We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park

Visit hotel website
Traveller (111)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Park Plaza Hotel, built in 1922, on the famous Park Avenue in the old downtown Winter Park, is a unique and intimate vintage boutique hotel. Personal service and genuine hospitality is the tradition of the 28 room Park Plaza Hotel. Stay in a cozy one-of-a-kind room full of antiques with an elegant balcony garden overflowing with ferns, potted plants and brightly colored flowers. Situated on the corner of Park Avenue and New England street and overlooking a Rose Garden in the Park, the location is home to some of the best shopping often described as "The Rodeo Drive of the East."
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Electric vehicle charging station
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Deal:Save on Tour tickets

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
59Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
14Attractionswithin 0.5 km
317Reviews
134Photos
4Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 107
  • 84
  • 49
  • 39
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I expected a much nicer place in the center of Winter Park's entertainment and shopping area. The lobby was antique-y and the staff helpful and pleasant. The, we went upstairs to our room. We opted for a better room with a balcony facing Park Ave. The room was shabby and the
Read more
The staff were exceptionally accommodating, letting me check in past midnight. The hotel is small, cozy, beautifully decorated, and all the amenities were comforting. It was also a perfect location for access to transportation, or walking to local restaurants and attractions.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Cancelon.com
Response from Pia-PPH, General Manager at Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Morning Tourist43996912938, Thank you for the high marks. We are thrilled that you loved the Hotel and its location. Fantastic that you found your room comfortable, and the amenities fitting. The staff are so happy that they were able to accommodate you, and that you felt comfortable here. That means everything to us. See you soon again! Pia Brenan, GM
Read more
Although the room was clean and the staff accommodating, the hotel is way past its prime. The room is very dark and small. The over sized furniture is old, not charming and uncomfortable. Most concerning is the noise caused by the thin walls (can hear conversation of next door
Read more
Response from Pia-PPH, General Manager at Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings Matureshlepper, Thank you for taking the time to write down your thoughts about your stay. We appreciate the nice comments regarding the cleanliness of your room, and the accommodating staff. We always try our best to help make your stay special. Part of what you describe is the quirkiness of an older Boutique Hotel, for example the creaky original wood floors, but admittedly being a century old building, housed in the heart of charming Winter Park, it can admittedly be noisy compared to today's well insulated big box Hotels. As for the furniture, we do have several antique pieces in the rooms, such as chest of drawers, vintage refurbished chairs from the era of the Hotel, and wood bed frames, however, rest assured that the mattresses are changed regularly, and are made specially for us by a local mattress factory. We often get comments on how comfortable and high quality they are. Almost all of the couches and sofa beds were replaced this past year, and the remaining few are scheduled to be replaced this year. I hope this clarifies a little bit, and certainly hope you will stay with us again next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Pia Brenan, GM
Read more
Have just spent 2 nights here. While the staff were helpful, the place is an overpriced dump. The rooms are small with paper-thin walls, poor lighting and just one tired electrical outlet. The TV is tiny and the image frequently broke up. Our bathroom floor was dirty and
Read more
Response from Pia-PPH, General Manager at Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings