to see you again soon. Silvia R. voco St. Augustine Community Manager
Read more
ciaranw92 wrote a review Apr. 2022
Athens, Greece4 contributions2 helpful votes
This is not good value for the money! They advertise a shuttle service but you actually have to arrange it through a 3rd party and there’s no guarantee (shuttle guy was great, don’t get me wrong but it’s a big part of why I booked here and it wasn’t guaranteed). The TV didn’t work and the person on staff didn’t know how to reset it. Not his fault- it should have been done before we checked in. We were not offered a discount.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: There are other nice looking hotels. I’d probably save $100 and stay there.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel
Responded Apr. 27, 2022
Thanks for your honest feedback. We're sorry that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations due to the issues with the shuttle service and the TV in your room. We'll review your comments with the hotel management for our service enhancement. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Silvia R. Community Manager
Read more
Fenway617 wrote a review Apr. 2022
Amherst, Massachusetts6 contributions
This hotel is fantastic. Clean, and quiet and it is a good location. The rooms all look brand new, the staff was nice and the breakfast Buffett was amazing. Plenty of free parking and the elevators were quick. We didn't make it to the bar inside but walked by it several times and it was charming. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel
Responded Apr. 19, 2022
Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear all about your feedback. We appreciate your comments about the location of our hotel, the cleanliness of our rooms and facilities, and our staff. It's something we take great pride in. We're also happy that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, for sure it's the best way to start the day. We hope to see you again next time you're in town. Silvia R. Community Manager
Read more
Sha K wrote a review Mar. 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
a. I don’t appreciate blaring music from pool area waking me in the dead of night. I called front desk and the attendant said he knew music was blaring , and that he would tell his GM, as if they were just waiting for a complaint before turning it off. B. Hotel is not in the historic area, it’s on a highway, a mile away from historic area. C.Pool is teensy. They should remove one of the seating areas and make way for a hot tub. D. While the rooms are clean—a serious consideration in these times—-like all hotels, they need more hooks for towels and makeup/dopp kits. E. I wish proof of vaccination would have been required, but this is Florida. Sigh.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: No views really. It’s a highway hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Agency / Consultant at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel
Responded Mar. 27, 2022
We appreciate your honest feedback. We're sorry about the loud music in the pool area and that our hotel location and rooms weren't exactly what you were looking for. We strive to provide the best hotel experience and exceptional service, so we have shared your sentiments with the management team to discuss this further.​ We hope you’ll give us another opportunity next time you’re in town. Silvia R. Community Manager
Read more
Adam P wrote a review Mar. 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I don’t usually write reviews unless there are specific tangible items to share – either positive or negative. In this instance, there are some very specific concerns to pass along. Note that I provided this same feedback to the hotel via a survey they sent me and asked to be contacted. That was over a week ago, and I have not heard from anyone, which has led me to share my concerns here. First, the safety/security issues. When we checked into the hotel on a Wednesday evening a couple weeks ago, we were given room 233; however, it turns out that room was occupied. We were provided with a working key card, and the only reason we were not able to walk in on the current occupant was because he had engaged the deadbolt. Imagine our surprise to hear someone shout “You have the wrong room” when we tried to enter. After profuse apologies from the front desk, we were given working card keys to room 227. You guessed it – also already occupied. Only this time, there was no one physically in the room when we entered; however, the occupants belongings were spread all around the room. We immediately left and closed the door behind us. While at the front desk for a third time, the attendant mentioned that she would now have to get in touch with the occupants of both rooms because their card keys would have been deactivated when she activated the ones she gave to us, meaning that they would be locked out of their own rooms. As she was checking us into our third room (this time room 223), another hotel guest walked up to indicate that her card key for room 225 had been deactivated. One can’t help but wonder why given our experience. The attendant walked with us to the new room to confirm that it was indeed unoccupied. It is both appalling and frightening that this could happen not only once but twice. What if the deadbolt had not been engaged the first time? We could have walked in on the occupant doing anything from sleeping to showering to who knows what. At a minimum, it could have been embarrassing, but it could have been much worse. What if we had nefarious intent? What if the occupant had a firearm? In the second instance, it would have been all-too-easy to rummage around and take any of the occupant’s belongings. We didn’t, but we could have. What about the other guest who found her key deactivated? Had someone been in her room? I mentioned the situation to the hotel general manager (Scott) the next day. I wasn’t looking for any concessions or discounts, but he apologized and said they he would add something to our bill as a gesture. I reiterated that our primary concern was the safety and security of the guests (including ourselves for the remainder of our stay) not a discount on my room. This brings me to the financial risk. On returning home 5 days later, my credit card statement showed that the hotel had charged us twice. When I called the hotel, I spoke to Scott – the same general manager to whom I had spoken while there. He pulled up our record and saw that we had been charged for our actual room (223) as well as for room 228. Note that 228 was not one of the already-occupied rooms they tried to give us. So, it turns out that we were assigned to 4 different rooms and charged for 2. Scott said he would put through a refund to my credit card and that it would take 5 to 7 days to process. As I write this, we are now on day 8, and no refund has appeared. I called the hotel this morning to ask for Scott and was told he was in a meeting. On a follow up, I was told Scott didn’t come into work until later this afternoon. Which is correct – in a meeting or not yet in to work? Oh, and that discount as a gesture for the room mix-up wasn’t on my legitimate charge. Fine, because I wasn’t seeking it, but if he promised it, he should have followed through. But if he didn’t follow through on refunding an admittedly erroneous charge, it’s not a surprise that he didn’t follow through on a promised discount. Now for the health concerns, because you know…global pandemics and so forth. The room appeared to be fine at first. That was until one noticed that the grout between the tiles on the bathroom floor was not black throughout. It was white around the edges, transitioning from gray to black towards the middle where normal foot-traffic would be. I know that ombre coloring is pretty popular these days, but I am pretty sure they didn’t ombre the grout on the bathroom floor. I took a wet wash cloth and wiped it along the grout line in the darker area, and voila…there was a blotch of grayish black on the cloth. Yuck! White grout does not turn black with filth like that right away. I can go a two weeks between cleaning my shower at home without the white grout discoloring at all. That means the hotel had to have gone weeks without properly cleaning that bathroom floor. And that’s just the part that I could see. It didn’t give me much confidence of the hotel’s cleaning efforts in areas that are less obvious. But, given the debacle with our check-in in the first place, asking for a new room on the chance that it would be cleaner didn’t seem like the best move. Now for a few less extreme, but still concerning, issues from the standpoint of getting what you pay for. The hotel website boasts a full-service lobby bar. While true that the bar does appear fully stocked, they have no bartender. We walked in one afternoon around 4:00 to get a drink. The front desk attendant came over and told us as much. She said she would make us a drink but have never tended bar before in her life, so she asked us to order something easy. She didn’t know any common drinks by name, so we kept is simple with a gin and tonic. Hard to mess that up since the ingredients are right there in the name. They provided complimentary coffee each morning, which was lovely. But they ran out of cream on Thursday morning and hadn’t obtained anymore by the time we left on Sunday. Last I heard, there were no supply chain issues for coffee creamer. The website also talks about their “rooftop” pool deck. For starters, the building is only 1 story in some parts and 3 stories on others. The pool deck sits atop the 1-story part, so hardly a “rooftop” deck as one would generally understand that description. Beyond that, they never bothered to bring in or cover any of the furniture cushions night. That means they were all soaking wet from the dew and completely unusable until at least lunchtime each day. If you are thinking morning coffee by the pool would be nice, you will be out of luck. The website talks about the available shuttle. Turns out, it’s just one guy and a golf cart that only runs from 4:00 to 7:00. Considering how slow golf carts go, that works out to be pretty much just one trip into either the main part of St. Augustine or the beach per hour. Miss those, and you are out of luck, so plan accordingly. IHG promotes the Voco line of hotels and higher-end boutiques with locations in select US cities as well as Paris, Dubai, and Milan to name a few. That certainly paints a picture much prettier than what we experienced. The room rates also reflect a boutique and not a poorly renovated La Quinta motel, which the permit hanging in the elevator indicated this hotel happened to be. If I was paying La Quinta prices, perhaps these issues wouldn’t have been quite as noteworthy…well, the security, cleanliness and double-charging would be. But paying boutique hotel rates, I feel pretty ripped off based on my experience with this hotel. At least the employees were friendly, so there’s that I guess. Proceed with extreme caution if you decide to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Russom, General Manager at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel
Responded Mar. 15, 2022
P4842LNadamp, I am so sorry for all that you encountered with a new employee of ours. There is no excuses for what happened to you on your vacation. I have fully refunded your stay as promised, however, I try and keep everything honest; I told you it typially takes five to seven days, it can take up to 15 days. The building is actually three stories. I wish to apologize on behalf of the entire staff here at the voco St. Augustine hotel; we strive for excellance. The bar opens at five o'clock, she was just trying to help and be kind to you before the barteneder arrived. It is our duty to provide complete satisfaction to our guests, we fell short with you and we are extremely sorry. We do not expect guest to EVER feel the way you do, and typically do not. I have refunded your stay and we are sorry.
Read more
Cruiser26722840810 wrote a review Mar. 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I have nothing bad to say about this place but just want to temper the enthusiastic reviews for people who don’t know the area. It is a glorified motel. It is on a major road and convenient and there are many low and moderate budget shopping and dining options nearby. You will probably drive to them all, unless you like walking on 4-lane roads. You will also drive to any tourism destinations. The people are nice and the rooms are clean and fresh and the beds are good. The food I had was cooked to order and perfectly fine. There is free parking. There is a tiny pool, I would guess about 150 sq ft. The lobby, the bar, the dining area are all also on the small side individually, but flow into each other so they look a little more spacious. Still, I think the first floor of my home is bigger than their common area. One annoying factor for me was that they left the doors to the kitchen open and it was very unattractive. I can’t figure out why people have been motivated to write such gushing reviews. It is a fine, but not a 5-star, lodging. There is nothing distinctive about it. I would describe it as a small-scale DoubleTree.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Russom, General Manager at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel
Responded Mar. 3, 2022
Cruiser26722840810, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the St. Augustine - Historic Area Hotel. I hope you had a great time in our city. I hope you will visit us again in the future. The employees strive to make every guest feel extordinary and special. I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Thanks again.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$172 - US$293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham St Augustine Historic Area
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSt. Augustine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tre Sebastian Fine Gifts, Fabulous Furnishings (0.1 km), The British Pub (0.04 km), and Hornski's (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Llama Restaurant, Gas Full Service Restaurant, and O'Steen's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Voco St. Augustine - Historic Area, An IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.