We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Key West Resort on Lake Dora

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Key West Resort on Lake Dora
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This hotel is in a nice and private area surrounded by a gorgeous lake. The rooms are spacious and very modern with a large balcony overlooking the lake. If you're up early the sunrise is a must see! The staff is also very polite and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to this area and is looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie H
Kevin D, Public Relations Manager at Key West Resort on Lake Dora, responded to this review

Dear Stefanie H,   Thank you for your compliments about our Key West Resort! We do have to agree - Lake Dora is absolutely gorgeous! We encourage our guests to rise early for the perfect balcony view of the sun rising over the Tavares Pavilion on the Lake. So beautiful! It is always great for us to hear compliments such...

Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Large room, huge closet, big bathroom, comfortable beds, wood laminate floors and most important clean! I'm fussy so Ill bring my own pillow next time. I loved the high ceilings and the balcony too. Thank you for getting what hotel visitors want!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarksHonestOpinion
Kevin D, Public Relations Manager at Key West Resort on Lake Dora, responded to this review

Dear MarksHonestOpinion, Thank you for your opinion! Or rather, wonderful compliments! We must agree with each of your observations. Our rooms are very, very nice. As well, our housekeeping staff keep them very clean! You’re very welcome! Warm regards,   -Kevin 

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We stayed here for a wedding we were attending near by. The room was very large, very clean and the king bed was one of the most comfortable beds ever. In fact we called the manager when we left and asked him for the mattress name. The room had a frig, microwave, make up counter, large bathroom and walk in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulav
Kevin D, Public Relations Manager at Key West Resort on Lake Dora, responded to this review

Dear paulav, Congratulations to the bride and groom! Thank you for these wonderful compliments about our Key West Resort. It is an honor to read your glowing words about our hotel! Our goal as a hotel is to create as comfortable and relaxing a stay as possible for each of our guests, each stay - from our perfect balcony views...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Needed a night stay for a travel through. It is not the best place but was ideal for what we needed. Super comfortable beds. Large rooms, free wifi. Very friendly staff. Only downside was needed slightly better cleaning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Likeshisf00d
Kevin D, Public Relations Manager at Key West Resort on Lake Dora, responded to this review

Dear Likeshisf00d, We are glad you found your accommodations comfortable! Our rooms are quite large, and our wifi very fast. Our staff are very friendly, and work hard to great care of our hotel, and our guests. We hope you were able to enjoy the view of Lake Dora from your balcony! We are pleased you would find our lodging...

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here while we traveled through to Disney and I have to say, this resort is right up there with the Disney resorts! The staff is friendly and quick to anything a guest may need. They really go above and beyond for thier guests. The hotel is beautiful and so clean, when you first walk into the lobby you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank timetoflyyy
Kevin D, Public Relations Manager at Key West Resort on Lake Dora, responded to this review

Dear timetoflyyy, What a compliment! To be compared to a Disney Resort - thank you! We are honored, and perhaps partial but we must agree! We work hard to take great care of our guests, and our hotel - and we’re very pleased that it shows! We are so glad that you enjoyed your Suite - they are designed to...

Clermont, Florida
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We loved the resort and the location. Had a great time, hotel was very clean and staff was very helpful and friendly. The view of lake is awesome and very relaxing. There is a lot of restaurants and entertainment within walking distance. I would recommend this resort to anybody wanting to stay in Tavares, FL.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank becky0113
Kevin D, Public Relations Manager at Key West Resort on Lake Dora, responded to this review

Dear becky0113, We’re so happy you loved our hotel! We love the Key West Resort on Lake Dora so much, it’s wonderful that our guests feel the same way. Our front desk staff are very knowledgeable and helpful, and always offer a warm welcome - our housekeeping staff work so hard to take care of each room for our guests,...

