Lantern Inn & Suites

Lantern Inn & Suites

Traveller (125)
Double Room
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#23 of 57 hotels in Sarasota
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Newly renovated hotel located near beaches, shopping and dining - Spacious rooms with micro/fridge or efficiencies with mini kitchens - Tropical courtyard and swimming pool - Warm hospitality and great service -
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi

Location

7251 N Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34243
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Bradenton Airport
St. Petersburg Intl Airport
57.2 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles242 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Lantern Inn & Suites earns rave reviews for its prime location, a stone's throw from picturesque beaches and buzzing restaurants, making it a favorite for guests eager to explore Sarasota. The hotel's renovated rooms and amenities, such as the heated pool and tiki bar, are popular among travelers, offering a comfortable stay with modern comforts. Guests have called out the hotel's value, commending its cleanliness and recent updates, though there are mentions of occasional unexpected charges. The friendly and attentive staff contribute to an inviting atmosphere that many find enhances their experience.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Affordable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
242Reviews9Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 145
  • 40
  • 31
  • 12
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
maizedaisy wrote a review Mar 2023
Ambleside, United Kingdom864 contributions187 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First class visit in every way. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, nice pool and outside area. Mentioned husband had mobility problems and we had very easy access ground floor room. Had old coffee maker with decaf coffee mentioned to the really wonderful! Reception staff I was missing my caffeine. Went out for the day and came back to a brand new Keurig coffee machine with more coffee pods than even I could use. Everything was above and beyond expectation so we booked extra days. As we had been travelling a while it was great to have an guest laundry. Reception supplied washing pods $1 and rolls of coins for machines which were really quick. We never used the tiki bar but did enjoy sitting reading in the rest of the outside area. The thing that really made this hotel stand out? They were refurbishing the room next door builders working all day. Owner enquired when we got up as didn’t want to disturb us. I pointed out when we arrived we couldn’t hear a thing so marvellous sound proofing. The cleaners were also extremely pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Back of hotel is quiet. Some good discount coupons at front desk for local attractions. Laundry...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim Gill, General Manager at Lantern Inn & Suites
Responded Jul 7, 2023
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're delighted to hear that you had a first-class visit at our hotel. It's great to know that you found the accommodations clean, comfortable, and enjoyed our friendly staff. We're glad that we could accommodate your husband's mobility needs with an easy-access ground floor room. It's fantastic to hear that our reception staff went above and beyond to provide you with a new Keurig coffee machine and extra coffee pods. We're also pleased that our guest laundry facility was convenient for you, and our outdoor area was enjoyable for reading and relaxation. Thank you for highlighting the excellent soundproofing in our rooms, as well as the pleasantness of our cleaners. We truly appreciate your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Thank you for choosing our hotel!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick G wrote a review May 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved the beautifully remodeled/modernized rooms. Comfortable bed, amazing pillows, and a Keurig in the room. We chose a room with the walk in shower stall , and the bathroom was spacious enough for both of us at the sink.

The pool was nice and not too busy. The location was ideal and nothing we wanted to do was more than 15 or 20 minutes away (Downtown, St. Armands). Ringling museum only about 5 minutes south of the hotel.
The staff were extremely nice and professional. The lobby was very modern and spa like, just not immediately visible when you pull up as it his obscured by the outdoor tiki bar.
I'd come back again for the modern rooms, great rates and wonderful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
ctwhisper wrote a review Jan 2023
suffield127 contributions34 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this hotel for a quick overnight stay. The price was reasonable compared to other hotels in close proximity. We normally stay at a bit nicer hotel but took a chance on this one based on the many great reviews.

Pros
Extremely nice check in staff
Convenient to airport and highway
Nice heated pool
Cute tiki bar area
Room was clean and newly painted spacious
Bathroom was clean although tub was old
Bed comfort was ok
Couch in room
Small kitchenette for longer stays
Elevator available
Free parking

Cons
Room has old carpet smells musty
Tub is old and worn
Furniture is worn and tired
Noisy street and planes
Humidifier in room was full and noisy

The musty smell would prohibit me from staying here again. They started updates they may want to consider removing the carpet next. Otherwise it wasn’t bad for a quick stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim Gill, General Manager at Lantern Inn & Suites
Responded Jul 7, 2023
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We appreciate your positive comments about our friendly check-in staff, convenient location, nice heated pool, and the amenities available in the room. We apologize for the issues you encountered, including the musty smell in the room, worn furniture, and the noise from the street and planes. We will take your suggestions into consideration, including the possibility of removing the carpet to address the musty smell. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the noisy humidifier. We appreciate your understanding and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as we continue to make improvements. Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda C wrote a review Feb 2022
Ithaca, New York75 contributions39 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed just one night at this hotel, but was nicely surprised at my room. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the room had a kitchenette (didn't use), but it's nice that it's there! The outdoor "Tiki Bar" looks nice (with beautiful outdoor lights), the grounds are pretty. HOWEVER, when I checked in, I was asked who else was in my room (or something to that effect) ~ I was traveling alone and felt uncomfortable telling the receptionist that, because there was a man hanging around the lobby. I think that in situations like this, they should be prepared to hand me a note asking that question, so I'm not put in a situation where I felt un-safe.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: ask for a room with a pool view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret L wrote a review Feb 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Lantern Inn and Suites for two nights. The price was reasonable, and it is close to the airport The room was spotless, the mattress was incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was well stocked with towels. There was a coffeemaker, microwave and small refrigerator. We were on the third floor which was great. The pool is clean and clear, with lots of comfortable seating. The Tiki bar has reasonably priced drinks and a great selection. The bartender, Star, was awesome. All of the staff, from the housekeeping, front desk to the owner were so nice and helpful. The mattress was so comfortable I asked what the brand was, and the owner gladly shared the information. I will definitely stay here again!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim Gill, General Manager at Lantern Inn & Suites
Responded Jul 7, 2023
Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay at the Lantern Inn and Suites. It's great that you found the price reasonable and appreciated the hotel's proximity to the airport. We're delighted that the room was spotless and the mattress incredibly comfortable, providing a restful sleep. We're glad that the bathroom was well stocked with towels and that the room had convenient amenities such as a coffeemaker, microwave, and refrigerator. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the third-floor location, providing a great experience. We're pleased that the pool was clean and clear, with comfortable seating, and that the Tiki bar offered reasonably priced drinks and a great selection. We appreciate your kind words about the bartender and the entire staff, as their friendliness and helpfulness are important to us. We're glad you inquired about the mattress brand and that the owner willingly shared the information. Thank you for your kind recommendation, and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Timothy G wrote a review Mar 2024
East Liverpool, Ohio2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfy beds and pillows, nice outside tiki bar, hotel was very clean. The only downfall is I paid for the room through Expedia in full but my credit card was charged a $200 dollar deposit that I was told takes 3 to 5 days to be refunded. It should be refunded as soon as they see the room was ok and that I had no other charges to the room
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Return of the deposit charged against your credit card immediately upon checking out after they...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim Gill, General Manager at Lantern Inn & Suites
Responded May 1, 2024
We're glad to hear that you found our beds and pillows comfortable and enjoyed our outside tiki bar. Ensuring a clean environment for our guests is a top priority, so we're pleased that you found the hotel very clean. Regarding the deposit, we understand your concerns and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We'll review our policies and procedures to see if there's room for improvement in terms of refund processing times. Your feedback is appreciated, and we'll strive to ensure a smoother experience for our guests in the future. If you have any further questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out. We appreciate your understanding and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alicia L wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice hotel, close to many restaurants and stores if needing anything. Close to the Sarasota airport which is convenient! Although some things may appear worn and run down they are working on renovating it appeared. Our check in was very good, the front staff was very nice and helpful, I was always greeted with a smile when walking in to use their complimentary coffee bar.
Our room was updated seemed like newly renovated, the bed was really comfortable and the pillows were good quality. It was nice having a fridge and microwave especially since they don’t offer continental breakfast. We got some food items to make in the mornings. the only thing was a slight odor upon walking in, couldn’t tell of what but nothing really offensive.
What I really liked is I received a text asking how everything was going the second day we were there, and asking if we needed anything.
They have a full laundry room if needing a quick wash. The pool outside appeared nice, they had a fun outdoor tiki bar for entertainment. All in all we were very happy with our stay and would choose to stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t judge a book by its cover on this place!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nnavarro wrote a review Mar 2021
New York City, New York13 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Lantern Inn & Suites, in Sarasota-Bradenton, FL, March 26th, to the 28th. The condition of our room was dirty. The bathroom was not properly cleaned, the floors were filthy and the sofa smelled of urine. And as a warning to anyone traveling to the West Coast of Florida, NO ONE WEARS A MASK! Not the receptionist at our hotel, the bartenders at the Tiki Bar, at the Lantern Inn. Not any of the cashiers at any adjacent businesses.
No one!
On Saturday, we asked for our room to be serviced. The attendant asked, "What do ya want?": We thought hotel rooms are serviced on a daily basis, yes...no?
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel. It's awful! No regard for the world wide pandemic, or cleanliness!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
monica l wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is a hidden gem. New updated rooms, tile floors, security cameras, comfy beds, huge TV, updated bathrooms and the couches are absolutely amazing! They even supply shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in dispensers in the shower!!Thank you for a wonderful stay! We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
C0l0traveller wrote a review Mar 2021
Denver, Colorado49 contributions44 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2021. As others have said, the renovated room was clean and very nice, good amount of space, good lighting, ok furniture., good wifi. But the exteriors and elevators are very shabby, we were asked to approve a $150 damage deposit, never been asked for that for a motel room, (though it looks like they never charged our card). told a list of rules, made us wonder about our fellow guests. There was lots of movement on the floor about us after midnight, hard to sleep. Poor location,near airport, 5 miles from Sarasota downtown, no restaurants close by except diner across the street. We were grateful for the diner, as there's no breakfast as advertised, which was probably best due to covid, but they should update their profile on booking sites.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Rose W
Hales Corners, Wisconsin73 contributions27 helpful votes
Definitely still under construction. Don’t understand the four star rating. However, Room on second floor remodeled & very clean. Bathroom immaculate. Building not attractive.
Answer from Rose W
Hales Corners, Wisconsin73 contributions27 helpful votes
I would say yes. First floor rooms totally torn up.
Answer from David M
Brandon, FL303 contributions133 helpful votes
I am not sure. My wife and I were not bothered by the renovations, at all.
Answer from baadgill
Pleasanton, California31 contributions21 helpful votes
Hi Lori, We do have a tiki bar by the pool and beaches are 15-20 minutes. Unfortunately, we no longer allow pets in our rooms. That being said they are welcome at the tiki bar. Sincerely, Jim Gill
Pat Y asked a question Oct 2016
Bel Air, Maryland54 contributions41 helpful votes
Have the renovations been completed or will it still be a construction site in March?
Answer from jimg2352
Sarasota, Florida1 contribution
Dear Pat, We should have everything completed no later than 15th of January. Sincerely, Jim Gill
Robyn Lamey wrote a tip Jun 14
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just food"
Read full review
Bob B wrote a tip Jun 6
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"So much to do and see all very close to the location of this motel"
Read full review
Charith G wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s next to the airport so it can be loud by the pool but it didn’t disturb us in our rooms. We had a fabulous stay! "
Read full review
Holly F wrote a tip May 2024
Titusville, Florida1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We enjoyed our stay very much "
Read full review
Alicia L wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t judge a book by its cover on this place!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sarasota area.
PRICE RANGE
C$122 - C$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sarasota hotel sarasota, suburban extended stay sarasota, sarasota extended stay, extended stay sarasota
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Suburban Extended Stay Sarasota
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastSarasota
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Lantern Inn & Suites - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Lantern Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Lantern Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Cirque Italia (0.4 km), Allegro Academy of Music, Etiquette and Dance (0.4 km), and A&F Pawn Jewelry and Loon (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lantern Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Lantern Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Lantern Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lantern Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gentile's Authentic Cheesesteaks, Vertoris Pizza House, and Anna Maria Oyster Bar - Landside.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lantern Inn & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lantern Inn & Suites?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lantern Inn & Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Lantern Inn & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ca d'Zan (3.4 km) and The Powel Crosley Estate (2.5 km).
Is Lantern Inn & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sarasota HotelsSarasota Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SarasotaHotels near Lantern Inn & Suites
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars