We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sanibel Inn

TravelocityUS$159*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Sanibel Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,165: English reviews
Start your review of Sanibel Inn
 Click to rate
Saratoga Springs NY
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sanibel Inn has a terrific location, a beautiful beach, a lovely pool, and nice landscaping. But the room had an awful smell of mildew and mold that got worse when the air conditioners in the living room and the bedroom were turned on. The AC units seem in dire need of cleaning, disinfecting, or replacement. Tried opening the windows for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TRBM-1
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear TRBM-1, Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your impressions and observations. I'm sorry that you experienced an unpleasant issue with your room. Please know that we are working hard to ensure our guests are never placed in a room that is anything less than fresh-smelling and that our AC units are maintained to keep them that...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I paid over $400 per night for my suite and it was NOT worth it. First let me say that the grounds are very nice and the people who work there are very accommodating. However, it is clear that the inn is way understaffed. Housekeeping came around 5 PM most days and often did not give us enough towels and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marianne V
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marlanne, I'm so sorry to learn that you felt let down regarding a number of important aspects of our service during your recent visit to the Sanibel Inn and I hope we can discuss this more directly when you have an opportunity to see what we can do to make it up to you. Clearly, the housekeeping issues you...

Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a nice place but it is WAY overpriced for what you really get. I paid more than $420 per night and It was a huge disappointment. The buildings are very old, the pool very very small, the tiki bar and restaurant are always crowded and service is very mediocre.... wouldn't go back... I wish I had spent my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcela P
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marcela, Thank you for sharing your impressions of your visit. We never want our guests feeling like they received anything but a great, memorable experience while staying with us and I'm sorry you were disappointed. So many of our guests truly love and have become very loyal to the resort as reflected in the vast majority of our reviews;...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments with an ocean view with my wife, mom, aunt and uncle. We were in Sanibel for my brother, who got married down the road at Casa Ybel, but we balked at the prices there and found an awesome deal at Sanibel Inn. We got a beautifully renovated apartment with a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmmartino
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear bmmartino, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with fellow travelers. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Sanibel Inn and found so much enjoy about the resort, your room, your view and our amenities! We sincerely appreciate your selecting us for your stay and it's great to hear that you found such a great...

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is excellent. Grounds are lovely. Men working the pool/beach hut are wonderful and accommodating. The suite, however, was very disappointing in terms of cleanliness and overall appearance (stained coffee table and dirty, damaged baseboards). Suite accommodates 4 yet there were no pillows or sheets for sofa bed, only 2 plates, 2 wine glasses, 2 coffee mugs, no spoons. Housekeeping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dominique M
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dominique, Thank you for sharing the details of your visit with us, and your impressions over the last several years. I am aware that you discussed your concerns with one of our staff members who in turn asked us to reach out to you; I did so immediately and am looking forward to discussing how we might be able...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are a Belgian family and have been several times to the wonderful island of Sanibel. This was our first stay at the Sanibel Inn and for sure we didn't regret our choice. We booked a family room and were more than surprised about the size of the room , the terraces and the kitchen facilities made available. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jean n
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jean, We're so glad you had such a enjoyable and memorable visit to the Sanibel Inn! Thank you for sharing your impressions and for the very nice compliments of our staff who helped make your vacation special. I'm happy that you've found your new favorite place to stay on Sanibel Island and we'll look forward to welcoming you back...

Westmont, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Sanibel Inn from March 25 - March 31, 2017 during spring break. The resort was very nice and relaxing. It is nice that there is no charge for any of the activities: bike usage, paddle boards, beach chairs, beach umbrella's. As the other reviewers stated the rooms are a little dated, but not too bad. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dak2210
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and appreciated the service of our staff, the amenities we offer and the beauty of our landscaping. Your comments regarding our recreation staff are appreciated - they love making great memories for our guests and they'll be delighted to see how much they were appreciated. Thanks...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel great location. Right on the gulf and rooms with wonderful views. For a family hotel I wish it had a more shallow pool for younger kids and a laundry facility. we were drying our clothes on the balcony or in the bathroom. The restaurant had good food and drinks however last day of our stay someone charged food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Agnieszka B
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Agnieszka, I'm glad you had a great visit to the Sanibel Inn! Thank you for sharing your impressions YOure very nice comments about our staff are appreciated but I also appreciate, and apologize for, the interactions that were not as positive. Please know that I will address those with our team - it is not our goal to create...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Sanibel Inn for our spring break. The amenities on the grounds were very nice - free bike rentals, towels, chairs, umbrellas however the room left a bit to be desired. The whole resort needs an upgrade - room was outdated and in need of some TLC. The bathtub drain was very slow resulting in a shower for your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tokiwells
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Toklwells, Thank you for letting us know about your visit. I'm glad you enjoyed the resort overall, and had plenty of opportunities to enjoy our amenities, services and our beautiful beach. Your very nice compliments of our staff are appreciated. Please accept my apologies for the issues in your room and the late daily service in your room. During...

Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The price is a deal for the location right off, and the staff tries hard to please. However the rooms are rather small, and there are not a whole lot of amenities. Right off the main strip and Periwinkle, there is plenty of shopping and restaurants, but for sheer beauty and convenience, at this price, this is the best we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank QCao009
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear QC, Thank you for sharing your impressions. I'm glad you found a good value in staying with us and enjoyed our location, among the best on the Island. We strive to ensure that our guests have more complimentary amenities than any other resort on the Island and it's disappointing to learn that we fell short in your eyes. It...

1,000 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (506)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (179)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (465)
Viewed
1-Bedroom Suite (77)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Condo (135)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Pool (43)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Standard Room (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.7 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,148 reviews
1.1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
651 reviews
1.0 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
672 reviews
6.6 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,623 reviews
6.4 km away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $254 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast
Sanibel Inn Sanibel Island, Florida
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanibel Inn staff and other travellers.
38 questions
Ask a question
Bolton, Connecticut
5 months ago
Louisville, Kentucky
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Saint Louis, Missouri
8 months ago

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from Sanibel Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure AC, sewer, and restaurant repairs/renovations are completed before making a reservation at Sanibel Inn.”
TRBM-1, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't! Find one somewhere else!”
990mariannev, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“According to us all rooms with view on the gulf, however not sure”
jeann799, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“In the Southeast, a second floor room is always best to avoid bugs...especially if the grounds are heavily planted.”
KarenS136, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the Daisy Dune block until it is refurbished.”
JanetWalf0rdOBE, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$159* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$159
Sanibel InnUS$199
Booking.comUS$175
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates