Water Front Marion Motor Lodge

Water Front Marion Motor Lodge

120 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4440
View of the bay
Traveller (175)
Room & Suite (68)
Beach
Pool & Beach (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#8 of 16 motels in St. Augustine
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Welcome to the Marion Motor Lodge, located on beautiful Matanzas Bay, directly across from the City Marina. Charming....Romantic... and best of all you don't need a car to see the sights. Just walk out your door and you will find most of the major attractions within walking distance. We have a variety of rooms available-- one queen bed, two queen beds, 2 queen beds, regular, Deluxe, and Super Deluxe king size. All are available with a cable TV, microwave, fridge, and k-cup coffee.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Sun terrace
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Sofa
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

120 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4440
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Jacksonville Intl Airport
76.3 km
See all flights
St. Augustine Airport
289Reviews3Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 73
  • 19
  • 17
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Amani K wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I had very last min decided to visit St. Augustine as we booked a dolphin cruise after our trip from the Georgia Golden Isles. We didn't plan on staying in St. Augustine at all till we ate Harry's for lunch in downtown St. Augustine and loved the people and town.

We decided to look for a place to stay and found the Marion Motor Lodge. Since we were in town we walked into the office and met Addy who was so friendly and helpful in helping us select the best room and price! She even showed us the room we would stay in before booking. She was willing to price match what we had found online and offered us the best room that had a view of the harbor. It was perfect! We loved it so much we even decided to stay an additional day and again Addy helped us in booking an extra night and got us a great price for the night.

The rooms are very clean and modern, the bathroom even has bluetooth so that you can listen to music while you get ready. The view in our room was perfect and my boyfriend and I spent a couple evenings people watching and enjoying some of the local craft beer. We were able to walk almost everywhere in St. Augustine. The only place we had to drive to was the beach, but was just a 10 min drive.

We loved staying here and loved that we stubbled into St. Augustine! Thank you Addy for helping make our stay perfect! We hope to be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The room we the best view is 241! It's on the second floor on the left side of the building...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mack Patel, Owner at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge
Responded May 22, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! Addy is one of a kind. We are so pleased you got to meet her! If you are ever in Saint Augustine again, please come visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grete S R wrote a review Jan 2020
Northern Norway, Norway1,089 contribution262 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a one night stay here on our way to Savannah.
We found that Marion Motor Lodge had a great location in St. Augustine - in the historic part of the city and by the bay. It was good value for our money, the room price was very good compared to accommodations in the neighborhood.
Arriving with car it was a good bonus for us that they offer free parking right outside your room. Our room, #120, was spacious with comfortable bed.

Walking distance to sights, restaurants and bars.
Recommended if what you are looking for a room and a bed for a stop-over.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge
Responded Jan 3, 2020
Thank you for your choice of Marion Motor Lodge! We are excited that you got great value from your visit. As you highlighted, we make it easy for our guests on the go with features like our convenient parking and awesome location. Thank you so much for recommending us as a great option! We would love to have you back for another comfortable stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
janmygirl wrote a review Oct 2020
Knoxville, Tennessee113 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After much online research, I chose this hotel. I am glad I did, and I would stay again. The room faced the water, and the view was super. The Inn was within walking distance of all Old Town sights and activities. There was a restaurant right next door. The room and grounds were very clean. The 2nd floor patio was great, too. At this time of year, the guests all seemed to be older and very quiet. We saw several pets, but there were no issues with them.

The bad news is that parking was very tight. Also,I contacted the hotel a few times before I stayed,to ask them a question about splitting payment among guests, which we do regularly on vacation. Each time I was told that the (female) clerk did not know how to do that, but that she would have the manager to call me. He never called, and I just checked my call log before writing this review to make sure I didn't miss a call.
When we arrived, I explained to the ( female) clerk that we wanted to split the room bill in half. She smiled,but charged the entire bill to one credit card, and did not seem to know how to change it. We were tired from traveling 8 hours,and did not press the point further. I have never had a problem with having a hotel to do this.I also went to the office to ask for change for the soft drink machine. The same clerk said the machine took bills,so I would not need change, and then left the office, and she was the only one working. Of course, then neither soft drink machine would work.
These are not major issues,but nuisances.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marion MotorLodge, Owner at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge
Responded Mar 26, 2021
Yes, it's true that parking anywhere in St Augustine is tight and minimal at best. So we suggest sharing a ride with fellow travelers, taking Uber/Lyft, or take a shuttle from the air ports. Yours, Marion Motor Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheila wrote a review Oct 2021
Plymouth, Massachusetts, United States5 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The motel looks cute and homey from the outside, but when you enter your room, that all changes..the color scheme is black and gray, making it dark and gloomy and easier to hide the dirt..The workmanship is shoddy and is noticeable in all the rooms, and everywhere on the property. The bathroom tiles are loose, towels are pathetic, soap and shampoo in dispensers are cheap, and non lathering. The floors are dirty and gritty, air conditioner is noisy, mirrors are dirty.
The housekeepers work very hard, but seems there is not enough of them to do the thorough cleaning each room needs.
The pool is nice when completely clean, but the furniture and cushions around the pool and on the upstairs deck are disgusting and extremely faded.
The owner of this motel is very surly and condescending. There is no pride in ownership.
There is no food, coffee or water in the office, just two KCups in your room with a dirty Keurig machine.
For just a few dollars more, the Bayfront next door is paradise, and you can laugh at the Marion from their deck!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay on the second floor, disinfect the entire room and dont sleep under the covers, avoid the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marion MotorLodge, Owner at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge
Responded Oct 21, 2021
The guest arrived expecting a particular room but we could not find her reservation. We care about our guests so we looked and looked and looked. But we found nothing under what the guest told us to look for. ‘No problem, we will get you in a room’, But she was getting mad because she wanted a particular room. But that room was already booked for several nights by someone else. And as time passed she got more and more upset, and then irate, and then down-right nasty. Total uncalled for. She even told us to move the already checked-in guests out of that room. Yes, she wanted us to move that guest out! We did not. However, we did all we could to make her happy. We gave her a night free in another room. And offered a second free night too but she refused in a huff. After 2 employees and the owner tried to make her happy she was still unkind. And then, the next day, we found that 1) her husband had made the reservation under his name 2) for a day later arrival 3) and not in the room she said.... We got no apology, no ‘I’m sorry’. All we got was this unkind review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle C wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booking and checking in was easy but there is absolutely NO WAY this room was worth $90/night. From killing spiders until 4am, to the bed smelling like someone ran a marathon then doused their sweat all over the bed- I will not be returning. Also, there is mold in the shower and apparently meth-heads like to hang out in the parking lot at all hours. Management needs to fix these issues. Especially with a pandemic happening. Bed sheets, pillows and comforters SHOULD BE washed and cleaned.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marion MotorLodge, Owner at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge
Responded Mar 26, 2021
Yes, we agree and have taken steps. Thank you for brining this to our attention. Please try us again the next time your in town. Yours, Marion Motor Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
zeama1970 wrote a review Jun 2020
Okeechobee, Florida139 contributions59 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I usually stick with the name brand hotels, but looked at the reviews and decided for the price I would try it out. This is an older hotel, but it has been renovated. The rooms are small, but it was stylish and updated. The tile (wood look) floors are a great choice, because it’s easy to keep clean. The shower had some mildew around the edges at the bottom, so it does need a good scrubbing.

The ladies in the front office were nice and friendly. The location was the best part. It’s within walking distance to the downtown area. Overall I was pleased with the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marion MotorLodge, Owner at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge
Responded Mar 26, 2021
Thank you, for the feedback. We use these comments to improve where we can, take note where we should and try to may your stay better in any way. See you next time, Marion Motor Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angie C wrote a review Aug 2020
Tampa, Florida50 contributions49 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Tried to book a room at this establishment for 6 nights. After 3 failed attempts to book online for $109/night for 6 night total of $654 plus fees, I called the hotel to book directly. Spoke with employee who stated she was with a customer & requested to call me back in 5 minutes. She did call back & I referred to my dates & she quoted a higher price. I explained the price available online & she then stated she was “new” & would need to call me back in an hour. No call back of course. After several hours, I called again as now this room is no longer available online and was told that 1 of my nights requested is booked. Go figure! Sorry St Augustine...hope you all survive Covid except this screw you hotel...we’re now planning our 6 night stay in Savannah GA. I will not support this kind of business. These people now cost the whole city. We’re staying elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marion MotorLodge, Owner at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge
Responded Mar 26, 2021
We are so sorry to hear about your experience when you called the Marion Motor Lodge. We have had some turn over lately, but that's no excuse. With new staff trained and fixing the rate distribution software, we should be more consistent from now. Please give us another chance when you visit St Augustine. Yours, Marion Motor Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela Despard wrote a review Sep 2020
Tampa, Florida17 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay anywhere but here. Cheap strong Chemical smell is absolutely Unbearable we had to leave door open 2 hours just to be able breath. Bathroom and Shower are super tiny. Management is horrible. Kicked BOTH my bf and myself out at 8pm for having a verbal (non-physical) dispute with eachother. Completely ruined my birthday weekend. Didn’t get to spend a single night there yet They Refused to refund us ANY money... and all this after I had just lost both of my grandparents too... I desperately needed a retreat. Instead we were forced to drive home 4hrs in the dark. Had to blare music whole way home just to not fall asleep at the wheel.

When there is a verbal dispute between a couple that arrived together it is both completely unethical to kick BOTH parties out, (especially when you’re aware they arrived in 1 car) And keep ALL of the money after kicking BOTH parties out (for a 3 day weekend when they didn’t stay a single night) as I’m sure the room was resold for the rest of that busy weekend. Bad bad unethical business.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marion MotorLodge, Owner at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge
Responded Mar 27, 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone. It's sad your birthday weekend was cut-short. We hope everyone planning a birthday party here heed your warning, and change their plans or at least avoid verbal disputes when they visit the Marion Motor Lodge. Yours, Marion Motor Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jdpez wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has good and bad. They're currently going through renovations and have not completed them yet.
The good
Room is small and cozy TV has nice placements has a microwave refrigerator coffee ice bucket soap lotion.
The bad
Bathroom was disgusting. Hair left over on the toilet and what looks like dead skin on the floor along with a bunch of other hair.
Do not plan on parking here parking is very limited as there is only one space per room but apparently tonight there are multiple cars per room so there's no parking.
It is very busy here and parking is non-existent anywhere else.
If I pay over $300 for a room I expect to have a parking space to put my car.
Also there were discounts that were on the website that I did not get.
This is just my experience and things may be different when you visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marion MotorLodge, Owner at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge
Responded May 4, 2022
Oh no, Pezjd! This is terrible! We are sorry to hear all this. We talked to housekeeping about the condition of your bathroom and they said you had the Do Not Disturb sign out the the 2 days you were here. We whish we could have fixed that. As for parking: Sorry but yes, occasionally people 'steal' parking spaces in St Augustine, but did you ask the desk-clerk? We have other parking in the area to offer guests unless, that is, if the vehicle is oversized. Discounts: Not sure what discounts your talking about but we do offer a Promo Code ($15/night off) if you book directly. Anyone can use it; the code will show when you are entering your information. We do not offer a Promo for call-in.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FinGin79 wrote a review Jan 2020
Charleston, South Carolina156 contributions82 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was thoroughly impressed with this hotel. As noted by other reviewers, the location is great. Downtown attractions and restaurants are steps away. I was able to park on site so my car never moved during my stay. The property is old school, hence the name “motor lodge.” It is two floors with sitting areas outside the rooms. My room looked directly into the water and marina. The room was updated inside. The floor was a gray faux wood and the bathroom was very nice. It had a walk-in shower with a big head and new sink and counters. There was a single cup coffee maker with a good supply of cups, a microwave, and a nice sized fridge. The staff was friendly and even let me keep the room extra time when I had a car problem as I checked out. I would absolutely stay at Marion Motor Lodge on my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We're delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit and appreciated our convenient location close to all the local attractions and amenities. We're also pleased that you found our accommodations so comfortable and fully-equipped. On behalf of us all at Marion Motor Lodge, thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Doug D
Cairo, Georgia
Hello! We have so many great places we can recommend within walking distance from us and we can provide more information at front desk, but for now we can let you know about 2 of them that are ours and our guests favorites! One of them is ATHENA GREEK Restaurant (serving traditional dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner) Excellent food and they open at 7 am every day! Also THE BUNNERY hours 8am-4pm. We hope this was helpful and we will love to see you ! Have a wonderful day!
Answer from Gloria Brown
Greenville, South Carolina29 contributions8 helpful votes
Renovations are on going. Just call and we will gladly take your reservation.
Answer from Gloria Brown
Greenville, South Carolina29 contributions8 helpful votes
Due to the hurricane, Matthews, we have a setback on renovations, however, it is on going. Watch our website for updates.
Tony K wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Streets are narrow and hotel parking is TIGHT and limited. Bring your smallest car."
Read full review
bbmom8 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Florida8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Assigned parking in their lot. Smaller vehicles are better fit."
Read full review
Claire7283 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Asheville, North Carolina61 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is limited so make sure you get to check in before the lot gets full."
Read full review
JPG wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else. Honestly"
Read full review
Svl87blade wrote a tip Jul 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom63 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking does get busy"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Augustine area.
PRICE RANGE
C$205 - C$404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marion motor hotel saint augustine
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSt. Augustine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Water Front Marion Motor Lodge - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Water Front Marion Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Water Front Marion Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Magic Hideaway (0.3 km), Ximenez-Fatio House Museum (0.1 km), and Cathedral Basilica of St. Augustine (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and express check-in and check-out.
Which room amenities are available at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Water Front Marion Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Reina Taqueria & Tequila, The Hyppo, and The Kookaburra.
Is Water Front Marion Motor Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of St. Augustine.
Are pets allowed at Water Front Marion Motor Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Water Front Marion Motor Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Jail Museum (2.0 km), Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (0.8 km), and National Shrine of Our Lady of La Leche at Mission Nombre de Dios (1.6 km).
Does Water Front Marion Motor Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Water Front Marion Motor Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All St. Augustine HotelsSt. Augustine Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. AugustineHotels near Water Front Marion Motor Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars