We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,033: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

This is an older Holiday Inn, but well maintained. Hotel staff could not have been any nicer. Easy access to beach and hotel provides lounge chairs on beach and poolside. I would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Bob H
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

We appreciate you feeling positive about recommending us to others and we will strive to improve on any areas of hospitality delivery that need work. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

My finance and I checked out this Holiday Inn to see whether we could have our wedding, wedding party and festivities at this facility. This hotel was next to a house we were renting and it made for a convenient and efficient location for our event. We were to have approximately 50+ people in attendance and 12 rooms to be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Iggyftmyers
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your additional comments. It was unfortunate we were not able to commit to your wedding at the time of your inquiry and congratulate you on your marraige. More 

Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This is truly a motel in the true sense of the word. You park right outside your room. It is dated, but clean and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and the location is great. I would stay again with no hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank pat d
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Your input is appreciated and we hope to see you again! More 

Columbus, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I loved the tiki bar by the pool, the outdoor ping pong table and hammocks all between the hotel and the beach. They had bikes on site you could rent for cheap and ride all over the island on all the great bike paths. We never used our rental car! During the summer you can even ride to their very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dougiebunch
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing. You offered a great insider tip about exploring the island by bicycles. There are over 13 miles of continuous bike paths on an island leading to beaches, shops, restaurants and fun things to do. More 

New England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We spent a couple nights here on our first trip to Sanibel Island. We will definitely be back. It's right on the beach, everything was nice, comfortable. We found tons of nice shells all within a quarter mile of the holiday inn. If you are shelling, the best is the hour before low tide.

Helpful?
Thank Floridafossil2016
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. So glad you found tons of shells. Others will appreciate the tip with regard to the best time of day for shelling More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed with my husband for 3 nights. The hotel is Motel style rooms that are common in USA, so no balconies or terraces to sit on. However the room we had was a good size, well appointed, clean and well serviced. The only complaint was the terrible complimentary breakfast. It consisted of grab and go style packaged muffins and croissants... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jammybongo
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Dear jammybongo, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the room received and found the island beautiful and quiet. However, we regret if you did not fully enjoy your stay due to your... More 

Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Nice place to stay on Sanibel. Clean comfortable rooms. Close walk to the beach. Loved the pool deck outback with the bar. Good tropical drinks and tasty appetizers. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Renae B
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We will share them with the staff. More 

Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I only stayed one night and wish I could have stayed more. The hotel is off of the main road (no noise) and on the beach. The grounds are well landscaped and the front staff were friendly. Beach towels and chairs are available. Room furnishings were nice. The free breakfast was nothing to write home about (prepackaged pastries, juice, coffee)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth999
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your input is important to us. More 

Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Nice little hotel. Grounds are nice and well kept. Room was kinda clean (floors full of sand). Loved the short walk to the beach. Tiny pool and tiki bar food not very good. What I hate the most is those $25 fee (per day). Really? Well, I can come back but rather look for other hotels more suitable for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amarilispr
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Dear amarilispr, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations, and we appreciate your business with us. I am glad to read that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the rooms and grounds. However, we regret to know if the pool facility and the daily fees may have... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel September 4,5,6. Booked the reservation online at a site claiming to be Holiday Inn. When we arrived we found the accommodations acceptable but not exceptional. Nice thing was that it was right on the beach. Rooms were average and not particularly clean or modern. Thought that it was nice that they provided beach chairs and towels.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cheftell61
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Dear cheftell61, Thank you for leaving a candid review about our hotel on TripAdvisor and for staying with us. We value each feedback as this will allow us identify the areas that may benefit from our additional attention. It is disheartening to know that your experience was not as pleasant as it should have been due to the staff service,... More 

998 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (523)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (139)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Other (185)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (449)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Pool (76)
Viewed
Poolside Double Room (67)
Viewed
Poolside King Room (72)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.7 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,862 reviews
2.1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
623 reviews
1.1 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
347 reviews
5.7 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,490 reviews
1.0 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We cordially invite you to relax and enjoy our tropical island beach paradise at the Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island.The experience begins the moment you cross the Sanibel Causeway just west of Fort Myers, Florida and travel over the azure waters of the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. You'll feel the stress and fast pace of every-day life slip away.The Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island is located on one of the most beautiful sanctuary islands in the world with the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico as our own back yard. Sanibel Island is renowned for its natural beauty and habitat, miles of unspoiled beaches, world famous shell collecting, an array of activities, water sports, fishing and exceptional restaurants. Whether your visit brings you to our beachfront hotel for business or for pleasure, you will enjoy our charmingly quaint resort hotel surrounded by lush tropical landscape, pristine beach, ponds with waterfalls, outdoor pool with expansive sun deck, tennis courts and friendly staff who are eager to assist you.Plan your well deserved vacation or romantic getaway on Sanibel Island now. We specialize in leisure vacations, small meetings, retreats, corporate incentive travel and beach side weddings. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6729
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $236 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sanibel Island 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Sanibel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Florida
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Sanibel Island staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Sanibel Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“With a ground floor room you can park outside your unit. No lifts as far as we are aware.”
 of 5 bubbles johnpS2419VW, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Poolside is a good choice.”
 of 5 bubbles FredB97, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 137-150 and 239-250 are closest to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Beth999, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pricing should be better. For those rates I rather stay in luxury hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles amarilispr, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“not many rooms that face the water, but you are just steps from the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Wesnole, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay