We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,085: English reviews
DeBary, Florida, United States
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

If you plan on literally ever being in your room, it's a great hotel. Our bathroom was one of the most disgusting places I've ever experienced. Wallpaper peeling and molding, questionable stains on walls and tile grout, and towels that are probably 20 years old. The smell of mold hits you instantly when you walk in, probably from the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becka W
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Please feel free to reach out to me as I would like to discuss your comments in more detail. We want every guest to be happy with their room and work diligently to find the right fit. We offer over 7 different room types and want you to leave with a different memory of Sandcastle. Tim H.

Holiday, Florida
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This place was a perfect location! It was beautiful and right on the Gulf. The view was perfect from the court yard. The room was spotless and the staff was very friendly! The only thing missing was a microwave. It did have a fridge but upon check out was told you have to ask for the microwave. As a Floridian...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nitensatin
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have several items that are included in the resort fee such as shuttle service to and from St. Armands Circle, 3 hr. Bike loan, as much water as you desire, Movies on Saturday Night, (weather permitting) Umbrella's for the beach, and much more. I apologize if that was not explained properly. We appreciate your...

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This is an older hotel right on the beach. The beach is beautiful. You can walk long distances and look for a variety of seashells. The staff all showed top rate customer service skills. The onsite restaurant offered a nice breakfast. Access to lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas on the beach was a cinch to arrange. My only disappointment was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PNW2011
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We offer a great view for a very affordable price, and my staff stand ready to assist you in any way. We take pride in the level of customer service we provide. Thank you for the mention. Tim H.

Storrs, CT
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We only stayed at this hotel for one night. Upon arriving, we were greeted by Guest Services Staff, Ty Varsalona. Personable, friendly... He made us feel very welcomed and upgraded our room to an ocean view without us even asking! He made us feel extra special from the moment we walked and and made himself available for any questions during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CountryTravelers111
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Sandcastle. What we can control we are all over. I am delighted to read that our entire staff made you feel welcome and comfortable. Please keep us in mind if ever traveling to Lido Beach in the future. Tim H

Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

First impressions was really good, breakfast was just not up to standard. The guy who surved us was all over the place, my mum asked him for cup, milk and surgar as never got it with the pot of tea never got it waited then asked again she got the cup no milk and surgar then asked for milk and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and I was happy to read that overall I think you enjoyed your stay. Thank you Tim H

Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Wow...This place is exceptional in all aspects. The staff was incredible....Ty, Nancy, Carolyn, J.R...I could go on and on. The entire resort staff were just incredible. We came from Delray Beach to escape hurricane Mathew. From the moment we arrived and met Ty at the desk we knew we were in the right place. Our luggage was handled by J.R....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ivey L
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you witnessed, we are ready to serve you whether you are here for pleasure, or safety from our Hurricane season. I am pleased that we were able to provide a comfortable place to wait out the storms path. I am also glad our east coast was spared from the brunt impact of this storm....

Poinciana, Florida
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This hotel/resort is an older hotel, but it is kept in very good shape. Our room was dated, but everything was clean and pleasant. Our room looked right on the water, and we enjoyed a great sunset just by sitting in the chairs outside our room. The staff seemed to go out of their way to make sure we enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank D
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

We cant wait to see you back! Thank you for such a wonderful review that says it correctly. Our rooms are older but spotless. Our staff are eager to help without being overbearing. Our location cannot be beat at any rate! We appreciate your business and will give you the same service when you return. Thank you! Tim H.

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Just returned home after 2nd time there and we love it!! Tremendous location on the Gulf of Mexico with very friendly, outgoing and top of the line staff. Starting with check-in(Victoria), Bartenders(Rachael & Missy), and entertainment staff(Ayla, Danny, Ashley)This place is clean and people-friendly. It is reasonably priced and has a daily happy hour. Service is top notch. Each time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Y
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued support! We look forward to your 3rd visit!! Tim H

Lake Panasofsaee
Reviewed 22 September 2016

This place is nice and friendly. for kids and adults. It is cheap and has a great happy hour. Service is top notch. Rachel and Less are the best. Every time we go there we are treated great . A must see and go.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee R
Jacksonville, United States
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Let me start by mentioning I am a local resident and have stayed at the Harley Sandcastle at least twice a year over the past six years. My family used to take staycations at this hotel so we could stay on the beach. I typically don't write reviews but after our last stay where we stayed for two nights and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Greg B
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Please feel free to contact me directly at the property to discuss. We strive to put all of our guest 1st and based on your comments, we failed to deliver in your stay. Please either call or stop by as you live locally Tim H

662 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (638)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (146)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (117)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (187)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.8 km away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 47 in Sarasota
856 reviews
7.2 km away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 47 in Sarasota
1,762 reviews
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
6.8 km away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Price Range: $240 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles CharlesR510, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for an upper room with a ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles bryancrawford54, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor rooms could be better as ground floor rooms can be noisy from people above”
 of 5 bubbles RobinS17, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Definitely ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Panach6858, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The court yard view was perfect for when you came out of your room you could see the Gulf. Beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles nitensatin, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay