The Flagler Inn

The Flagler Inn

Traveller (391)
Room & Suite (319)
Breakfast Area at the Jaybird's Inn
Dining (64)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#34 of 91 hotels in St. Augustine
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to The Flagler Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Vending machine
Hiking
Aerobics offsite
Archery offsite
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
Jacksonville Intl Airport
73.2 km
See all flights
St. Augustine Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,753 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Flagler Inn has earned praise for its cleanliness and spacious rooms, often highlighted for their comfort and upkeep, although a few guests have pointed out concerns regarding bathroom tidiness and room maintenance. While the inclusive breakfast and nearby stores add to its value, opinions about the hotel service and amenities are mixed, with some experiencing prompt attention and others encountering unresponsive staff. Despite occasional noise and mustiness, the overall atmosphere of the hotel is considered comfortable and welcoming by many travelers.
Atmosphere
Comfortable
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,753Review34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 875
  • 550
  • 197
  • 77
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sarah M wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This property is in an ideal location for travelers: you are close enough to historic district without the associated traffic. The property was clean and quiet with an excellent staff.
We were incredibly pleased with our room. It was spotless and very cozy. Our stay was over 4th of July weekend and the Flagler Inn showed an excellent response to COVID19: brown bag breakfast, limited contact with housekeeping (this was fine by us, we only had a 2 day stay) and mask policy in lobby areas. They made us feel safe and the staff was very accommodating to any requests. And the in-house coffee was fabulous!
This booking was pricey but definitely worth it. We hope to return soon!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Photos are accurate!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Flagler Inn
Responded Jul 15, 2020
Dear Sarah, It was a pleasure hosting you at The Flagler Inn! We're thrilled our location was ideal for your trip and that our clean, quiet rooms provided you with the ideal place to rest. Our friendly staff will also be proud you felt welcome while you were here. Thank you for sharing how much you appreciated our attention to health and safety guidelines. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Indy-Beach-Bum-TR wrote a review Feb 2020
Indiana12 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Flagler inn was an excellent choice for our first visit to Saint Augustine. The reservation and check in process went very smooth. The room was very large, clean, comfortable bed, small but nice bathroom. Tickets for the city trolley tour was sold on site and a free shuttle picked us up and returned us to the hotel. There was a good restaurant called Schooners near by for great food at a reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at The Flagler Inn
Responded Feb 27, 2020
We thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We at The Flagler Inn take pride when we hear that our valued guests have enjoyed our easy check-in process, clean rooms, comfy bed, and convenient shuttle service during their stay. If your travels bring you back this way, please consider us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Karrie H wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a few issues here during our stay. We weren’t told that there weren’t any cleaning services in the beginning, but yet there was a card on our door with one side that said “maid services requested” and the other side labeled “do not disturb”. We put it on maid services requested for 3 days in a row, but came back to the room as we left it. One time we came back to our card turned back around to the do not disturb side, which was very strange. We had to go ask for toilet paper and towels, and had to go all week with dirty sandy floors. If we were told beforehand, it would’ve been a little less frustrating. We were also put into the other building which shares a parking lot with a restaurant called Taco Libre. The restaurant’s customers will take every single spot for parking and almost every evening we struggled finding parking until someone left the restaurant. The shower was the best part. It had great water pressure and the water was very hot. It was very small though. The breakfast was decent in my opinion.. The beds were on the more firm side, but it was comfortable. The AC didn’t work that great and found myself sweating during the night. Even though my review has focused more so on the negatives, I would rate my stay a 5/10. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t the best. If you’re looking for a hotel for a whole week, go with a hotel that is downtown and close to all of the restaurants. If you’re looking for a cheap weekend getaway, this place might not be so bad for you.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Flagler Inn
Responded Aug 12, 2021
Dear Karrie, Thank you for providing us a detailed look at your stay. Please forgive us if certain aspects of your stay left something to be desired. We want every guest of ours to have a perfect visit, so we've alerted our team to all of your concerns so we can learn from your experience. We're better than this, so please allow us to prove it next time you're in our area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DjAfuego wrote a review Mar 2020
Orlando, Florida4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited last weekend with wife and kids. The room floor is dark but my wife noticed that our son’s soles were filled with dust/dirt. Plus my allergy was hitting an all time high. We immediately notified the front desk that the room was was not properly cleaned but were told that housekeeping was gone for the day. So my wife took a wet towel and moped the floor; the floor was the filthiest hotel floor I have ever seen (see photo). Then she wiped down the night stands and parts of the bed frame and it was also filthy (see photo). Easily, weeks worth of filth. The next day we spoke to the head of housekeeping and her attitude couldn’t have been more uninterested, her first response was “Are you checking out today?”. It was a poor experience and it is a shame because location is good and ownership appears to have invested some money to renovate the place. Ownership should make a surprise inspection and they’ll see how housekeeping is slacking. #HelpStopCoronaVirus
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at The Flagler Inn
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Although our convenient location left a positive impression on you, it is saddening to know that we fell short in meeting your expectations regarding cleanliness. Also, please accept our apologies for any shortcomings of our housekeeping staff and any inconvenience caused. Rest assured that your comments are noted and will be looked into by our team for prompt resolutions. We would love to make it up to you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheri M wrote a review Feb 2021
Gulfport, Mississippi4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our large room that was closest to the train tracts and busy Ponce de Leon Blvd, and the train and traffic didn't bother us at all, as some reviews complained about. The room was very clean and comfortable. We liked the absence of carpet, as carpet is often dirty and unsanitary in most motels. We stayed 2 weeks, had a great rate, and will definitely stay here the next time we're in St. Augustine, which is often.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Flagler Inn
Responded Mar 2, 2021
Dear Cheri, We're proud to be your new go-to hotel in the area! It's great to know that our clean, comfortable room and convenient location were exactly what you were looking for. We look forward to hosting you again at The Flagler Inn.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
elizophia wrote a review Apr 2021
Tampa, Florida37 contributions29 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very spacious room that was aesthetically pleasing. This older property is trying to create a "Boutique Hotel" vibe. Looks aren't everything.

The room was not as clean as it appeared. This was our first hotel stay since Covid. Even before the pandemic we brought our own disinfectant wipes, you know for door knobs, remotes and such. That said, I don't think the doorknobs in this place have been cleaned in years! The wipes were black! There was mold in the shower and the sink faucet was caked with mold and grime. The side tables were sticky. The light colored walls showed all kinds of stains. A few stains on the linens as well.

The a/c worked well but was really loud. Woke me up every time it kicked on. Others complained about the train - I only heard the a/c!

The staff however, was wonderful. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was nonexistent. Arrived an hour before it ended and found a few pieces of fruit, a lone bagel, some muffins and cereal. Grabbed a cup of coffee and went elsewhere.

This hotel has potential. (A lot) More training for housekeeping. Give the breakfast a little more thought. Just step it up.

For a quick stay the price is right. Just wish it was a little cleaner.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Flagler Inn
Responded Apr 15, 2021
Dear Elizophia, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to hear you liked our friendly staff and spacious accommodations. Please know we sincerely appreciate your feedback on how we could have improved your visit and your comments will be communicated to our team as we strive to ensure every guest has a clean, comfortable stay. We hope you will give us a second chance when you are next in the area; we want to meet and exceed your expectations.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Giordana E wrote a review Dec 2020
Winter Park, Florida20 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself it’s cheap but in good condition, beds are somewhat comfy, besides the couch bed that is very uncomfortable, it’s 4 am and I can’t sleep, I can’t see someone heavier being able to sleep here, it would just kill your back and you wouldn’t be able to stand after a horrible night of sleep. The floors are extremely dirty, we let a little bit of soda spill on the floor, when we cleaned with wipes we realized this room was probably never cleaned in it’s lifetime. Very very very dirty, sheets, and towels and the couch itself not properly cleaned. Besides that, it’s a nice, cheap, average, little hotel, if you’re ok with dirt then that’s your place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Flagler Inn
Responded Dec 30, 2020
Dear Giordana, The issues that you raise are important to us. We strive to ensure a clean, comfortable stay for all of our guests. Had we been made aware of your concerns, our friendly team would have happily moved you to a room that was more to your preference. Nevertheless, thank you for sharing your feedback now. Hopefully, you were still able to enjoy your time in town. This is not the lasting memory we want you to have of us, so we hope to have another opportunity to deliver the stay you expected should you return to the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne P wrote a review Jul 2021
Tampa, Florida8 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a motel on the main road. It is simple and clean. We found our room to be adequate for the price point. Keep in mind that this motel is near the railroad tracks, and the train woke us up twice during the night. Also, their advertised "breakfast" is just coffee and English muffins. One thing that we noticed was that there were a lot of people sitting outside of their rooms smoking. These people did NOT appear to be tourists!! We were suspicious that they were possibly guests who have been sent there because they may be homeless. Some had children. While I sympathize with this population, I did not go there to witness that.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Flagler Inn
Responded Jul 30, 2021
Dear Joanne, We appreciate you being our guest and commenting on your stay. It's great to know we provided the clean accommodations and reasonable rates you expected while you were here. It's unfortunate that breakfast wasn't your preference, and we'll keep your feedback in mind. Guests are always encouraged to notify the front desk team of any suspicious activity so we can assist. Many thanks for the valuable feedback, and we hope to host you again at a later date.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JMontCanada wrote a review May 2023
Nepean, Canada82 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The sink was dirty and looked like it hadn’t been cleaned properly for quite some time. They only provide sheets on the bed & staff were rude when we asked for blankets. We couldn’t control the AC and the room was freezing. We called in the middle of the night and they came and couldn’t get it to work so they turned it off - just the fan - no AC. We arrived 20 minutes before breakfast ended and they had run out of eggs. We had registered for two nights but decided to leave. They let us check out but would not provide any compensation for the previous night until expedia intervened. To be fair the bed was comfortable, but all the staff we ran into seemed unhappy to be working there. We definitely won’t be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Flagler Inn
Responded May 8, 2023
Dear Jean, Thank you for setting time aside to evaluate your experience with us. While we are happy you found the bed comfortable, we are sorry that otherwise you were disappointed with your visit. We are normally known for our clean, comfortable accommodations and friendly staff, but we obviously dropped the ball during your stay. Please know your comments will be reviewed internally so we are sure to give our guests the high standards they deserve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet S wrote a review Jan 2021
Lady Lake, United States5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This "motel" style property was surprisingly upgraded nicer than others I've seen.. Big table with office-style padded, wheeled chairs and even very comfortable bed and excellent pillows. I especially liked the white bed toppers because I could tell they were clean, and the laminate floors seems better than carpet for being perfectly clean. Desk staff very helpful. Also a remote for the heat and A/C and the angle of the airflow could also be adjusted.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I had asked for a first-floor location close to the front as I was traveling alone. They did...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Flagler Inn
Responded Jan 7, 2021
Clean and comfortable lodgings are paramount to a wonderful stay, so we're glad that yours met our high standards in hospitality. We're also pleased that you loved the friendly nature of our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Flagler Inn for another five-star visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida29 contributions48 helpful votes
We stayed here when it was called Jaybird Inn. That was a March Trip. They did have bikes for rent, but we did not rent a bike. So I'm not sure if it was included with the hotel rate. Our room was non smoking, but they did have a table a chair outside of the rooms for smokers. It was newly renovated when we went. Room was very nice and clean. We enjoyed this ore than the Southern Inn across the street, which we had stayed at previously. The breakfast included was very nice. Staff very nice and helpful.
Answer from MICHEAL C
St. Augustine, Florida
Hello, that is true we only have shower stalls, no tubs in our rooms. Sorry, I know will enjoy your stay with us and I hope you will consider stopping by to look at our very large rooms. Regards, Michael
Laura V asked a question Sep 2018
West Palm Beach, Florida5 contributions
How close is this to the college?
Answer from Sprat851
Savannah, Georgia23 contributions8 helpful votes
Fairly close, a couple of miles - 6-10 minutes by car. I suggest you look into parking at or around Flagler before visiting.
Jana C asked a question Sep 2018
4 contributions
Do they have rollaway beds available?
Answer from Sprat851
Savannah, Georgia23 contributions8 helpful votes
Not sure. Expect their website would say.
Zarina S wrote a tip Jun 4
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please keep in mind, most restaurants that aren't big name such as Applebee's etc will close around 8-9pm. Free public beach parking fills up fast so get their early!"
Read full review
thimes wrote a tip May 2024
32 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms were clean but felt dirty if that makes sense. The bathrooms definitely need an upgrade"
Read full review
Maggie B wrote a tip May 2024
Anchorage, Alaska115 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are there longer than an overnight, you have to request housekeeping, otherwise they will not come into your room."
Read full review
Alejandro A wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here! Spend your money elsewhere!"
Read full review
Wilson S wrote a tip Jan 2024
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel located on main strip Ponce De León, could get very noisy in the evenings. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Augustine area.
PRICE RANGE
C$95 - C$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alhambra hotel saint augustine
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSt. Augustine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Flagler Inn - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Flagler Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Flagler Inn?
Nearby attractions include Oldest Store Museum (1.1 km), Old Jail Museum (1.1 km), and Fort Menendez at the Old Florida Museum (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Flagler Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Flagler Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Flagler Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Flagler Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Flagler Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brisky's BBQ, Creme de la Cocoa, and Schooner's Seafood House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Flagler Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Flagler Inn?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Flagler Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Flagler Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Jail Museum (1.1 km), Castillo de San Marcos National Monument (2.4 km), and National Shrine of Our Lady of La Leche at Mission Nombre de Dios (1.6 km).
Is The Flagler Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All St. Augustine HotelsSt. Augustine Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. AugustineHotels near The Flagler Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars