Villa 1565 Hotel

Villa 1565 Hotel

The Old Senator
Traveller (179)
Room & Suite (69)
Pool & Beach (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#48 of 89 hotels in St. Augustine
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our downtown location keeps guests close to favorite sites like the Spanish Fort Castillo de San Marcos, and the Mission Nombre de Dios. Guests can easily tour St. Augustine by catching the nearby Old Town Trolley or Ripley’s Red Train. Enjoy wine tasting at San Sebastian Winery, or visit the nearby St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum. St. Augustine is the oldest city in the nation. Visitors appreciate impressive displays of Spanish architecture and tranquil beaches. The famed Ponce de Leon, fountain of youth is a short stroll from our ideal downtown St. Augustine location. Whether you rest beneath the shade of “The Old Senator”, the 650-year-old live oak tree on our grounds, or relax under the Florida sun beside our pool. We invite you to be our guest at the Villa 1565 in St. Augustine
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Patio
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Picnic area
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

137 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
353Reviews8Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 134
  • 105
  • 59
  • 15
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chris F. wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was the greatest surprise of our mini vacay! Spotlessly clean (and we are both very critical!) the room looks as if it were just recently remodeled. The room was free of any smell, any dirt and completely free of any insect of any kind. (Thank God!) The price was very reasonable and included a bagged breakfast which was more food than we could eat (we took some on our day of touring). The staff was more than accommodating and went out of their way to be sure we had everything we needed and then some. Also, they had FREE parking unlike most of the other local motels. And the tour shuttles literally came through the parking lot to pick us up. No need to hike to a trolley or train stop!
We plan to stay here on all of our future visits!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Villa 1565 Hotel
Responded Sep 25, 2020
Our team aims to provide a stay that is the epitome of comfort and quality, so we're happy to hear that your time with us was reflective of this goal. It's a delight knowing that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that our comfortable accommodations and friendly service helped make everything perfect. We look forward to seeing you again in the future for another fantastic visit to Villa 1565 Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Akaliana wrote a review Jun 2021
20 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay at Villa 1565 totally exceeded my expectations.
We usually stay by the beach and drive to downtown to spend the day or dine out, but this time we were looking to stay in downtown.
I based my selection not only on price but also on the location and pictures (although I am aware pictures can be deceiving).
Upon arrival we realized this little hotel is where the famous oldest tree is located...so we immediately recognized the area.
The front desk agent was extremely pleasant and even checked on us after we got to our room to make sure we were happy with everything.
From outside it looked like an old motel and I was afraid to open the room door... but what a surprise it was to see a beautiful modern-style and clean looking room with plenty of amenities (microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker and complimentary coffee, plus multiple toiletries including make up removing wipes).
It had hot breakfast included dialy, but it was more like a continental grab and go, with 2 hot items (premade mini omelets and potatoes), which is not a bad starter to the day.
I truly enjoyed everything about this place... my only comment is that the AC system in the rooms needs to be updated. Very loud and it makes it hard to enjoy the comfortable bed for a good night's sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Villa 1565 Hotel
Responded Jun 7, 2021
Dear Akaliana, How wonderful to hear that your stay at Villa 1565 Hotel was a pleasant surprise! We're thrilled our location was ideal for your plans that our amazing staff impressed you. It's also great to know that our clean, well-appointed rooms had everything you needed. Please accept our apologies for any issues with the AC. We'll look into this further, and we welcome you to stay with us again during your next trip.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelbound44 wrote a review Jul 2020
Rotonda West, Florida617 contributions319 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very happy we chose this over some of the more popular B&B's. Location is about a mile from the Historic City Center and the walk was not bad but the weather was very, very HOT! Room was a good size. Updated and very modern even USB ports! Staff was very helpful especially Kyle. With covid, the breakfast was a grab and go which included, muffins, banana, granola bars and a hot breakfast sandwich. The "Old Senator" resides on the property so the Old city trolley makes frequent visits. Very good place to stay and the price is right!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Villa 1565 Hotel
Responded Jul 20, 2020
It was a pleasure hosting you while you were in town. We're glad our location was ideal for exploring the area on foot and that you felt welcome throughout your stay in our clean, modern rooms. Thank you for sharing how much you appreciated the included breakfast. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard P wrote a review Nov 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What we liked - location and surrounding neighborhood and restaurants
What we disliked - An arduous process in trying to provide advance payment for a family members birthday so they did not have to pay upon arrival. Beyond the credit card authorization form required in advance, I had to provide copies of both sides of the credit card as well as my driver's license. I was also a guest at the motel and had booked two rooms and provided credit card info at the time of booking so the process was burdensome at best. Most disappointing however was the cleanliness of the room. The floors in both rooms were so dirty you could feel the grit under your shoes. When walking without shoes our socks and feet were filthy. Literally could not get out of bed without something on your feet. I wiped up a section of the floor, towel was gray with dirt. When I approached housekeeping the next day I showed them the towel and requested both room floors be cleaned. They were not. Something to know there are no drawers anywhere in the room for personal items. Also, the trolley drives through the parking lot, in front of the rooms continuously throughout the day so be prepared to hear the drivers comments and wave to the tourists.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Villa 1565 Hotel
Responded Nov 11, 2020
Dear Richard, The issues that you raise are important to us. Our housekeeping team is generally commended for their attention to detail, so your comments are quite surprising. Your remarks have been discussed internally so that we can seize these opportunities for improvement and ensure that the same missteps are not repeated. We cannot change the past, but we hope that you will consider joining us again in the future for a stay that better represents our true value.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica P wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms in this motel were clean and comfortable. They replenished towels, soap, and shampoo/conditioner daily along with making up the beds. The salt water pool was refreshing but did need to be swept as there were some leaves in the bottom. The check in and check out process was quick and easy. You could tell that the motel had or is being renovated. There are some signs of age in the motel, but nothing major. The beds were comfortable. There were no drawers in the room, so you have to hang up your clothes or lay them on the counter. They also had a mini fridge, microwave, single serve coffee maker, hair dryer and iron. I would say the hot breakfast was just ok. We ate once there, and it was sausage biscuits and gravy, fruit, cereal, muffins, and yogurt. Not a whole lot to choose from, but it was good. They are very precise about breakfast ending at 9:30 even if you're still eating. They reminded us that breakfast ended at 9:30 and it was currently 9:35. It's also has a trolley stop at the motel which is great to ride through town. It also has a nice courtyard area with ambient lighting and patio furniture. Great for late night chats after a day of shopping and exploring. All in all, the motel is a great value for all that you get. We would stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Villa 1565 Hotel
Responded Jul 17, 2021
Dear Jessica, It was a pleasure hosting you while you were in town. We're glad our clean, comfortable rooms and many onsite amenities added to your experience. Thank you for your suggestions for improvement. We'll keep them in mind moving forward, and we invite you to stay with us again during your next trip.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caroline B wrote a review Mar 2021
Orlando, Florida93 contributions42 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The reality is very far from the nice pictures on their website. It's not a hotel but just a motel. Rooms are noisy directly connected to the parking. Blinds must be off on the only window. Heaters don't work (our neighbors had the same issue). Lack of pressure for the hot water in the shower. The lobby is depressing. The grab and go breakfast is very low quality. Anyway you can't eat it in your room : There is only 1 chair. One of you has to sit on the bed !

It was very clean. The floor was cleaned on a daily basis. The bathroom was looking brand new with a loth of available towels

Far too expensive for the quality.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Villa 1565 Hotel
Responded Mar 29, 2021
Dear Caroline, We appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. We're pleased to hear that you appreciated our clean accommodations, as well as the plentiful supply of bath towels. However, it saddens us to hear that we were not able to meet all of your expectations. Please accept our apologies for any issues you may have experienced with your room and water pressure. We encourage our guests to notify our front desk team as soon as possible so that we can find a solution and ensure you have a comfortable visit. All feedback allows us to see where we could be making improvements. Thanks again, and we hope you'll allow us another opportunity to provide a better experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer S wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff was very pleasant and professional, price was right for what you get. However, place needs sprucing up, potted plants need watering, some minor repairs and better cleaning. Bed spreads need updating, ours was worn and faded. Toilet seat needed reattaching. The room door hung crooked leaving about 1 inch gap and securiry lock was useless. Walls need smudges cleaned and maybe spot painting. The complimentary breakfast was not worth effort; dried up old sausage patties and stale croissants and overripe bananas; no eggs waffles or toast. We went out for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Villa 1565 Hotel
Responded May 25, 2021
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Your feedback on how we could have improved your visit is appreciated and we will be passing on your concerns to our team as we strive to improve. Please allow us another opportunity to host you when you are next in the area; we want to meet and exceed your expectations.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea K wrote a review Jun 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Villa 1565 Hotel Historic St. Augustine FL

Bugs!! We checked in at 5:51pm. We showered, went to dinner, and a ghost tour that kept us out until 11:15ish. Upon returning, we found bugs in the bed (which we never used). We lifted pillows and moved blankets, revealing more and more bugs. (I have video, but I can’t figure out how to post them.) We called the front desk and they offered us another room. After a discussion and feeling grossed out - not to mention not wanting to spread the bugs to other rooms if they had moved to our bags- we decided to decline and leave. I called 4 times before I received an email response from the manager stating that no refund would be offered. His response is below. We never asked for the “free upgrade to suite”, we were moved there upon check in. So did someone else leave the suite before us for the same reason?

Stay anywhere else!!! When staying in a hotel the very minimum a customer expects is for it to be insect free. This expectation was not met, and therefore all other suggestions made to us by the hotel are unacceptable I am still waiting for my refund.

“Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay at Villa1565. We regret that you had such difficulty during your time with us. We strive to offer quality service and comfort for our guests and it’s unfortunate your experience wasn’t to the high standards we aspire to provide despite of providing free upgrade to suite. As per our documentation, guest service agent did offer you alternate room which you did not accept. Our staff is not allowed to go into guest rooms at night due to safety reasons but they are able to offer resolution of alternate room. Our records do show that you checked in at 5:51pm and checked out at 11:43pm. Our housekeeping staff also noticed that room including bed and shower was used as well. Since you decided to not to accept room change, hotel is unable to offer full refund almost 6 hours after checking in.

Sincerely,
Tripal Shah - GM”
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Villa 1565 Hotel
Responded Jun 3, 2022
Dear Andrea, We have our accommodations serviced regularly, and you can bet that our pest control specialist will be investigating your claims to ensure that everything is free from any pests. With that being said, we apologize if we didn't handle this to your satisfaction. Please give us a call so we can discuss these matters further. Thank you, and we hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mwestafer wrote a review Jan 2021
55 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This older motel has been recently totally updated,the price and location couldn't be better. We booked two rooms for a family getaway and loved it. It has nice clean rooms and bathrooms. The outside also has cute sitting areas around the "Old General" historic tree on-site. There are several sites within a short walk and the trolley stops here to easily use it. We were also surprised with our grab and go hot breakfast they provided, it was filling and much appreciated during these Covid times. All around it was a great experience and value, we travel a lot and usually are leary of older motels but this one is one we would gladly return too. We wish the pool was heated and the wifi was less spotty, but we had a really nice stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Villa 1565 Hotel
Responded Jan 29, 2021
Dear Mwestafer, Clean accommodations and excellent amenities are both important to a successful trip, and to hear that this was your experience has us delighted. We can't wait to welcome you and your family back to Villa 1565 Hotel for another fantastic visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shira C wrote a review May 2021
Jax2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It wasn't my stay, but it was my reservation for my daughter's wedding anniversary. Wanted to do something special for her and her hubs. My daughter sent pics of the beautiful room and bathroom, and raved many things about how perfect and beautiful it was. The staff even made towel origami and left rose petals on the bed, just because I mention it was an anniversary! My next reservation will be for myself!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Villa 1565 Hotel
Responded Jun 1, 2021
Dear Shira, What a wonderful gift to give your daughter on her wedding anniversary! We're so pleased she and her husband enjoyed their stay in our beautiful property, and we look forward to hosting you at Villa 1565 Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Sue H
4 contributions
Not sure but our room had a dirty floor! I wore socks the whole time & they never came clean! Bathroom was not pristine either.
Answer from tripal s
Miami, Florida1 contribution2 helpful votes
Vilano beach is approximately 3 miles from hotel and Saint augustine beach is approximately 5 miles from hotel. Plenty of restaurants and local shops within walking distance.
St. Augustine, Florida3 contributions
We only have 2 honey moon suites.
Larry J wrote a tip Mar 2024
Wildwood, Florida54 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid if possible if you have future plans "
Read full review
James S wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room away from the street if you can. Definitely quieter toward the rear of the property."
Read full review
Brett R wrote a tip Aug 2023
Toronto, Canada25 contributions50 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking outside your door, very close to old St. Augustine"
Read full review
tweety1816 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Fort Lauderdale, Florida15 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everything"
Read full review
P W wrote a tip May 2023
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not with the $$"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Augustine area.
PRICE RANGE
C$157 - C$286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson inn-historic st augustine hotel saint augustine, saint augustine howard johnson, howard johnson saint augustine
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSt. Augustine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Villa 1565 Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa 1565 Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Villa 1565 Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Oldest Store Museum (0.2 km), Old Jail Museum (0.2 km), and National Shrine of Our Lady of La Leche at Mission Nombre de Dios (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa 1565 Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Villa 1565 Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Villa 1565 Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa 1565 Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa 1565 Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Raintree Restaurant, Drake's Deli, and LuLi's Cupcakes & Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa 1565 Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa 1565 Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Jail Museum (0.2 km), Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (1.1 km), and National Shrine of Our Lady of La Leche at Mission Nombre de Dios (0.3 km).
Is Villa 1565 Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All St. Augustine HotelsSt. Augustine Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. AugustineHotels near Villa 1565 Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars