Tahitian Inn Hotel

Tahitian Inn Hotel

Schwimmingpool -Tahitian Inn
Traveller (408)
Panorama at the Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
360
Panoramas (34)
great room
Room & Suite (313)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#130 of 170 hotels in Tampa
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Tahitian Inn Hotel is a gem located in the heart of South Tampa. Only minutes from downtown, Raymond James Stadium (home of the world champion Tampa Bay Bucs), Tampa International Airport, the legendary Bern's Steakhouse, the SOHO area, University of Tampa, MacDill Air Force Base, LA Fitness Signature Club, shopping and dining, the Tahitian Inn is in the perfect location. Rooms are interior Executive or exterior Cabana rooms, all have tile floors, microwave, mini-fridge, free wifi, free parking, plus jetted tub and balcony upon request. Transportation can be arranged at a moment's notice with complimentary onsite parking available 24-7.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Tile / marble floor
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

601 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609-3948
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 55 out of 100
55
Tampa Intl Airport
St. Petersburg Intl Airport
17.6 km
See all flights
699Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 164
  • 180
  • 130
  • 108
  • 117
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steven A wrote a review Jan 2020
Montreal, Canada48 contributions20 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The whole place is old and looks nothing like the pictures. We said it was just for one night before the cruise so we will stay. we had asked for two foldable playparks for the twins, we opened them up and bugs just came out of it everywhere, this is just nasty, i immediately threw them out of the room and killed the bugs, i brought them back to the front desk and told them. we ended up combing the two beds together against a wall and the five of us slept on the beds. the beds and pillows were not comfortable at all, the sheets had stains, there was still garbage on the floor from previous guests.

the next morning the gentlemen at the front told me he heard about last night and said the he knew i will be returning after the cruise and will upgrade me to the sweet in the main building on the second floor, he was very kind and understanding and did this without me asking for anything. after our cruise the sweet was still kind of dirty but again it was just for a night and they had gotten us some clean foldable beds for the twins. Upon checkout he appologized again, he really took care of us and did a great job. Also want to thank the shuttle driver.

this hotel has nice staff but needs some work.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidCollinsOliver wrote a review Aug 2021
100 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't you just love that nostalgic 1940s throwback era. We decided to book one night at the Tahitian inn because I had memories from when I was in my 20s and 30s going to the Tahitian inn for brunch on Sundays. When I would go to the Tahitian inn it was like going to the jungle with the expectation of seeing Tarzan and the monkeys. We arrived at the Tahitian inn in Tampa Florida with much Hi expectation because of the art deco and 1920s and 30s decor unfortunately we assume realized that the hotel was not as well kept as it used to be. Un arrival into the parking lot we unpacked our car and entered our room I soon discovered that the door lock inside the hotel was broken with one screw missing. As we continue to unpack I noticed two q-tips and a sock on the floor indicating that the cleaning wasn't really well done. I continue to go into the bathroom and notice signs of disrepair including a light bulb that kept flashing on and off and a light fixture in the main bedroom that wasn't fully affixed to the wall and you could see the wires exposed. I could appreciate the challenges of owning a business however we were charged with a $50 dog fee for two dogs where the total bill of $186 for one night. I stayed at many hotels and this was more than some of the other hotels that have stayed at and it was definitely not very well maintained. My recommendation that if you're going to Tampa Bay I would avoid staying at the Tahitian inn unless you don't mind paying a little bit extra for one night stay and if you do not mind the lack of cleanliness and if you do not mind some of the rooms just not being well taken care of. Hopefully the hotel will make some changes and improve on its decor and quality and cleanliness but I definitely do not feel the room for very clean.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you want to stay here, bring cleaning supplies. however you can walk to some really beautiful...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kathleenrp wrote a review Apr 2024
Halifax, Canada7 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked thro Air Canada Vacations and stayed a week. After reading the reviews we were a bit worried. it was way better than the reviews here. First the bad stuff- the photos on website are old, there has not been a Tiki bar for over 2 years, it says heated pool, they mean heated only by the sun. We stayed a week in room 145, a drive up, we could park right at our door. Now the inn is old , over 70 years old but our room was fine. Clean, quiet, we felt safe there. NO BUGS believe me I looked. We had two comfortable queen beds, a small frig and microwave. The bathrooms have been redone, no tub but a nice shower. On one side is a huge Lutheran church and parking lot, on the other side a Chick a fila and Burger King. We met 2 front desk staff, both men, both nice and professional. When we checked in we could not get the tv working, the front desk fellow came right down and showed us what to do. All the staff around were friendly- the maids, the maintenance guys. Close to airport and central for us. They said they'd clean the room every 3 days and just ask for towels, no problem getting more clean towels. The in house restaurant Pach's place is open for breakfast and lunch. Lots of locals there which was a good sign. Yummy food, good prices. Yes you can sit outside by a Koi fish pond if you wish. The inn is dog friendly, we saw 2 in the week we were there, no barking issues. the pool is not heated but I'm from Canada so I swam in it, nice lounge chairs by it. In all Tahitian Inn was way better than I expected , had a relaxing week in Tampa, would stay there again. Yes they did put a hold of $100 on room in case we wrecked anything, they removed it no problem after we checked out.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It's old and a bit run down but we stayed a week and it was quiet, clean, we felt safe, liked the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jamie W wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Seriously- do NOT trust the pictures. We changed rooms due to a bug, visible grime in the shower that we could wipe away with a finger swipe, and odor. The tub floor was filthy. It was just generally very obviously unclean. They cited a chang in housekeeping. Zach was fantastic about getting us a different room but it was still a tragedy. The tub had a steady flow of running water- not dripping but a measurable amount of water. It has small pieces of toilet paper stuck on the bathroom wall. Very old and abused furniture. Our feet were black after walking barefoot! They also tried to claim we hadn’t paid yet, which we had the night we checked in and was proved by showing my bank account. They did give us $25 off, but just don’t do it. There is a pool with a bar, but that means that there are people loudly partying and there are people that live in the hotel and have no regard for sleeping people. Spend the extra money and get a better place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris W wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My first review in over 40 years of travelling all over the world. I understand that this property isnt a high star rating and expected limited service but this was not acceptable. The room we were assigned did not look like anything in the photos, it was old, tired looking, had a bed which we saw being removed the day we left and replaced so clearly it was old. The toilet ran constantly and the shower had more than a constant drip all day and night. The maintenance tried to help but said the place needed major renos and parts would take long. The girl at the front desk said "yeah we are going to renovate soon" and offered no solution. The housekeeping staff do not look at you, smile or speak any English which is fine but could learn basic words like towel, soap, garbage. The front desk needs to learn how to be hospitable (except the young lady with short hair was decent). We asked to stay an extra hour on check out till 12 and they wanted $50. In all the high end hotels and condos around the world, never not been given an hour grace. We sat in the pool area and nobody touched our room to clean for over 2 hours so they could have let us stay. DO not take the photos as real, there are no nice curtains or cabana around the pool or nice furniture, there are no staff at bar and just an empty run down location. No phones in the room so if you want housekeeping you have to call or go to front desk. The girl at desk with long dark hair saw me asking for a pool towel and practically removed it from my hand since I did not have a room but then said you can use and if you dont bring to desk we will charge you. THe towels were old and left sitting around pool so not sure why she was so concerned as to me now stealing it. At the pool there is no bin for trash or dirty towels so people just left them everywhere. the main floor is noisey with cars, people and they roll their carts early in the morning so dont expect a good night rest. They did store our luggage if you want to add that to the limited service. Contacted the hotel as what we paid which is the highest rate I have ever paid for a hotel of this low rating and they offered no compensation not even a free breakfast for the room we had. Again, pictures are well done, it is not what you get in all rooms or pool and surrounding areas and the service is poor. Not sure who manages it but they are charging a lot and doing little to upgrade.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This hotel has limited service and many areas need renovation. Do not trust photos.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Tahitian Inn Hotel
Responded Apr 24, 2023
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are sorry you did not find the Inn to your liking. We do have many types of rooms and the main tower is certainly different from the exterior corridor that you booked. During a busy weekend like you encountered during a special event weekend, things can surely get hectic for everyone at the property. As the new owners of the property, we are definitely looking forward to the renovations. As with most things in this era, it takes time to design and deliver the finished project. Thank you again for sharing. It was our pleasure to serve you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johnpaul Fabiani wrote a review Feb 2022
North Miami Beach, Florida15 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked through Cheapoair, over $140 a night plus plus (stay for 3 nights originally), we got there at around 8pm which was a big mistake because we didn't see out side how bad it was, we ended up going to our room, left everything in there and my wife noticed the adjoining room door was not closed it could easily be opened from the other side so we moved the mini fridge to block it, I noticed the filter in the A/C was black and the A/C itself was rusted and falling apart, the room had been remodeled but the furniture looked like bought in Goodwill. So we said, whatever. We left for a walk and noticed that there were people in their cars smoking weed, some even in their rooms. We noticed no security anywhere. so we where tired and went back to the room and got in bed.
My wife and I didn't like the area and we didn't feel safe so While I walked to the Reception, she calls me in panic, she found 5, yes 5 cockroaches inside the bed sheets, and yes they were alive.
So, I ended up showing the videos she sent me to the Night auditor, a really nice man named Jorge. Cheapoair took 30 minutes to answer my call and then rudely told me they couldn't help me that the hotel had to change the dates and cancel and then they'll refund me, Jorge talked to them directly while I had them on speaker and told them that was the first time he heard that in so many years as a Night Auditor. He offered us another room, this we inspected the bed to make sure that we had no more unexpected visitors but the place was filthy, outdated and musty. Finally we decided to sleep in our vehicle, next day I called Cheapoair and I got the same rude, unprofessional guy, telling me all this excuses, finally after a long argument the hotel and Cheapoair decide to refund me the two nights but won't give me a credit for the first night's cockroaches and want to charge cancellation fee. This is absolutely the worst place I have been to and the worst treatment to a guest that has the videos and pictures of what they found in their room.
We will not come back to that place and we suggest that even if you're desperate do not book that hotel, better do a motel somewhere near the highway.

I don't understand how the Department of Health and City Inspectors keep this place open.
is Disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: do not book this hotel, overpriced, dirty and unsafe.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie wrote a review Feb 2023
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi We usually love staying here bc it's close to friends and family that we come to Tampa to visit. But on this trip, the office manager was absolutely deplorable. She said she had been trying to contact our room since 8:00 this morning because we owed $14. They had charged our credit card this morning so many times that the credit card froze. My husband had gone to the front desk to ask for a late check out because we didn't have a phone in our room to contact them. She told him once he paid his $14 fee, he could have a late check out and then once he paid she told him no he couldn't check out late. Good thing we were not planning on staying an extra night. This hotel is like a cheap old musty $50 hotel along a major highway. There's nothing boutique about it. The only positive addition this trip was the fact that Patches Restaurant has relocated to here. As well, you always have to fight with the front desk when it comes to any kind of internet deals that you get, the standard rooms aren't worth more than $100-115, but if you call the front desk to book directly, they never can do better than some outrageous rate like $150. They scarf at you if you book through a third party. Just ridiculous and such a shame... This place could be such a nice place at a great rate.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Tahitian Inn Hotel
Responded Mar 2, 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry that you encountered any issues while at the property. We are currently starting the renovation process of the hotel and exciting things are on the horizon. Thank you for allowing us to serve you during your visit to Tampa.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim J wrote a review Feb 2020
17 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel leaves a lot to be desired. The hotel is very worn and outdated. Our room had a broken toilet that could not be fixed while we were out. The bed and pillows were rock hard and the air conditioner was so noisy it sounded like an airplane was taking off each time it came on. It really was not good value for the money we spent
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tourist758102 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel 8 months in advance for my cruise in December 2022. At the time I booked they offered free airport shuttle, and free shuttle to cruise port. I contacted the hotel a month before my cruise in November, 2022, to schedule airport pickup, and cruise port drop off, only to be told they are under new managemet and do not offer shuttle service anymore. I received no communication from them, that the shuttle was cancelled. I would have been at the airport, with no transportation from the airport to the hotel. Poor and distatestefull customer service. Searched elsewhere for hotels, and of course, a lot of the hotels are booked, and their prices have increased. Their website still states "Business, Other Amenities
Featured amenities include a business center, express check-in, and express check-out. A cruise ship terminal shuttle is provided at no charge, and free self parking is available onsite".
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Tahitian Inn Hotel
Responded Nov 11, 2022
Greetings! Good day and greetings from the Tahitian Inn. Much gratitude to you for reserving our hotel for lodging accommodations during your upcoming cruise. It is disappointing that we have failed to meet your expectations prior to arrival. We recently assumed ownership and management of the property which has been a staple in the community for numerous years. My apologies that the lack of shuttle transportation to the cruise terminals had not been communicated to you. As there are numerous websites and collateral potentially still in existence from the prior leadership, it is quite probable that all forms of communication have not been updated to express this service no longer being offered. For that failure, my team and I express our sincerest apologies. I assure you that our ownership and management company are reviewing the possibility of potentially offering shuttle service again as a handful of recent guests have inquired. In this post-covid environment, numerous hotels and lodging facilities had eliminated the service as the cruise industry had contracted by either reducing cruise travel or eliminating certain cruise destinations altogether. My marketing team and I will make every effort to reach out to as many third party websites as possible to ensure that this former offering is updated to our present status. If you would like to reach out to me as General Manager, we can quite possibly make some type of arrangements/concessions for the lack of cruise port transportation. If not, then again thank you so very much for your commentary and your consideration... Respectfully yours, Team Tahitian
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaci P wrote a review Jan 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is by far the WORST place I have ever stayed. The shower wasn’t cleaned from the previous occupant and the floor was so dirty that I had to wear shoes the entire time. The housekeeper was inconsistent with cleaning, one day making a bed and cleaning the shower, the next not cleaning at all and only leaving one fresh towel after taking all the other used ones.

I had a total of four rooms and each occupant had similar experiences. One guest was refunded after being treated in a disrespectful manner because she’d been bitten by bugs. Another of my party was begged to stay, and upgraded to a suite but was told not to tell the rest of the party.

The photos on the website are a catfish. The pool wasn’t operable and was dirty and disgusting. Your staff was extremely rude.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t stay here…go somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
johnwg27 asked a question Mar 2017
Lexington, South Carolina145 contributions72 helpful votes
Does the business center have printing capability?
Answer from g_rome_D
Guadalajara, Mexico19 contributions3 helpful votes
Didn't use the business center but thay do have one.
jrease asked a question Jan 2017
Painted Post, New York
Which airports to you get the shuttle service from and to?
Answer from Jade67
Ohio32 contributions11 helpful votes
I came into Tampa with a group and they provided free shuttle from that airport to the hotel and then on to the port the next day
Answer from traveling lexy
NJ207 contributions60 helpful votes
The Tahitian Inn picked us up at TIA, unsure of other airports. But their website has the info.
Finn29 asked a question Dec 2016
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Are there shuttles to the Holland Cruise ports? Thank you!
Answer from 484nicolen
tampa12 contributions8 helpful votes
yes, however this is the worst hotel ever. you will get ripped off. the double tree is nicer and for the same price and has a shuttle.
John F wrote a tip Jun 13
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool never seems overcrowded and is well maintained. There is a restaurant located on the property but I have not yet tried it. "
Read full review
kathleenrp wrote a tip Apr 2024
Halifax, Canada7 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's old and a bit run down but we stayed a week and it was quiet, clean, we felt safe, liked the location and pool. "
Read full review
Vinny S wrote a tip Sep 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Search else where this hotel is a 140 night hotel at best not 359"
Read full review
Tori O wrote a tip Jun 2023
Cincinnati, Ohio3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Read the reviews first."
Read full review
Chris W wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"This hotel has limited service and many areas need renovation. Do not trust photos."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tampa area.
PRICE RANGE
C$102 - C$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tahitian inn hotel cafe tampa, tahitian inn hotel cafe and spa, tahitian hotel tampa, tahitian inn spa
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaTampa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Tahitian Inn Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Tahitian Inn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Tahitian Inn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Wildbook Hall (0.4 km), Cityside Bar and Lounge (0.5 km), and Fred Astaire Dance Studios South Tampa (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tahitian Inn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Tahitian Inn Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tahitian Inn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Tahitian Inn Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tahitian Inn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shells Seafood Restaurant, Olivia, and Bonefish Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tahitian Inn Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Tahitian Inn Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tahitian Inn Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Tahitian Inn Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tampa Union Station (5.6 km) and Centro Asturiano De Tampa (4.3 km).
Does Tahitian Inn Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Tampa HotelsTampa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TampaHotels near Tahitian Inn Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars