We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Expedia.comUS$154*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$159*
US$154*
US$159*
US$159*
US$154*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,108: English reviews
Start your review of Sanibel Island Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Sebring, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This resort is clean, comfy and relaxing. The staff was friendly and always greeted you if you were out and about, and they kept your room clean and fresh. The pool was refreshing and the hammocks are awesome. There was always a lounge chair provided for you on the beach. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are cozy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent four days here in early May, 2017. We have visited this propery many times, under the name Holiday Inn Beach Resort. We were surprised on checking in this year to find it had undergone a name change. We were delighted to find that the things we love about this place are still there--the roomy rooms, the pool, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PolisighPat
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is right on the beach and has a great outdoor pool and Tiki bar. The rooms are large but not anything special. The hotel is older with all rooms opening to the outdoors. What is special is the access to the beach and the outdoor pool with Tiki bar. I did not like the additional $25/day "resort fee"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James S
Northfield, CT
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was exactly what we were hoping for. It met all our expectations and will stay here again for sure. Our room was poolside, clean, comfortable bed and pillows, quiet, private and cleaned every morning by 10:00 a.m. They give you a nice shelling bag and bottled water at check-in. This was our first time visiting Sanibel and we loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam514
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Never have I encountered such terrible customer service. The women at the front desk greeted us with what seemed like annoyance and did not smile even once. They gave the impression they just wanted us to get out of their faces. We asked for a receipt and they were so slow to give us one. I have never seen such...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicole L
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

When we made the reservation, it was last minute and the price seemed right. Then after checking in we did some shopping for goods and had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant on site. We found the room very nice, clean and all accommodations in order. Definitely will stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah Dale M
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was very clean, beach was great. Hotel does not provide beach umbrella, you have to bring your own, we had to buy a cheap one at the hotel ($20). It was really windy at the beach and the hotel offers to drill a hole in the sand for the umbrella. (this was great because otherwise it wouldn't have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ehkohler
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear ehkohler, So glad that rated our area as 'beautiful". Sanibel Island, being a sanctuary island, takes great pride in the natural beauty and miles of unspoiled beaches. We appreciate your flattering comments about our staff services, beach and cleanliness. We hope to see you again soon as Sanibel offers so much to discover. Warm regards, Sharon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a Friday to Tuesday for quick get away form the regular stresses of daily life. We loved our time at Sanibel Island beach resort, awesome hammocks on the property, pool was nice with seating out of the sun! The only reason why I wouldn't give this resort 5 stars is because the beds were horrible. We...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lindsay G
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, Lindsay, for staying with us for your 4 night getaway. We are pleased that you loved your time at our resort - minus the dissatisfaction with the bedding. If you wish to email me the room you were in I will make certain to look at the mattress and pillows. We certainly do not want anyone having an...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This motel is still a Holiday Inn! The rooms are very small and smell VERY strongly of mold and mildew. Everything in my suitcase had that horrible smell when I got home. Because of the high price and poor accommodations, I would NOT recommend this place. Sanibel Siesta is right next door. I have stayed there before: reasonable prices, excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank bab25196
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear bab25196, I would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your experience with us. If you wish to reach out to me please do not hesitate to call me at 239-472-4123 or email Sharontombs@centurylink.net. I would be appreciative if you can let me know the room number you were in so that I can investigate any type of...

Oakhurst, NJ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had four requirements when booking our weekend beach getaway: Beach, Bar, comfy Bed, and a nice pool. The Sanibel island beach resort delivered them all! The grounds are gorgeous and they are kept meticulously. Hammocks are dotted throughout the property under giant palm trees and provide the perfect spot for an afternoon nap. There's a great outdoor ping pong...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bradroxi
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bradroxi; We are thrilled to learn that we hit every one of your four requirements! Your feedback is heartwarming and will be shared with all members of our team. Your suggestion of the cornhole sets has been acted on and we are ordering some for the property. Hope to see you again soon. Sharon

1,070 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (597)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (137)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (149)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (238)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (449)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Pool (76)
Viewed
Poolside Double Room (67)
Viewed
Poolside King Room (72)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.7 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,183 reviews
2.1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
661 reviews
1.1 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
5.7 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,664 reviews
1.0 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tranquil boutique hotel nestled amid swaying palms and sandy beaches Sanibel Island Beach Resort is a cherished gulf-front retreat for nature lovers - shell collectors and those who enjoy outdoor recreation mixed with great shopping and dining. Guests enjoy private beach access as well as an outdoor pool and sundeck bike rentals tennis courts hammocks and lounge chairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6729 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sanibel Island)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $229 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sanibel Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn
Sanibel Island Beach Resort Florida
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanibel Island Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Sanibel Island Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a second floor, with no elevator. If you want a quieter room, avoid the rooms that overlook the pool.”
PolisighPat, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the west side were just fine.”
DeborahDale, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“The Resort is pretty small and all rooms would probably be okay!”
lindsayg608, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“I you can, go somewhere else for breakfast rather than using the restaurant at the hotel.”
hakbr, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for a room with a view because you are still 1000 feet away from the water.”
gms58, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$154* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$159
TripAdvisorUS$154
TravelocityUS$154
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates