We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

806 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ascend Collection Castillo Real
See the most recent reviews
Showing 786: English reviews
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Booked a couple rooms for a weekend getaway for the family. Price seemed a bit higher than we would normally pay, but that ended up not being a big deal considering how nice and spacious the rooms were and location to the beach which my daughter loved. The large jacuzzi tub was nice..would have rather it be hidden from in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steven H
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review

Steven H, We are glad to hear that you felt you did get what you paid for. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and please think of us if you need to get away for a weekend in the future.

pa
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My family and I moved down here for a few dollars more from the dumpy Holiday Isle which was right down the street. I was happy they could accommodate us. The hotel is very pretty, clean, and I found the staff to be more then helpful and nice. We stayed in an executive suite. It is not right on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dianne24
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review

dianne24, I am happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you last minute in your move from down the street. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and were able to rest and relax. We can't wait to welcome you back next time you visit our beautiful city.

Panama City, Florida
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights at Castillo Real and I am so glad we did. This place is very nice and has an excellent staff. After having stayed the two nights prior in Jacksonville I was so glad to get here and see how nice and clean the room was. Only steps from the beach and a short drive to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maryam S
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review

Maryam S, We enjoyed reading your review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found your room clean and the staff was able to assist you with all of your needs. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and staff friendliness. We are so happy that you were able to experience those. I will also...

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Everything about our stay at this hotel was pleasant. The room was clean, the staff was nice, the restaurant inside the hotel was fantastic, and the location was good. The only possible things that would have made our stay better where if more rooms had balconies (ours did not and they did not offer 2 bed rooms with a balcony),...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Saba_9
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review

Saba_9, We appreciate your kind review. We are happy to know that you found your room clean and comfortable. I also really wish all the rooms had balconies, it would make our lives easier as well. I will look onto the gap at the bottom of the door. Thank you for brining that to our attention, as no one has...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel looked great online and had several positive reviews but was very disappointing. The staff were disinterested, verging on rude. The rooms were shabby and not particularly clean. ( there were red splashes on the bathroom door when we arrived; looked like spilled wine, which were there for the whole of our stay.) Promised sea view was a building...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank suzanne132637
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review

suzanne132637, We are very sorry that you found your stay here only average and did not enjoy it. Most reviewers rave about or cleanliness and friendliness. I can't even begin to imagine our staff being rude. As for our view, it is advertised as a partial ocean view, and we never shy away from the fact that you can see...

Atlanta
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here a few months ago and absolutely loved it. Very close to the beach and the front staff is very friendly and helpful. Last time we were on the first floor and everything was fine. This time we were on the third floor and where do I begin....there was little to no water pressure, we turned the ac down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jaydylan
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review

jaydylan, I apologize for the housekeeping issues that occurred during your stay with us. Please let us know in the future if there any maintenance issues so that we may fix them immediately. We would have looked at the A/C the 1st day, if you had let us know it was not cold enough and changed your showerhead as well....

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had not been back to St Augustine in twenty years. Hotel was recommended and enjoyed the experience immensely. Room was spacious and contained a microwave and small refrigerator. The staff was very helpful and the dinner menu was varied with many choice selections. The extremely wide beach was a very short walk away. Travel to downtown St Augustine was convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 2thdoc19722011
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review

2thdoc19722011, We are happy that we could make your 1st time back in St Augustine, such a good one. We hope that it is not another 20 years before you return again to experience all of the wonderful things our beautiful city has to offer. Thank you for your review and your business.

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Castillo Real was a great hotel for spending time at the beach and going into downtown Saint Augustine. The hotel was very clean and the bed was super comfortable! The beach and some very good restaurants are only a few hundred feet away from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ms1989
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review

ms1989, We thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kinds words and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice and clean. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful at check in. The pool area is clean and well kept. Every time we visited the pool there were pool towels available and pool was clean. Close to downtown but far enough away that it wasn't so touristy. Would recommend to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Badgejunky
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review

Badgejunky, Thank you for recommending us after your recent stay. We are always trying to make sure the common areas and the rooms are well kept. Thank you for recognizing that. It seems that our location worked well for you as well. We thank you for you business and we hope to see you again soon.

The Villages
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Castillo Real to celebrate a special birthday for my husband. We arrived on a Sunday and as our room was not yet ready, Maureen, the delightful front desk clerk accommodated us with 2 Old Town Trolley Tour tickets to go to downtown St. Augustine. The bus shuttle which stops at the hotel came within minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank brodonTheVillages
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review

brodonTheVillages, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The entire staff delighted in reading it. Guests like you remind us why we do what we do. We are all in this industry because we like to make people happy. This does not happen to every guest, but we really do appreciate know how much you enjoyed your...

281 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
1.2 km away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
800 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
667 reviews
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
721 reviews
7.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.3 km away
Courtyard St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Address: 530 A1A Beach Boulevard, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Region: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range: $159 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ascend Collection Castillo Real staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Jacksonville, FL
over a year ago
Greenwich, Connecticut
over a year ago
Jupiter, FL
Jacksonville, Florida
13 days ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Ascend Collection Castillo Real staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rear of hotel has balconies”
 of 5 bubbles menckenman, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The 4th floor, quiet and nice ocean views and the sunrise, spectacular! Our room had a balcony, which was special, you can hear the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles 828JoyceL, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on Highway side but it was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 460katinas, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the upper floors with a balcony if you want to see the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles marr223, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“very close to the beach but not on the beach”
 of 5 bubbles barbararC3109EU, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5