Kompose Boutique Hotel

Kompose Boutique Hotel

965 University Pkwy Suite 103, Sarasota, FL 34234-2879
Traveller (276)
This is a bed bug on the sheet of my bed.
Room & Suite (36)
Ever seen So much cereal???
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 special hotel in Sarasota
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Kompose has created a completely a la carte experience – promoting transparency, knowledge, and individualism in every stay! Kompose is the first hotel brand designed to give guests freedom of choice. As our guests “Kompose” their stay they may choose any experience they want, from just a bed all the way to a full 4-star experience. Kompose is a place for independents, free-thinkers, and free spirits who don't want to be told what to do or how to be. We embrace that our guests are value-conscious, and it is our mission to ensure that they are never forced to choose between price and quality. Offering a comfortable bed, a warm shower and a delicious breakfast is only the beginning of our promise to our customer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
24-hour check-in
Electric vehicle charging station
Hot bath
Heated pool
Yoga room
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Charming

Location

965 University Pkwy Suite 103, Sarasota, FL 34234-2879
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 49 out of 100
49
Bradenton Airport
St. Petersburg Intl Airport
60.9 km
See all flights
170Reviews3Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 86
  • 15
  • 16
  • 13
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
cococobb wrote a review Apr 2021
Louisville, Kentucky20 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were unsatisfied with our stay. You have the potential for a good hotel, but you have a way to go. Housekeeping dropped off towels but neglected to make the bed. I expect the room to be serviced when housekeeping enters the room. Construction markings from cutting the quartz were still present. There was also caulk beneath the lavatory faucet (which, eww, especially before I realized it was only caulk and not leftover bodily substance).

The combined bathroom shower door brought water into the water closet after using the shower. Not to mention that use of either facility while in your room was mutually exclusive if you wanted privacy. Which is to say, you can't shut both the both shower and bathroom door at the same time, it's one or the other.

Having been denied a late checkout despite the fact that 10+ rooms were available online, I found the lobby bathroom had not been serviced and that there were no hand towels (after breakfast around 10 and again after vacating the room around 11:30). I’m pregnant and thus frequently visiting the restroom. Two out three visits to this restroom there were no hand towels amidst the covid19 pandemic. Is the hourly restroom cleaning/service a purely aspirational goal?
The outdoor spaces made a lot with a little. Kudos on the use of hedges to create outdoor spaces.

Overall, our experience was not in line with the ratings and reviews we read before booking. We feel that we have been hoodwinked here. When presented with these problems, the hotel offered us a 4 night stay. I declined this offer as I have no desire to a hotel room where bathroom privacy is not a given.

Cody Cobb
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Kompose Hotel is a 3 star accomodation - not a four or five star.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kompose Hotel, General Manager at Kompose Boutique Hotel
Responded Sep 15, 2021
Thank you for your stay with us during our opening times. Please know how much we value and appreciate your feedback. We do hope you change your mind and give Kompose another chance as we have now been open for sometime now and are improving everyday! Little things like late check out, are not necessarily based on occupancy availability, but more on resources and staffing capabilities. Of course not making any excuses, but everyone is jus trying to run a successful business in a post-pandemic world. We are so appreciative of your stay with us and taking the time to leave your thoughts. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Overpacker24 wrote a review Mar 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom332 contributions80 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night in March 2023
Room OK, quite modern which was good
Couldn’t get the bright TV to turn off at bed time, rang reception to ask them to come and help and the guy said he was the only one on shift so he couldn’t leave the desk to come up to the room - not helpful.
Told us to turn the tv off by the circuit breaker which turned off the rest of the electrics in the room.

Be aware - they make you pay $9 a day to have your room cleaned and for fresh towels
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danijelapope wrote a review Feb 2022
Jacksonville, Florida78 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was conveniently located and only one available for the one night we were in Sarasota. The decor of the hotel is contemporary with an industrial feel. cement walls with gold and white. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel does not accept CASH cards only so if you are to purchase water as we did you have to have a card. The room had a severe bleach smell upon our entry, having allergies we had to run water and air at mas for 20 minutes to get it acceptable. In addition the double queen beed room had a sharing door for the shower and toilet, not convenient when you are staying in the room with your teenage daughters and their stepfather. At the price for one night the breakfast was $12/person for a Hilton like buffet....little dissappointed. The service was great and friendly otherwise.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Not for family with teenage children see through shower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelley24 wrote a review Jul 2021
Eden, Utah3 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place had good ratings and was in a pretty good location, so I decided to give it a shot over similar-priced options like The Westin or even The Ritz.

Big mistake. Huuuuge mistake!

First, the rooms. Spartan doesn’t really begin to describe the “style”. A glorified jail cell would be an accurate description. The walls and ceiling are all cinderblock. There are no accoutrements in the room, no coffee maker. You get one roll of toilet paper for your stay. The shower and the toilet are separated by a wall that share a glass sliding door. So you and your cell mate get to see each other poop and shower while you are there. Fun times!

Next, the pool. Whoever designed this hotel didn’t put much forethought in. The pool should’ve been located on the other side of the building. It is completely shaded. So if you’re trying to get some sunshine in Sarasota, just fahgetaboutit here. To top it off, they have a total of roughly eight (8) chairs around the pool. The hotel is quite large with roughly 100 rooms, so this is not ample. Also, did I mention that you have to pay each time you want to go to the pool? Or do anything in the hotel for that matter. Everything is “a la carte” with a fee associated. Breakfast, pool, sauna, coffee maker in room, etc.

Ordered a cappuccino which came out almost entirely as milk. I let them know I was not happy with the drink and they told me “that is how it should be”. No offer to remake, no apologies. Just a shoulder shrug from a masked millennial.

Suddenly, everything began to make sense as I read the mantra placed on the wall at the prison entrance - “Freedom is the new luxury”

After my terrible experience at this “hotel” I suggest a new, more appropriate tag line:

Kompose, the Prison-Like Hotel with Communist Ideals
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kompose Hotel, General Manager at Kompose Boutique Hotel
Responded Sep 15, 2021
Wow this is quite the review....We are sorry to hear that is the view you have taken of our hotel. We do the best we can to satisfy our guests, and of course, we are not everybody's cup of tea. Being that I was the person who you complained about being dissatisfied with your coffee, I can honestly say that both myself, and the employee I was at the front desk with at the time, offered to remake your beverage. I assure you though, no shrugs from any masked millennials. We invite you to come back with an open mind as Kompose is very unique, and see all that we have to offer! We are not a prison, but a growing brand with a loyal clientele for those who appreciate it. Hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PilgrimTom wrote a review May 2021
Plymouth, Massachusetts6 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Never Again!

Due to late booking, our usual Sarasota hotels were unavailable. We booked Kompose online, with some hesitation over the few reviews since its opening. At checkin I objected to an added pre charge of $100 for “damages”, which caused us to photograph the room as a precaution.

The room is a bare bones bunker-style interior with exposed concrete walls and ceiling. The facilities are Euro-Japanese I guess, with a toilet stall, and small adjacent a shower stall. They share a sliding glass door panel, so you do one or the other, but not both at the same time. The small sink was in the open room next to one of the queen beds.

This is apparently someone’s idea of the future of hotels, but count us out.

My Amex bill arrived with the $800 charge for 2 nights, no problem, but there was a mysterious separate $65 charge which I called about. The desk clerk said it was for a missing hair dryer kit, and he dismissed my wife who said she never uses them. It was supposed to hang in a bag by the exposed sink but our Photos (smart us) show 3 big empty designer hooks set in the
concrete.

I texted and email the Kompose with a photo, and demanded a $65 credit. As a 40 year customer of Amex, they’ll handle this, if the hotel doesn’t.

Out of fairness, the beds were good, the outside pool very good and the breakfast buffet enjoyable and “healthy”.

