We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swashbuckler Motel

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Swashbuckler Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 37: English reviews
Start your review of Swashbuckler Motel
 Click to rate
Winter Garden, Florida
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Arrived for 2 night stay after long drive to find our confirmed hotels.com reservation was not available because they were overbooked. The desk person did offer to show us a possible room. Room was about the size of a large closet, in total disrepair, dirty, nasty. Claimed it was in process of renovations. Ofice counter totally covered with cleaning products...

Thank Carol D
Kathy M, General Manager at Swashbuckler Motel, responded to this review

We always appreciate comments and suggestions from our guests. Unfortunately , this guest did not stay at our motel due to rooms sold out except for one of our efficiency rooms which we had discounted due to small repair on wall that was not painted. What brings alot customers our way is the room rates. We hope you found another...

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Not good! Room needed blinds They were falling down.. bathroom towel rack falling down.. pool cold ,surrounding s chairs dirty and not best shape, grill was joke all rusted out couldn't use. Laundry room not clean stuff piled everywhere.. no place to sit out no such thing as terrace... Kathy the manager was nice ! But needs slot of cleanup...

1Thank Vickie R
Kathy M, General Manager at Swashbuckler Motel, responded to this review

We are appreciate of your comments and 4 star review. On occasion a guest encounters small items or things that are not acceptable . We understand this and can assure our customers this is an isolated incident. We strive to maintain very competitive rates and focus our energy on cleanliness, safety, and management. Thank you again. Swashbuckler Motel

Reviewed 16 October 2016

I came across this place over three years ago. I was going to stay for a few weeks but over the past three years I am still here. Kathy is the best. She has regular pest control service and pool service. When a guest needs something she's on top of it if theres an issue she's on top of it....

Thank Marlo S
Kathy M, General Manager at Swashbuckler Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your sincerity and loyalty. We appreciate your feedback. Swashbuckler Motel

Gainesville, Georgia
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Please don't go to this motel. The manager is never in if you need something. I was tired when we reached this place and was out of options of a place to sleep. The office is a big mess. looks like a storm went thru it. Door was in need if new door jam, had a hard time locking and...

2Thank 206timmy
Kathy M, Manager at Swashbuckler Motel, responded to this review

As summer is in full swing , our deep cleaning and renovation projects continue. Due to our minimal storage facilities we were forced to store items inside the back of out main office/lobby area. Our motel strives to keep guest rooms clean, comfortable and pleasing to our guests. Sometimes minor maintenance items occur that we may not be aware of...

Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

The first thing I saw when I opened the door were about 8 ROACHES running. The entire room smelled of urine come to find out it was from out mattress it was soaked in urine and blood stains all over it.We took the bed out ourselves after two days of complaining it was replaced with I'm pretty sure a thrift...

1Thank Sammywags
Kathy M, General Manager at Swashbuckler Motel, responded to this review

As our rooms are updated and modified to better serve our guests , the process sometimes presents a confusing presentation. The mattress and bed sets purchased for our rooms are all new and not reconditioned. This particular rooms mattress was being switched out and was left in the rain while new one was being delivered. Hence the unusual odor. A...

Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed there...no phones in the room, way to over priced for what you get. No linen service at all...bugs all over...and to top it off if you drink you can't have a open beer outside..it has to be in cup or whatever so no-one can see it..drug dealers every where...the pool is nasty...has mold in it... Kathy the manager is...

5Thank David R
Kathy M, General Manager at Swashbuckler Motel, responded to this review

When customers inquire about accomadations we make every effort to inform them of what we provide in the rooms and what we do not. We are a comfortable , clean and small motel. Our rooms do not have phones. Should a guest be without a phone we have a designated phone in the office for guests. We strive for safety...

Reviewed 31 May 2015

Me and husband decided to visit a beach on the memorial weekend, travelling from kissemee. We tried to find a motel,hotel, b&b etc everywhere from Clearwater to St. Petes. Every room was booked. We came across this motel by accident, after trying so many, we just stopped and the lovely lady said she just had a cancellation. We took it....

1Thank Wendy S
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 March 2015

I stayed at the Swashbuckler in August of 2014. It was a great place to stay. There were several different types of units to choose from. I believe all had some sort of kitchen/kitchenette in them.The unit i stayed in was built like an apartment with a separate bedroom, kitchen and bathroom and all were very clean with nice hard...

1Thank Chichors9
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We are long term residents of Pinellas and can't believe we are living on the beach at such an unheard of price! DJ is the friendliest owner. Very well kept, bright sunny room with a back door, window in every room perfect location. I can't believe our luck highly recommended! Rich, Anna and 3 month old Mia

7Thank angrybear86
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We just completed our sixth stay at the Swashbuckler Motel. This time we stayed in Unit 201 where we had the usual great service and good Wifi reception. Our two week stay was from April 21 to May 5, 2012. Rich, the manager, was right there for any assistance needed and did a linen exchange after the first week. Both...

6Thank TDPK

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (28)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Room/Suite (12)
View from Room (3)
Dining (2)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (5)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.2 km away
Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island
Tropic Terrace of Treasure Islan...
#31 of 48 in Treasure Island
90 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bayside Inn & Marina
The Bayside Inn & Marina
#36 of 48 in Treasure Island
195 reviews
3.8 km away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
514 reviews
0.2 km away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
116 reviews
0.4 km away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swashbuckler is located in Treasure Island, FL within steps from the beautiful Treasure Island beach. We have a generous size pool with large sun deck, BBQ area; clothes care center and onsite parking. We offer fully furnished efficiencies, studios and one bedroom, two bedroom/one bathroom accommodations. The rooms are completely furnished including a fully equipped kitchen with a full size refrigerator, built in microwave, cook top range, all dishes, pot pans, toaster, Foreman grill, coffee maker, dish towels, linens, beach/pool towels, beach chairs and beach umbrellas. There is Direct cable T.V.offering 150+ channels plus free movie channels. Free Internet. 25 inch TV’s in the bedroom and living room. The bedroom has a full/queen size bed and most rooms will have a pull out sofa. We are located within walking distance of Historic John's Pass Village and Boardwalk where you will enjoy a variety of venues to include shopping, water activities, fishing, several different restaurants, casino cruises, night life and so much more. There is beach trolley that stops right at our front door if you prefer not to drive. Taxis, Limo service and free transportation options are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swashbuckler Motel

Address: 11875 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5119
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Hotel Class:2 star — Swashbuckler Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Swashbuckler Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swashbuckler Hotel Treasure Island
Swashbuckler Motel Treasure Island, Florida
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swashbuckler Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Swashbuckler Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms closer to the front near the office had the best wifi signal”
  • view from room across to beach
  • Living Room area
  • Kitchen
  • bedroom angle 1 from doorway
  • bedroom angle 2 from window
  • bedroom angle 3 from bed
Chichors9, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“I think the rooms closest to the office will have the best wifi reception.”
TDPK, 10 May 2012 | Read review
2 of 2
Check these sites for availability
View all 5 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates