We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 379: English reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

If you are expecting a renovated, clean, friendly Residence Inn DO NOT STAY HERE. The hotel needs a full renovation from rooms to lobby to amenities... It's NOT acceptable for any traveler. Also the room we checked into 2 bedroom suite was NOT cleaned and had hair and other all over the room. Bottom line this is well below Marriott...

Thank Damon C
GuestServicesMegan, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Damon, Thank you for sharing your comments. I apologize that your room was not clean up to our standards. We take pride in our customer service and I apologize that we fell short of our goal during your stay. Thank you again for your review.

Reviewed 4 October 2016

We were visiting U of Tampa for parents weekend and this was a very convenient downtown location close to the campus. We took the complimentary shuttle to the campus-nice service and friendly driver. The breakfast was good!. We stayed for four days and there were a variety of breakfast entrees including eggs, bacon, french toast, biscuits and sausage gravy. Fresh...

Thank TheFourOs
Management response:

Hello TheFourOs, Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us for parents weekend at the University. We appreciate your compliments on our breakfast and staff. We are happy that you and your family had a great time with us. Please accept our apologies regarding the comfort level of the pull out sofa. We will certainly keep that in...

Miami, FL
Reviewed 22 September 2016

The staff are very accommodating but this hotel is very inconvenient for handicap people. I did get a little free silver elite baggie with two bottles of water and some packaged cookies. What happened to the hot cookies for everyone that they used to have? I guess this is easier and cheaper but not as welcoming as the warm cookie...

Thank chriskre
GuestServicesMegan, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for sharing your comments. I sincerely apologize about the inconveniences you endured while staying at our hotel. I assure you that our staff will work on these issues to see what can be done to fix them. Thank you again for your review.

Palm Bay, Florida
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

The staff was friendly. The breakfast was good with many selections..meats..eggs..fruits...yougart... Cereals..waffles...breads..oatmeal..juice.. We had issues with our toilet running all the time...maintenance came twice. They fixed it the 2nd time. The livingroom tv didnt work correctly...it needs replaced..the sofa bed mattress was worn out. One of us slept on top of it without opening it..It needs replaced...

Thank Carolyne H
Management response:

Hello Carolyne H, First and foremost please accept our sincerest apologies for the maintenance issues you had in your room. Certainly this is not the type of service we want our guest to receive. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. Otherwise we are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and the service you received from our staff....

Roxbury, United States
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Room 512. Stayed 3 nights. A/C did not work first night. Maintenance fixed it 2nd night. A/C stopped working again on the 3rd night. Room smelled musty and the furniture is in need of a major update as is the bathroom. The floor of the kitchen had a large hump running thru it. The breakfast was sub-par. I'm a Marriott...

Thank Kathleen M
GuestServicesMegan, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen, Thank you for sharing your comments. I apologize about the issues you experienced with the A/C unit in your room. Thank you for your compliments about our staff, I will pass them on. Thank you for your review.

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Hotel is right downtown near Utampa. Its behind the courtyard. The cons: The hotel needs a facelift The first room we got was so old and smelly. The carpet was old, aged and worn and filthy. Furniture in the room was older than me. The bathroom was dirty and the toilet barely flushed. Th e Pro's We spoke to Brittney...

1Thank alanl885
Management response:

Hello alanl885, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the condition of your room. We have our renovations planned for early 2017. We hope you come back to visit with us to check out our improvements. Thanks for your compliments on Brittney, indeed shes a true service...

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We had a very smooth visit here. Greeted immediately by the delightful Jade, we were informed that our originally booked room wasn't available and would we mind being upgraded to an ADA compatible 2 bedroom? Why no, we would be delighted as a matter of fact, since we had our college student with us and he'd thoroughly enjoy his own...

Thank TheToastOfTheTown
Management response:

Hi Kristen H, We are delighted to read that you had a good time with us. Thanks for your kind words about Jade, I am happy that you and your son enjoyed the upgrade. We are glad you enjoyed all the amenities the hotel had to offer. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again, Delucha

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for business for 3 weeks. Here are the goods and bads. Goods: the staff is friendly and very helpful. Every time I needed to know where a restaurant was or the nearest store, they always told me where to go. The breakfast was complete and decent. There is a coin laundry which worked out good for me....

1Thank Matt K
GuestServicesMegan, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Matt K., Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay at our hotel in Tampa. I am glad you found our wonderful staff to be friendly and very helpful! It is our goal to provide the best quality customer service to our guests and I am pleased that we met this goal during your...

Reviewed 28 July 2016

Booked for the metro-con and got a great discount over the phone and of course it was too good to be true. The woman who took my card initially put a hold on my card for the right amount but then said my card had not gone thru. I gave her another card and she said it didn't go through...

Thank Linda N
GuestServicesMegan, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for sharing your comments. I sincerely apologize about the issues you faced during your stay at our hotel. I apologize about the incorrect charges, please call us at the hotel if you have any questions or would like to discuss this further. Thank you.

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Had a great experience with Residence Inn in downtown Tampa, location was fantastic, nearby to many eateries, museums, and parks. It had a free daily breakfast and M-W had drinks/food in the evening (complete with wine, beer on tap, and filling foods like lasagna, egg rolls, empanadas etc.) - different food each night. There's a shuttle that will take you...

Thank samcrowe
Management response:

Hello samcrowe, Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us here at the Residence Inn Tampa Downtown. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the property and the location in general. Thanks for your feedback we look forward to having you back with us in the future. Delucha

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (128)
Room/Suite (48)
Dining (13)
View from Room (5)
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Bathroom (7)
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (22)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Dining (1)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (8)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#38 of 163 in Tampa
327 reviews
Floridan Palace Hotel
#96 of 163 in Tampa
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Residence Inn is Marriott's leading extended stay brand. We are equipped to give you the room to enjoy yourself on longer stays. Whether you are staying for one night or 6 months, our spacious suites with kitchens will certainly give you comforts that most hotels can't. We provide complimentary amenities that include a full hot buffet breakfast, light meal with all you can drink beer and wine Monday - Wednesday evenings and internet throughout the hotel! Our wonderful staff is here to do everything they can to ensure that your stay is flawless and comfortable. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Address: 101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Price Range: $218 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Florida
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Tampa Downtown staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Tampa Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was very quiet as we had an end room that looked toward River Walk”
 of 5 bubbles jms345, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request to stay on higher floors to minimize city street traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles johnmc82, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you are handicap do not book a 1 bedroom as they are the furthest away from the elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles chriskre, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great for up to 4 ppl!”
 of 5 bubbles craigb875, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“I believe all the rooms are great!”
 of 5 bubbles angel8730, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5