We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4675 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-3895
E-mail hotel
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-04
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$135
View deal
Agoda.com
US$118
View deal
Hotels.comUS$151
TravelocityUS$151
PricelineUS$151
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (186)
Room & Suite (27)
Pool & Beach (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 61 hotels in Sarasota
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Newly Renovated (estimated completion March 2021)! Covid-19 update: Enjoy luxury safely, our rooms open towards the parking lot. This means no closed off hallways, no tight spaces for you to squeeze into with other guests. We have an open resort with a lot of courtyard space. All exterior furniture has been spaced out to keep us all safe. Guest rooms are only rented after a thorough disinfection. We also make every effort to space guests out if you prefer avoid contact. Enjoy our newly renovated property with Midcentury Modern décor. We have made every effort for you to enjoy 5 star amenities and quality at a more competitive price! We have one of the best locations, you will be close to beaches, restaurants, downtown, museums, and the galleries. Our resort offers: large 50' long heated pool, food & drinks at the Bahi Hut (oldest Tiki Bar in Florida), event planning, outdoor meeting space, and plenty of guest services (we'll help you order food, plan your day, find great spots to fish, anything you ask). Above all our property and staff are all here to make your visit to Sarasota memorable. We'll go above and beyond to make sure you want to come back to us. Tell us how we can be your favorite Resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Boating
Evening entertainment
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Vending machine
Patio
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi, Italian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct (support small business) & Enjoy A Free Mai Tai on us!
288Reviews7Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 255
  • 14
  • 8
  • 4
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bill P wrote a review Today
1 contribution
Close to all Sarasota attractions and restaurants. Very reasonably priced.Pool and surroundings a nice plus. Front staff very accommodating . Room facing pool was the right size and beds were very comfortable. Easy in and out parking. A gem from Florida past.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Request room with patio to pool .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Susan wrote a review Jan. 1
4 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I have been in the customer service industry for over 20 years - the General Manager Chet Culmer exceeded our expectations! We live on the east side of Florida and visited Sarasota for the first time. The Goldenhost Resort is the perfect location! Since we are not familiar with the area, we asked Chet for recommendations for dinner and breakfast. Both places were excellent! We are so grateful for his expertise!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Timothy Ramirez, Other at Golden Host Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Susan! We're so glad you had an awesome experience. We strive to provide an excellent customer experience shown through our customers' feedback and we truly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon and still experience the perfect one we aim for. Mahalo, Tim
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Armando B wrote a review Jan. 22
Frederick, Maryland1 contribution
Nice hotel for family or cuples, the attention was amazing and friendly. Especially “Chef” front desk staff. Nice facilities and very clean rooms, nice colors and retro style. I am 100% sure that I will come soon. The pool area is very safe area for the kids, new chairs and bar. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you reset on line is better and faster
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Timothy Ramirez, Other at Golden Host Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha Armando! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to provide an authentic Tiki Bar experience and we thank you for your feedback. We hope you'll visit us again soon. Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RickLester wrote a review Jan. 21
Rancho Viejo, Texas54 contributions31 helpful votes
I stayed for one night and really enjoyed. Very laid back and nostalgic. Tiki hut was unique. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Quite, clean, safe and easy access to airport. Will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: view facing pool area
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Timothy Ramirez, Other at Golden Host Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Aloha Rick! Thank you for providing a perfect rating. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll visit us again soon. Mahalo, Tim
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PowerTrippers wrote a review Jan. 18
Cocoa Beach, Florida1224 contributions9447 helpful votes
Overall good experience. Wonderful check-in experience, nice room, nice grounds. We really enjoyed the retro, mid-century modern furniture and appliances. The only thing that reduced it to four stars was the off-putting “welcome” text. We booked the hotel via a third party and never would have even known about this place otherwise. The ad with the third-party specifically notes that one of the amenities of our booking was supposed to include a free drink each. However, after booking we received a “welcome” text essentially chastising us for booking via a third party and notifying us that since we didn’t book with them directly we would not be getting the free drinks that were part of what we paid for. The free drinks in and of themselves weren’t a big deal. However, the fact the drinks were advertised on the third party site, and then we were “welcomed” with that sort of text was off-putting. It just didn’t make a good first impression. Regardless, the place overall was nice, well-priced and comfortable. They just need to work on their “welcome” messages. - The PowerTrippers
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Timothy Ramirez, Other at Golden Host Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you had a nice stay. I'd like to apologize for your experience with the welcome SMS. We took note of this and will address this with our team. I hope you'd visit us again so we can provide a better experience. Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
snowwintersun wrote a review Jan. 17
Grand Rapids, Michigan5 contributions1 helpful vote
The lady who checked us in on Sunday 1/5 and worked Monday16 /Tuesday 1/17 was very accommodating. Unfortunately, I never got her name. The Tiki bar was packed and was a lot of fun. Our room was good except room 104 the bathroom door needs WD 40. In addition, the back of the entry door was warped and needed painting. Otherwise, the room was clean and suitable. They did forgot to come in on Monday to tidy up the room and give us new towels. We were able get new towels from the office. Overall a good experience. This was the first time we stayed at a non chain hotel/motel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Not really. Very quiet and pretty packed all the nights we stayed.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Timothy Ramirez, Other at Golden Host Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha! We're glad you had a pleasant experience. We took note of your feedback regarding the door and will check some training opportunities to make your next stay better. Hope you'll visit us again. Mahalo, Tim
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean Kane wrote a review Jan. 14
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Chet was great and really helped us out. He was accommodating and helped resolve all of our issues. Chet showed empathy and compassion which we are grateful for. We would definitely stay here again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Timothy Ramirez, Other at Golden Host Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Sean! We're glad you had an awesome experience. We hope you'll visit us again soon. Mahalo, Timothy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Blake J wrote a review Jan. 11
Morristown, Tennessee2 contributions
Loved the simplicity of everything! Checkin and check out was very simple and having the tiki bar next door with drag bingo on sundays was a great time! Everything was newly renovated and kept clean. I have nothing negative to say. The location was convenient as well
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Timothy Ramirez, Other at Golden Host Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Blake! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again. Mahalo, Tim
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kari G wrote a review Jan. 4
Orlando, Florida1 helpful vote
The most terrifying experience of my life! We were walking back from the Tiki Bar and our neighbor was out front smoking weed and pulled a gun on my boyfriend and I. The “manager” Gabby could have carried less! We felt so unsafe we couldn’t spend the night. I was told I would be contacted by a manager and that was 4 days ago and no word. The worst experience of my life!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: For your safety and piece of mind stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GH FD, Owner at Golden Host Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Kari, Thank you for your rating and review. We are sorry that you did not have the best Tiki-tastic! experience as our other guests did. You and your party were intoxicated, we followed our policy and removed you and your party from the bar after compensating your bar tab. Our team escorted you to your room and documented with our surveillance for future reference, showing that we returned you and your party safely to your room. Your behavior towards our team and our guests was very inappropriate. We are very sorry to our other guests which had a great experienced bear witness and also experienced your and your parties poor intoxicated behavior. Feel free to contact us the next time you visit Sarasota, so we can recommend a motel that is better suited for you and your party. -Gabriela Rodriguez Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
newbie121 wrote a review Jan. 1
My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for a last minute new years getaway. The price was great and the reviews were great. It has that old Florida charm and the tiki bar on-site had live music and great people. Chet, the front desk person, was amazing! He went above and beyond to make sure we were enjoying our stay, and every time we saw him he was helping out a different area of the resort! He is the best hotel staff member I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with! We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Timothy Ramirez, Other at Golden Host Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha! We're glad to be part of your New Year's getaway! Awesome to hear you enjoyed our Tiki bar - one of the oldest in the country. We'll surely provide a perfect experience again once you come back. Hope to see you soon! Mahalo, Timothy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$131 - US$279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden host hotel sarasota, golden host sarasota
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastSarasota
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Golden Host Resort - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Sarasota, Florida) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Host Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Host Resort?
Nearby attractions include The Ringling (1.2 km), Legacy Trail (0.9 km), and Asolo Repertory Theatre (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Host Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Golden Host Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Golden Host Resort?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, barbeque facilities, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Golden Host Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Host Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunnyside Cafe, Yummy House Sarasota, and Kasa Sushi Japanese Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golden Host Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Golden Host Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Golden Host Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ca d'Zan (1.2 km), The Powel Crosley Estate (2.2 km), and Burns Court Neighborhood (4.7 km).