The Westin Tampa Waterside

The Westin Tampa Waterside

View of my ceiling after the panel fell to the floor.
Traveller (865)
Nice view of downtown Tampa from the 9th floor.
Room & Suite (291)
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#3 of 170 hotels in Tampa
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

725 South Harbour Island Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33602-5707
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 76 out of 100
76
Tampa Intl Airport
St. Petersburg Intl Airport
22.6 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles3,553 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Westin Tampa Waterside is widely commended for its immaculate cleanliness and inviting atmosphere, with many guests enjoying the serene views from the comfort of their well-maintained rooms. While the rooms are praised for their cleanliness and comfort, there is a consensus that they could benefit from modern updates. The hotel's staff garners respect for their professionalism and helpfulness, although some guests have encountered occasional disorganization. Despite the allure of its prime location near downtown attractions, some guests feel that unexpected fees detract from the hotel's overall value.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Courteous
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
3,553Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,057
  • 742
  • 379
  • 220
  • 155
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Becky wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The buffet was delicious, but Desiree went above and beyond and with a smile to make our visit great!!

The hotel is very nice, the front desk was very accommodating upon our arrival and during our stay.

Housekeeping did a great job keeping the room nice and they were also so very friendly and helpful with other requests.

Be aware upon arrival the front of the hotel is under construction. Be prepared to use the valet service or other parking options.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt G, General Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside
Responded May 3, 2024
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JBC wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed on the 6th floor and had a good view of the channel (Garrison and Seddon). Plenty of gym equipment (wasn't crowded in the early morning hours). Plenty of good restaurants within walking distance and Ubers are cheap (short rides) to many other eating establishments. Very quiet rooms and room temperature did not fluctuate like many hotel rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Valet parking only.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt G, General Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside
Responded May 3, 2024
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Vicki C wrote a review Feb 2021
Deerfield Beach, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room is a decent size , just what you need, the bathroom is spacious and very clean even has a seal on the door telling you it has been sanitized. The bed is very comfortable. Had a great view of the riverfront. Has2 great restaurants and Starbucks just next door. Be prepared to pay for parking.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brian Schneider, General Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside
Responded Feb 25, 2021
Hello Vicki C, Thank you for staying with us and providing the feedback about your great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LisaRenee_Recommends wrote a review Feb 2021
McKinney, Texas
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here over Super Bowl Weekend and paid $4855 for 4 nights. We had a Bayside Jr. Suite with terrific views. Unfortunately, the restaurants are not open, and neither is room service. No amenities for Marriott Rewards Members either. We would have selected a different hotel, had we known there was no available dining. Yes, American Social is next door, but they charged a $75 per person minimum, even for lunch, so that was out. Jackson's Bistro was within walking distance but they stay booked. Must have reservations around here. Overall the Marriott was rather run down. Rooms were supposed to be sterilized, but we had syrup on the edges of our coffee table. We reached out to Juanelle, but never received a call back. As a guest of the NFL On Location experience, I did not feel this was work $4500 by any means. They can say "due to Covid", however not even a box lunch for purchase? Starbucks next door. We called the Front Desk for a luggage cart and help with our luggage and was told there wasn't anyone. We were under a Tornado Watch one night and called Front Desk to ask if they made an announcement if it got worse or we needed to take shelter on a lower floor. They had nothing in place, didn't really know. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We stayed in 732 and had a great view of Bay. This was a Jr. Suite Corner Room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brian Schneider, General Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside
Responded Feb 25, 2021
Hi LisaRenee_Recommends, Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback from your stay. I understand the frustration and disappointment with some of our limited service due to the current pandemic. I assure you we are working on creating a safe and sustainable plan to reopen additional areas of or hotel in the near future to ensure our guests have dining options in the future. I hope that the next time you visit, we will have our food and beverage options running like normal and we can show you our true amazing levels of service. Thanks again for providing your feedback and we hope to see you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelover33 wrote a review Feb 2020
Oradell, New Jersey
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a somewhat stressful trip, a job offer bringing us to Tampa, considering relocating after living in the Northeast all our lives. It was our first time here, knew nothing about the area. The front desk staff and DOO James Hellman, made what could have been a difficult stay, a wonderful introduction to what will be our new home. Before checking into our beautiful water view room, the cheerful staff put us at ease, providing invaluable information on the area, restaurant recommendations , etc. Terrific location on Harbour Island, walking distance to downtown Tampa and local theater, arena, museums and waterside restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JimH3857, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear travelover33, It was so nice to meet you and I am so happy that you were able to find a home in Tampa that meets all of your needs. As I mentioned on your departure, if you ever need anything at all, please let me know. Myself and my entire staff are here to assist in any way possible. See you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol P wrote a review Feb 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the best experience ! Andrew and the staff were friendly, professional and very accommodating. Housekeeping and the Valet staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed for 3 weeks in January and February and felt very comfortable with their Covid policies. Due to Covid we had some unusual requests such as plates and utensils for our grub hub orders:), requesting an alternative desk chair for long zoom meetings etc. and they accommodated all of our requests graciously.
The location is incredible, to wake up every morning to see the UT rowing team practicing and beautiful boats cruising by. Walking on Bayshore Blvd. or the River Walk are both great walks. Lots of fantastic restaurants in walking distance. Thank you to Andrew for making our stay so wonderful. We will definitely go back to the Westin Tampa Waterside.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a river view facing downtown and the convention center. It is stunning.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brian Schneider, General Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside
Responded Feb 25, 2021
Dear G2714IScarolp, I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us these great comments about your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Tampa!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
flzdmpm03 wrote a review Oct 2020
Fort Myers, Florida
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay close to the aquarium and convention center. We had a lovely Riverview room. Staff was great, comfy bed, and great location. Only a abut 45 minutes to Clearwater Beach and not far from Hard Rock Casino. Parking is valet, but if you have a Marriott rewards it is discounted and
WiFi is free.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt G, General Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside
Responded May 3, 2024
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris S wrote a review Sep 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The good thing is that we got a good deal and it had a pool and was close to the water and good restaurants and appeared clean.
The rest was all bad. The staff would make your bed, but would not leave you with any more Coffee or condiments or do anything else besides make the beds. The check in and check out staff was terrible. First of all they pretty much ignored you. My mother said good morning and nobody answered so I said good morning and nobody answered. They were all glued to their computer screens. They were all rude. John, the person who checked us in could not answer any of our questions. He did not tell us where the pool was. And he didn't even tell us that We would need our key card to operate the elevators. The safe in our room didn't work and needed to be replaced. The door did not work right and got stuck, and one of the maids left our door open for the entire day! We told them about this, and someone showed up and looked at it and said he would be back to fix it, but he never came back! It didn't matter what button you pushed for the front desk. Or the service department you were put on hold, No one ever picked it up and eventually it would just disconnect you, so if you needed anything, you had to go all the way down to the front desk to complain! In addition, when we checked in, the price was higher than what we were quoted. We were not told that everything is valet parking And there was a daily parking fee, and we were also not told that there was a daily service fee that you need to pay everyday! We will no longer be staying at any Westin! The company will be lucky if we even think about going to a marriott.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt G, General Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside
Responded Sep 22, 2023
Hello chriss1217HG, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Westin Tampa Waterside. I was concerned to read your feedback - please accept my apologies for issues you had during your stay. This is certainly not the experience we strive to delivery. I have passed your feedback on to the relevant hotel leaders to ensure we do not repeat the same mistakes. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cornelius B wrote a review Jun 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is marketed as being a premier hotel because of its great location, but Marriot doesn't seem to invest any money in it. I stay here frequently just because of its proximity to my office (I live 150 miles away). For nearly a year, the fitness center is missing a set of 15 lb dumbbells, which I've reported to management at least five times. The rooms still have obsolete, torn, and some upside-down stickers on the outside of the door announcing that the rooms have been "sanitized and sealed for our safety". These were stickers from the height of the pandemic. The rooms are not sanitized nor sealed. The stickers make the hotel look sloppy. Housecleaning is not great. Nearly every time I check in, something isn't in order. For my most recent stay, the room had NO hand soap, shower soap or shampoo. Other times the rooms might be missing towels. Or one time my room had "soil" on the wall next to the commode. And lastly, the bed covers generally look like they are not laundered between guest stays. But I keep staying there because of the convenience to the office. Maybe as long as I and other guests just accept it the way it is, they are not inclined to make any changes.....
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt G, General Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside
Responded May 3, 2024
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shawn T wrote a review Aug 2022
Atlanta
2.0 of 5 bubbles
As an example of my experience, when I checked in, I asked that the pull out couch be made up. Several hours later, it wasn't done so I asked again before heading out to dinner. When we got back, around 8:30pm, it was still not done. When I called the front desk, I was informed that the cleaning person had called in sick so they couldn't do it. They then asked me to come down to the lobby and pick up sheets myself so that I can make the bed myself. After staying at hundreds of Marriott/Sheraton properties over the years (Lifetime Titanium member), this was a first for me. Additionally, the breakfast buffet for $19.99 was very basic. It would have been great to at least have an egg station for that price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt G, General Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside
Responded May 3, 2024
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bananaberrysmoothie asked a question Jul 2023
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom17 contributions2 helpful votes
Is there a shuttle to busch gardens
Answer from Dee H
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania41 contributions10 helpful votes
No. They ont have shuttles just use an Uber is what I was told
Patrick R asked a question Jul 2022
Warsaw, Indiana
Where to park
Answer from tk
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida2 contributions6 helpful votes
You can valet or Park yourself in an underground garage. The garage is easily accessible.
Won S asked a question Mar 2022
1 contribution5 helpful votes
Hi, do the rooms have microwaves? Tx.
Answer from St Paul
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Pretty sure no microwave in standard room, but you could call and ask/request.
Genus2011 asked a question Feb 2022
New Jersey100 contributions48 helpful votes
Beach front?
Answer from St Paul
1 contribution2 helpful votes
No, nearest true beach would be St Pete, but the Westin does overlook the harbor and Hillsborough River. Great water views but don’t expect any sand.
Answer from Dardiny S
1 contribution1 helpful vote
They have valet parking and we used that.
Derrick W wrote a tip Jul 15
Miami, Florida11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The breakfast of $25.00 so be prepared for it. The price was very steep for what they were offering. "
Read full review
NIki K wrote a tip Jul 12
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can hear people talking so have some white noise handy to block it out. "
Read full review
n0reaster wrote a tip Jul 9
Bradenton, Florida15 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool is mediocre…spend your time roaming downtown Tampa or on Hillsboro river water options. Great workout/fitness center. Room very quiet!"
Read full review
Chris M wrote a tip Jul 5
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find Public Parking Roughly $40 dollars a day was a surprise and not explained at check-in. The valet essential secured my Truck and charges"
Read full review
radhames r wrote a tip Jul 4
5 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a room with a view to the bay. It is amazing"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tampa area.
PRICE RANGE
C$275 - C$420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westin tampa harbour island hotel tampa, tampa westin
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaTampa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
309
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Westin Tampa Waterside - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Tampa Waterside
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Tampa Waterside?
Nearby attractions include The Sail Pavilion on the Riverwalk (0.3 km) and Liquid Fun Charters (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Tampa Waterside?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Tampa Waterside?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Tampa Waterside?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Tampa Waterside?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Tampa Waterside?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi, Waterside Café, and Cafe Dufrain.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Tampa Waterside?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Westin Tampa Waterside located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Tampa.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Tampa Waterside?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Tampa Waterside?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Tampa Waterside offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Tampa HotelsTampa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TampaHotels near The Westin Tampa Waterside
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars