We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

547 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
See the most recent reviews
Showing 500: English reviews
Florida
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This hotel has only three things to offer: water location, pool and children's play area. Also permits dogs..good or bad, how you look at it. Rooms are REALLY outdated. Small, some musty and not pleased with house keeping. Many problems including, noisy air conditioning, no hot water, malfunctioning television remote, amenities in room sporadically provided (no heat proof coffee cups;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a night while in town for a wedding. The hotel was very easy to get to from the highway and made for a great location to explore St. Pete. It was located right off the Sunshine Skyway bridge. Unfortunately that is where the good ends. The room was in need of new carpeting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christopher W
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

We do want to thank you for staying with us. We also thank you for your comments. It was a beautiful weekend for a wedding.

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Came in late last night and our reservations never went through Benjamin was very helpful in doing all he could to get us the price we booked but the trip advisor app was not working. We upgraded to a water front room for $178 a night . upon waking up we were very impressed by the view it was amazing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fudeyabroad
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The view is spectacular! We often see dolphins and manatees in our marina playing. Thank you on your compliments to out staff. Our staff takes great pride in our hotel. We hope you get to come back and visit soon!

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We have visited Marina Cove several times over 20 years and it remains our favourite getaway. We had a relaxing time and enjoyed sitting on our patio just feet away from the water watching the wildlife. We saw a pair of dolphins and a manatee mother and calf in the marina and watched the daily antics of an osprey who...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolwZ517ZJ
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so happy you enjoy your stays with us. It is quite beautiful with all the nature we have here at the hotel. The view is so relaxing to watch. Thank you for your comments on our staff. Please come back and visit us soon.

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a weekend at the Magnuson to take my mother in law for a little get away. Our only complaint was that the beach area wasn't very big. Our nieces came over for the day and loved the pools and shuffle board! It's a very nice location!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also happy your nieces had so much fun. Please come back and see us soon!

Saint Petersburg
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Originally booked someplace else and not happy. Change to this location and it was the greatest idea I've had in a long time. It was nice clean the people were courteous and helpful. Very friendly atmosphere very nice location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sobotkers
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are so happy you enjoyed our property. Please come back and visit us soon!

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Great facility and the staff very pleasant and helpful. My grandson left a small stuffed animal in his room. Since we stayed one more day than my son the staff gave it to us. Thoughtful. We hope to return soon. Thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucretiam950
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We are also pleased your grandson received his stuff animal back. Please return soon for a visit. We would love to have you back.

Reviewed 1 October 2016

The price seemed reasonable, but I will not stay here again. Wifi did not work in our room. After several visits to the front office they eventually changed our room. Old and outdated with some remodeling done.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert J
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do hope you give us another try.

Reviewed 17 September 2016

It is a clean hotel, with 2 swimming pools. Which is cool.we had Marina view. Not the most besutiful I've ever had but it will do. The staff is friendly. And yes there was a bad smell but somehow that didnt last. So no problems there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne P
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. Please come back and visit soon.

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

The staff at Magnuson Marina Cove Hotel are very friendly, helpful and accommodating! This is the second year we stayed there. We went there on our honeymoon last year and had a great experience then as well! The scenery is beautiful! It is an older resort with lots of character unlike the huge condo's and hotels. We plan to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back next year! Happy Anniversary!!!!

721 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (469)
Viewed
Amenities (71)
Viewed
Beach (11)
Viewed
Double Full Bay View Room (49)
Viewed
Double Full Marina View Room (48)
Viewed
Double Standard Room (51)
Viewed
King Standard Room (51)
Viewed
Large Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Small Pool (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
8.7 km away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,222 reviews
6.5 km away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
916 reviews
8.4 km away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#17 of 42 in St. Petersburg
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#8 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,447 reviews
7.2 km away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
8.6 km away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Price Range: $126 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove St. Petersburg, Florida
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Indianapolis, Indiana
8 months ago
West Virginia
10 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Visit the nearby beaches of Fort Desoto State Park and Siesta Key.”
 of 5 bubbles Dwnptrl, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles 402victorm, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a small patio, if you want a good view of the water get second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 865susied, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles JandKFrancis, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Economical, met expectations. The 2 floor design can be CHALLENGING!”
 of 5 bubbles 10searls, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5