We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Flamingo Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Flamingo Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Flamingo Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 226: English reviews
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I had a wonderful time at the flamingo resort this past weekend while visiting from Nashville. I went to several of the bars on the property, but then I discovered the bartender,Terry. After that, I had no need to go elsewhere for drinks. The way he moves, graceful and fast, smiling as he acrobatically prepares cocktails up and down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blairproduction
John S, Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Terry is an excellent bartender and a great asset to us. We really appreciate your feedback!!

Reviewed 16 June 2016

Visited the Flamingo while on vacation from the notorious state of North Carolina. Was not to keen on staying there due to some negative reviews I have read. Was Pleasantly surprised! The facilities were very nice,but some of the people made the trip.Was really impressed with the bartender, Terry!! He took some time to make us feel welcomed and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dax S
John S, Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for giving I the opportunity to serve you! We value your opinion and look forward to serving you again soon!

Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Went to Sunset Beach then over to the Flamingo for the Sunday Tea Dance. Great place with reasonable drink prices. Sunday's are pretty busy with locals hanging out enjoying the afternoon sun and drinks. Several bars to choose from along with a swimming pool if you want to swim. Good fun place to end the week!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
John S, Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed yourself! Our Sunday Tea Dances are always a hit with everyone!!! We hope to see you again soon!!

Indianapolis
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Exterior and bar areas look pretty nice. Rooms never seem to get better, in spite of management posting responses on here over a year ago about 'renovations'. Nothing renovated in our rooms. Old beat up furniture. Nasty stained and slow draining tub, missing towel bars, corroded faucets, no extra toilet tissue, low quality soap, stained towels and sheets, poor cleanliness...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank alan2955
John S, Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. From your comments you were certainly not in one of our 100+ renovated rooms. When you return please ask for the hotel manager and we will make sure you are placed in a new room in the courtyard.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Arrived on the 29th. First thing prepayment for room couldn't be found. Got that part corrected to find it was time to fight with Orbitz (not the hotels fault) because of 66.00 rate discrepancy. Went to room.. Second floor like I had requested and king bed. Enter room to find that my shoes were sticking to the concrete floor that...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank tennguy73
John S, Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review

First and foremost, I want to personally offer a sincere apology about your experience. We definitely appreciate your feedback here on TripAdvisor and will use it to our advantage to improve our Resort. In reference to some of your feedback, there are a few things I want to clarify. In our on-going efforts to conserve energy and water, we place...

Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Ok. The Flamingo Resort hotel, in St. Petersburg, we stayed in last weekend has charged us for a total of four nights now and we barely spent two. I made reservations on the 14th for the nights of the 15th and 16th. I paid a one night deposit when I made the reservation.  At check-in at 2:30am on the 16th,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shannon P
John S, Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review

Dear Shannon, We sincerely apologize about your experience with us. We are currently going through a staff transition and training period. Please call me at (727)-321-5000 and I will resolve this personally. I will be in the office Thursday through Monday. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make this right.

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 14 April 2016

I have reviewed this place previously and stated I would never stay here again. However, I had to unexpectedly vacate my St. Pete home for a few days and it is still the height of Florida tourist season. Regular hotels were $200 plus a night and the Flamingo was $79, so I bit the bullet and stayed here. From having...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank William W
John S, Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize about the problems during your stay with us. We are currently under renovations and have recently changed all management. We really appreciate your feedback and are working to improve in these areas. We hope that you give us another chance in the future, once we are finished with all of our updating.

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Owners dont want to spend any money to improve this resort. Some rooms are remodeled and some are not. Plenty of bars onsite, i think that is the only thing keeping this place going. Just remember you get what you pay for. Bartenders are great, very friendly!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Erik K
John S, Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review

I apologize that we weren't able to meet your expectations. We are currently under renovation as well as under all new management. Please let us make this right for you.

Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Spent a few days here with friends and boy we had fun. Sure it's run down but that's not why we chose it. It's hard to find a place like this and it delivered what we were looking for. We met a lot of interesting people but the staff was the best asset. Terry at the cabana bar was working...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huberdc
John S, Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review

We apologize that we weren't able to meet all of your expectations. We are currently under going renovations and have recently changed management. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself at our wonderful bars and are glad that our staff was accommodating. And Terry is one of our best bartenders!! Thanks for your feedback and we look forward to you...

Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

You didn't book the Ritz here people lol. The rooms are inexpensive, clean enough and staff were nice. For the price paid it was worth it, bars on site were pretty fun as well. Slow to check in and some issues with my second night of reservation but staff were apologetic and cute :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey K
John S, Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize about the problems during your stay with us. We are currently under renovations and have recently changed all management. We value your opinion and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you return after our renovations are complete!!

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
6.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#22 of 42 in St. Petersburg
159 reviews
10.2 km away
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
#32 of 42 in St. Petersburg
350 reviews
6.8 km away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#18 of 42 in St. Petersburg
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
#20 of 42 in St. Petersburg
394 reviews
7.9 km away
Crystal Bay Hotel
Crystal Bay Hotel
#25 of 42 in St. Petersburg
19 reviews
6.9 km away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
THE FLAMINGO GLBT RESORT & ENTERTAINMENT COMPLEX. Just minutes from some of the best beaches in America, Flamingo is a must at the top of your list of Gay Travel Destinations. The Flamingo Resort has 130 Hotel Rooms, the Flamingo Grill & Cafe, 9 On-Site Shops, 7 Bars and an 80,000 Gallon Pool. Enjoy Tropical Drinks served at the poolside Cabana or relax inside at Flamingo's Video Bar... or dance the night away at the Flamingo Main Bar Night Club, complete with Live DJ's, Light Shows & The Flamingo Royal Players Cabaret Show! Our goal at the Flamingo Resort is to ensure your complete satisfaction while visiting Florida's Largest Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Resort & Entertainment Complex. We are able to do this by offering Non-Stop Entertainment, Great Food & Drinks, and a fabulous staff that understand our Customers are our number one priority. Our job is to create the atmosphere of your dreams where you can meet new friends, make new memories, and have a fantastic time!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort

Address: 4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Price Range: $135 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Flamingo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel St. Petersburg
Jms Hotel St Petersburg
Knights Inn Saint Petersburg
Flamingo Resort St. Petersburg, Florida
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Flamingo Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
San Juan, Puerto Rico
over a year ago
St. Petersburg, Florida

“Punched by a pattren Sunday August 21, 2016 at the Flamingo Hoel”

1 of 5 stars Pending review

Yesterday, I came to the Flamingo Hotel for tea dance like I do most Sundays. I happened to be using the waterslide the hotel had set up. After getting out of the pool to go down the slid again, there was a guy with his "leather toy boy" in toe. Deck was wet and I lost my footing a bit and brushed against the "boy toy". Apologized and commented on his looks. Well his "master" didn't take lightly to it and cold cocked me in the chest.

I immediately went into the Code Bar and asked for security. When no one came I walked outside and saw the "young lady" security guard talking to the guy who hit me. At this point I became outraged and went to the front desk and asked them to call the police. While waiting for the police to come the General Manager, Randy, was called. While waiting for the police I was calling my bank because my debit card was stolen. Randy was trying to interrupt me while I was on the phone with the bank. At this point I was beyond upset. He kept telling me to sit down. I told him I was calling my bank and waiting for the police. He then told me to leave the property.

I was the one struck by his other pattern and I was told to leave. I walked out to the side walk and waited for the police. Four scout cars arrived. One officier took my information and the other ones went and talked with Randy the so called inept manager. I was given a trespassing paper stating I was not allowed back on the property. BE AWAIRE THAT IF YOU GET PUNCHED IN THE CHEST BY A SO CALLED "MASTER" IT'S OK.

I tried calling the hotel back several times to get the owner's name. The desk clerk was upright RUDE!! He wouldn't give me the information.

I asked if it was always allowed to have their guest's "gay bashed". His response was, "how can you be gay bashed at a gay hotel". I wonder how far this guy got through school to have that type of answer.

I already called Channel 10 news and told them what happened. They requested I email them what happened and they would contact me right away.

I have already contacted my attorney and plan to take full legal action against the flamingo resort and the person that hit me.

6 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Flamingo Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you do not want to be inundated with club music all night, ask for a room far away from the main, central area.”
 of 5 bubbles N8346VZstephenw, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Outside, second floor rooms are quieter if resort is crowded, but rooms facing pool have a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles DudesAdrift, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from this place”
 of 5 bubbles X4096NIcarlosm, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“bring bug spray for beds and disinfectant to clean room before use”
 of 5 bubbles dvrocco, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room that doesn't have carpeting.”
 of 5 bubbles 104brandonh703, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5