We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Song of the Sea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Song of the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

669 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Song of the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 610: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 January 2017

My family has stayed at this lovely small hotel on the beach twice. One time over Thanksgiving in 2015 with a few of us and then again with extended family over Christmas holidays. Both stays were just lovely. The rooms could have more updated patio furniture, but the rooms are sunny, bright and clean. Beds extremely comfortable. We stayed both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eyresearcher
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear eyresearcher, So glad you had a great stay! Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your review. We know our guests have become very loyal to Song of the Sea and it's clear from your experience why - so much to enjoy while also being a quiet place to relax. We hope to see you here again...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Song of the Sea is located essentially on the (uncrowded) beach in quaint Sanibel. There is a short walk via boardwalk from the hotel to the ocean. The room itself was a kitchenette: small oven/stove, microwave, sink, dishes and utensils, refrigerator, cabinets, coffee maker, and blender. The bathroom was small (unable to open the door fully due to interference from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stingray1212
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Stingray, Thank you for sharing such a complimentary review of your experience. It's great to see our guests enjoying themselves and finding so much to like about the resort. I have to agree, our strawberry-orange juice is indeed one of the highlights of our complimentary breakfast and I'm glad you enjoyed it! We appreciate your staying with us and...

Tucson
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

This is a great place to stay, close to the beach and the staff was very friendly. Continental breakfast only but very clean, I would stay here again. Beach chairs available was a nice touch. Close to restaurants and shopping

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terrie G
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Terrie, Thank you for sharing your very nice review of the resort. I'm glad you had such a great visit and hope we can continue to be your choice for accommodations when visiting Sanibel Island in the future. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com 239-472-3181

Burlington, Kentucky
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Loved our stay. It was my husband's first time in Florida. I loved watching his face as we walked on the beach. He really enjoyed all the shells. The room was clean and breakfast wad great! Will definitely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Tracy, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad your husband was happy with your choice of vacation spots and I'm honored that we could be your host for your his first trip to Florida. Thank you for taking the time to share your very nice impressions. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Sincerely, Bill...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Song of the Sea is our favorite place to stay on Sanibel Island. Over the years we've tried other hotels but always return to Song of the Sea. The quiet setting is wonderfully relaxing and the white sand beach uncrowded in late November. The location at mile 1.5 makes it a good beach walk down to the lighthouse and back....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karianne71
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Karianne, Thank you for sharing such a complimentary and very detailed review of your stay. It means the world to our staff and me that we've become your favorite resort on the Island! I'm glad you found so much to your liking and glad that the issues you mentioned didn't diminish your desire to return. Please make sure to...

Aiken, South Carolina
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

After many repeat visits (9) the , we have given up on The Song. They refuse to replace worn out appliances, furniture, tile, etc. . They never clean the tile and bathrooms have mold. Last visit had stains on all the furniture. Grounds well kept and quiet but there are better options on the island where management is committed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RickMartha
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear RickMartha, While I appreciate the time you took to share your impressions and sincerely apprecite your loyalty, I'm sorry to hear that you have continued to find issues with your stays at Song of the Sea. I would like to do more than apologize as it is very concerning that we would lose a loyal guest over issues that...

CT
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Stayed for a week at the beginning of November. Second visit for us and happy to find all was just as it had been in 2013. We arrived right at 5pm when the office closes and there is a notice to go to the sister inn next door to register and get the key (which we had to do the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jewelee
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Jewelee, Thank you for sharing such a nice review on Trip Advisor. I'm certain other travllers will enjoy learning of your wonderful experiences during your visit as much as I did. You very nice comments regarding our staff and I will be sure to pass this along to them so they can see how much their efforts to make...

Lumberton, New Jersey
Reviewed 21 November 2016

I stayed at Song of the Sea 11/18 for one night. I have been going there for 20 years. I booked through Orbitz because they had the best rate (by $10). The room was advertised as "ground floor ocean front". For those who have not been, this is a pretty small resort. The back shutters are generally brown wood, there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bubble0309
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Bubble0309, I was very concerned to read your impression of our resort. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you experienced regarding your view as wel as the condition of your room, which is and I'm sure you can see from every other review of the resort, not our standard. We welcome hunderds of Orbitz trevellers every year and...

Illinois
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We were only able to spend one night here, and we will definitely be coming back. The staff was great, we were very early for check in and even though our room wasn't ready they let us know all the things we could do while we were waiting for them to call. We walked right on down to the beach,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irish198863
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Irish, So nice to hear about your visit! It looks like you were able to take full advantage of all we offer our guests at Song of the Sea during your short visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. I hope you'll visit again when your travels bring you back to Sanibel Island. We look...

Lake Delton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

A romantic yet cozy resort right on the gulf. Clean,quiet and homelike. Free continental breakfast every morning. Stay busy shopping or just rest by the 🏊 pool. A bottle of complimentary wine 🍷 awaits your visit in your room. Come and 😊 enjoy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sixxpak
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Sear Sixxpak, Thank you for sharing the impressions of your visit. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the romance that we hope all of our guests will be fond of. Please let us know when your travbels bring you back - we look forward to hosting you again! Sincerley, Bill Wellman General Manager The Inns of Sanibel 239-472-3181...

638 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (353)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (73)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (142)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (263)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Beach (32)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (92)
Viewed
Pool (27)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.8 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,058 reviews
1.0 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
648 reviews
1.1 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,575 reviews
0.1 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,233 reviews
6.6 km away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $301 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island
Song Of The Sea Sanibel Island, Florida
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Song of the Sea staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Newton, New Jersey
over a year ago
Rochester, New York
over a year ago
Chantilly, Virginia
2 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Song of the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved having one of the four suites on the Gulf”
 of 5 bubbles 384lawrenceb, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs! Tile floors are noisy down below.”
 of 5 bubbles Oville, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The ocean front rooms are well worth the extra money.”
 of 5 bubbles Anne07, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Second floor has best ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles davidoW8423EU, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was in the building closest to the beach, on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Wimbledon47, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5