Florida
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Usually when I book hotels I book suites for the main goal of them being cleaner than the avg room due to lack of use. That was not the case with this hotel. The floors were covered in black dirt drip, cup ring marks, and sand. You know how when your drink sweats or spills and you don't clean it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen O
Alex C, General Manager at Key West Resort on Lake Dora, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Oneil, We take all of our guests' observations and comments very seriously, and I would like to take the opportunity to address your remarks with the kind consideration and respect that is due to you as a former guest. Unfortunately, your concerns were not brought to our attention during your stay, and, as such, we were not given...

Deerfield Beach, Florida
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because we attended the Mount Dora bike festival. The first day the housekeeper showed up around 3 pm to do our room. The next day it didn't show up at all. We made a complaint at the front desk and requested them to bring this situation to the manager in charge. After a while they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elile76
Kevin D, Public Relations Manager at Key West Resort on Lake Dora, responded to this review

Dear elile76, We hope that you enjoyed the Mount Dora Bike Festival! It is a wonderful event that many of our guests return for each year. It was a shame that the first Saturday was rained out, although we hear Sunday was beautiful, and more than made up for the missed day! We must apologize that you did not receive...

Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This was our second stay at this hotel. We attended the Steampunk Festival in Mt. Dora last year and had to switch hotels at the last minute due to mold issues at the first hotel. We found this hotel and vowed to always stay at The Key West Resort from then on. We are back again this year and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrippySeaWitch
Kevin D, Public Relations Manager at Key West Resort on Lake Dora, responded to this review

Dear TrippySeaWitch, We are so glad you found us! We’re honored by your compliments and humbled by your commitment to staying with us in the future! Our area is very unique in so many ways, with Renninger’s being a big draw - The Steampunk Industrial Show is one of many exciting events our guests look forward to each year! We’re...

Apollo Beach, Florida
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We visited for along weekend and were not overly impressed with this hotel. Not sure why they call it a resort other than it is three seperate buildings. We had a room on the second floor of building 1 and the first night there they had a class reunion on the ROOF with live music. It was very loud that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
Kevin D, Public Relations Manager at Key West Resort on Lake Dora, responded to this review

Dear Larry B, We are sorry to hear that you did not receive the 5-star experience we strive to provide for all of our guests at Key West Resort. We do wish that you might have let us know of your frustrations with your room location. We do our best to accommodate our guests’ requests, and likely would have been...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavares
5.3 km away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
8.2 km away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
875 reviews
2.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lake County Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tavares
9.7 km away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
480 reviews
7.1 km away
Hampton Inn Leesburg - Tavares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at one of Florida's only inland seaplane basins, where pilots like to stop in, enjoy the entertainment, and often spend the night before the next day's adventures. Jet skis are available for rental, as well as boat rentals. There is a steam engine (Orange Blossom Cannonball) that runs from Tavares to the historic village of Mt. Dora and beyond with themed trips. Live entertainment is common on the weekends on the waterfront at Puddle Jumpers (restaurant and bar) and Al's Sandbar (bar with limited menu). The hotel itself has The Tiki West Raw Bar and Grille, as well as Lago Dora Italian Restaurant, and Brand Charles Studio and Salon on premises. Classic Boat Racing, Antique Car Shows, Sailing Regattas, and Jet Ski Tournaments are common events on Lake Dora in Tavares, as well as the famous Arts and Antiques Festivals in Mt. Dora. The Downtown Tavares area is an Entertainment District, where patrons are allowed to stroll (with the adult beverages of their choice) to visit the many shops, museums, and restaurants and bars. The Hotel is located only two blocks from the Lake County Courthouse in Tavares, Florida. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Key West Resort on Lake Dora

Address: 199 W Ruby St, Tavares, FL 32778-3821 (Formerly Lakeview Inn)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Tavares
Price Range: $139 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Key West Resort on Lake Dora 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Key West Resort on Lake Dora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Key West Resort on Lake Dora staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Jacksonville, Florida
4 months ago
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
California
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Key West Resort on Lake Dora staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room in the new part of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 857traceyo, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have lake view”
 of 5 bubbles OttandBert, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are 3 buildings, so many of the rooms face the lake with sliding glass doors and balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles paulav, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to not stay in building 1.”
 of 5 bubbles 57larryb, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a balcony and face the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles 511geraldm, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5