We will book our favorite Sarasota hotels for the opera weekends as we order the tickets, as we never want to deal with Kompose again.

Tom
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erica Murphy, General Manager at Kompose Boutique Hotel
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Thank you for your stay with us and detailed review. To clarify, the $100 at check in is uniform throughout most in not, all hotels. It is an authorization and not a physical "pre charge." This is an incidental authorization and covers any charges made to the guest folio throughout their stay, or like you mentioned, to cover any damages that may occur in the room. If charges are made on the reservation then it is taken from that authorization and the remainder of that is released back to the card provided. If no charges or damages, then the full $100 is released upon check out. I apologize about the inconvenience with the charges in regards to the blow dryer back. We did refund your money as a courtesy even though the pictures you are referring to show a rather used room. They do not show a fresh untouched room and were not taken upon entry as you imply. Thank you for your fairness to our other amenities. We hope the rest of your say was enjoyable.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
McKenna wrote a review Mar 2021
45 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed in a lot of places all over the world, and I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that this airport hotel was above and beyond my expectations, especially for the price point. Where are you going to find an airport hotel room for $100 for the night, that has wood floors in the living area (no gross carpeting), a huge walk in shower with marble walls and high end fixtures, chandeliers throughout, pool, putting green, spa room, sauna, yoga studio, and fitness facility.

The only thing lacking is the fact that they do not have a restaurant or bar, and you cannot buy wine or beer in the little food shop that they have. So this is BYOB. The selections in the food shop are slim to none, there was nothing decent to eat, so be prepared to bring your own food and drinks. (I tried to get an Uber ride for an hour, but was unsuccessful, no available cars).
Also, when I checked in, they told me breakfast was 7 to 10 AM. What they failed to tell me was that it was an additional charge, $12. I don’t know about you, but I’m not going to pay $12 just to have a bagel for breakfast. I did not find this out until I walk downstairs for breakfast at 7 AM. Extremely disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erica Murphy, General Manager at Kompose Boutique Hotel
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Thank you for this great review! We are thrilled to inform you we now have our liquor license and off a great bar in our lobby, in addition to some choices in our Market! Our breakfast buffet offers much more than a bagel and has tons of great options. We have a food vending kiosk that will dispense anything from a hot lava cake, to White Castle sliders. We appreciate your patience during our opening times and we hope to see you back at Kompose again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
philly_suburbs wrote a review Jun 2021
South Jersey164 contributions32 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I understand the bare concrete walls and ceilings is a "style" to someone, but when viewed in person it just looks like a nuclear bomb shelter from the Cold War era. It is so unattractive that we decided to check out a day earlier than planned. I requested a refund for our last day and was informed they have a non-refundable reservation policy, for which I must accept the blame for not reading carefully enough. The desk staff, to their credit, were apologetic but could not give me a refund. The breakfast buffet, at $12 per person, falls in step with the minimalist motif of the hotel. Not terrible, just bare bones and uninspired.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If bare concrete walls and ceilings are not your idea of luxury, go elsewhere.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erica Murphy, General Manager at Kompose Boutique Hotel
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Thank you for your review and stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear you were not satisfied by our ascetics. We do hope the rest of our accommodations were enjoyable!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mikie c wrote a review Jul 2023
Longwood, Florida17 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I felt like a homeless person sleeping under a bridge.

I booked my room through Booking.com and from the pictures online it looked like a trendy, urban, industrial vibe.

I arrived at the hotel late afternoon around 5 on a Monday.

The location is next to the Sarasota airport and gets quite noisy (more about that in a minute)

I was greeted by a staff member and had to go on a hunt to retrieve a luggage carrier to unload my car.

I finally got one and went up to my 4th. floor room
(#432)

When I first entered the room my heart sunk into an "Oh $#@&! Moment

The room in the pictures online doesn't convey how cold, antiseptic and ghastly the rooms are.

The designs have major flaws in a real world situation that I believe will doom this hotel within the next few years in my opinion.

1) the toilet is literally against the hallway wall and 5 feet from the door.You hear the toilets flushing as you walk down hallways.

The cold impersonal concrete is just that. It's not chic or industrial as some people in other reviews want you to believe.

Concrete has no insulation. Every sound is amplified, looking at the ceiling laying in bed gave me the creeps.

The air conditioner used in the room was extremely loud. The person who does their email correspondence tried to say in her response that it's the new thing all the hotels are installing. What she fails to mention is that the other hotels are larger rooms, better insulated and not cheap concrete with no sound barrier.

The shower floor was extremely slippery. I mentioned that in an email to the person mentioned above. She thanked me for bringing it to her attention and said housekeeping would be up to clean the floor.

In 5 days not one person came to clean the slippery floor, empty the trash, make the bed or restock towels .

That is the meaning of the name Kompose

They spin it to mean you get to "Kompose" your experience. My father taught me that it is the same as "nickel and diming"

You pay for everything at this hotel
Rooms clean $9 per day
Breakfast $12
Gym$
Etc etc

So don't be fooled by the low price online. It's a marketing tool.

The same as the 5***** reviews other people may write.

They have a spin the wheel for a prize for a review by the front desk that again in my opinion probably distorts the true rating.

They have strange quotes all over the hotel
I'm Not A Demographic
is one of them to give you an idea.

No Gideon bibles in the rooms as they don't fit the image the hotel wants to convey

The sink is in the middle of the room. Basic task like washing, shaving, brushing teeth are messy and awkward

You can hear every sound from the pool which doesn't close until 9.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Right next to the Sarasota airport Concrete construction with no insulation Toilet is literally...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew M wrote a review Feb 2022
Lymm, United Kingdom496 contributions266 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived in Sarasota late with no accommodation. After a quick Google we found the Kompose. We were greeted by a lovely lady on reception who gave us the heads up on their charges, which increase rapidly based on availability and recommended we use Booking.com to get a cheaper rate. The rate was significantly cheaper which was a nice surprise.

Although very modern and minimalistic with bare concrete walls (the rooms do resemble staying in a multi story car park). It has everything you need. Car parking was plentiful and free of charge. It’s very clean, sells snacks and drinks, provides breakfast (if you are on time) and has a small pool. The lovely lady on night time reception also reminded us breakfast is free of charge if you are a Booking.com genius member.

Unfortunately the quality of the staff on reception in the morning came nowhere near that of the lady on night.

We stayed just the one night. The room was comfortable and quiet. Unfortunately we were 10 mins too late for breakfast and everything including the coffee machine was roped off.

The hotel is next to the airport so provides an excellent stay for a late arrival or early departure. There isn’t much else within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lorisusanne wrote a review Mar 2022
Old Orchard Beach, Maine71 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at Kompose Hotel and had a wonderful experience. We loved the ambiance. Our room was big and equipped with a mini fridge which made it convenient to keep our drinks cold. The design of the room is excellent with the sliding door between the toilet and the shower. The minimalist style was perfect with the open shelving units. The bed was so comfortable. And the flat screen TV was nice. I liked having all the lighting options as well. This hotel served our needs perfectly during our three night stay. I highly recommend Kompose Hotel for anyone staying in the Sarasota area. We’d definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sarasota area.
PRICE RANGE
C$99 - C$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastSarasota
NUMBER OF ROOMS
136
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Kompose Boutique Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Kompose Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kompose Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Ringling (1.0 km), Asolo Repertory Theatre (0.7 km), and Sarasota Classic Car Museum (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kompose Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Kompose Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Kompose Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kompose Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunnyside Cafe, The Ringling Grillroom, and Rico's Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kompose Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Kompose Boutique Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Kompose Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ca d'Zan (1.4 km), The Powel Crosley Estate (1.8 km), and Burns Court Neighborhood (5.6 km).
Is Kompose Boutique Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sarasota HotelsSarasota Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SarasotaHotels near Kompose Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars