We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanibel Island Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,081: English reviews
NJ
Reviewed 20 January 2017

hotel itself was ok, a bit dated..i was however shocked i had to pay $25 for "resort fee"...I am spire elite, and was not even informed of this fee at all until i received the charge on my Chase statement...this is not good...i am hoping the management will contact me to discuss this issue

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpagirlNj
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you!

Minnesota
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in January, so rate was a bit lower than during high season. We loved the property itself...just a short walk to the beach. They provide chairs to sit in. Loved walking on the beach at night, too. People were using their cell phones for light, which wasn't really necessary and sort of annoying. Sanibel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaMag
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and four star rating

Ashland, Ohio
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I can't say enough about how pleasant my stay was this past week particularly after reading some recent skeptical reviews about the property. All were unfounded, I am pleased to report. Granted that this is not a new hotel by any means, but it is truly well-maintained and the grounds are manicured quite nicely. The lobby area is decorated in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BuckeyePaige
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and especially in giving kudos to some of our staff. They will be thrilled that you took the time to single them out and remember their names. Yes, we are working on reopening the restaurant in the very near future and feel you will also be pleased with our menu items. Thank you for...

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Colorful, fun, clean hotel with all the amenities!! Nice rooms with comfy beds that promote A very good nights sleep. Great bold coffee with pastries in the morning. The best of all is The beach in the back yard! Great shelling and gorgeous sunrises and sunsets ... did I mention tons of gorgeous shells and SAND DOLLARS GALORE !!! remember...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ady A
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Your five star rating is our reward! Hope to see you again soon and thank you for sharing with readers the importance of distinguishing which shells must remain in the water.

Elkridge, United States
Reviewed 11 January 2017

The location on the beach is fantastic. Our room was spotless and bed, pillows and towels were very good, sheets were decent. The rest of the room was low budget- light fixtures, furniture. Refrigerator barely cooled. Keurig was provided but at bathroom sink with coffees and cups on cheap, stained plastic tray between sinks.Only one tiny sized shampoo and lotion....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzann F
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you!

Orland, Indiana
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

It's a happy medium! I heard while we were there that they are going to be doing a revamp, if that's true, it will no doubt make it a 4 or maybe even a 5. I liked the place overall. The one thing I would do for sure is make the pool bar better and the rooms could be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrandonMase
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are continually making improvements and know you will see them each time you return. Thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

wifi spotty. Room was oddly laid out. Bathroom was big but poorly designed...or renovated, whatever. Water pressure was bad, well not at first, blasts you then really drops off. Pillows were uncomfortable. The coffe was good the first day, they didn't replace it so none the second day. The "breakfast" provided, I'm not sure why they even bothered. Beach was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam p
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we will work hard to correct the areas you mentioned so that we can gain a higher rating from you.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This is a very old Holiday Inn. There are only two levels. There is no elevator so be aware that you have to carry everything up stairs. They will help you at the desk but you have to ask. It is overpriced because of the location. When we were there they were remodeling the dining area so the only thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janedoe32
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you

Westborough, United States
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We were pleasantly surprised how great this property was.The hotel staff was very friendly and the property was very clean and well maintained. Our guest room was comfortable, clean and well outfitted with wifi, microwave, fridge,and K-Cup coffee maker. The beach was no more than 100 footsteps from our room. Hotel offered a complimentary Grab 'N Go breakfast in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Arthur G
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Your comments are appreciated and shared with the staff. Thank you.

Apex, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Great find on the island. This is an older hotel with renovated rooms. Nice and clean.Our room was two queen beds and it was right behind the lobby. No elevator, stairs are open and wide. Our room was facing the walk way between buildings. We were not here long. We did notice how well the grounds were kept and all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Smith3835
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the five star rating

1,039 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (566)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (131)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (217)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (449)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Pool (76)
Viewed
Poolside Double Room (67)
Viewed
Poolside King Room (72)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.7 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,073 reviews
2.1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
649 reviews
1.1 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
5.7 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,579 reviews
1.0 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tranquil boutique hotel nestled amid swaying palms and sandy beaches Sanibel Island Beach Resort is a cherished gulf-front retreat for nature lovers - shell collectors and those who enjoy outdoor recreation mixed with great shopping and dining. Guests enjoy private beach access as well as an outdoor pool and sundeck bike rentals tennis courts hammocks and lounge chairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6729 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sanibel Island)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $251 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Sanibel Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn
Sanibel Island Beach Resort Florida
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanibel Island Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Sanibel Island Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a pool/ocean view. Otherwise you're looking at a parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles patriciabZ5456KS, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We avoided the "overlooking pool" option; our corner room added to our light and privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles CNYLaker, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room facing the Gulf if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles tfagerskog, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a view close to the beach and pool then ask for a view room”
  • View from hotel at beach access
  • View from door from a view room
  • View of trail to resort from beach
 of 5 bubbles 972stephenp, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick up some food at the grocery to save on dining out. We did & loved our savings & not putting on pounds while vacationing.”
 of 5 bubbles JoL883, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5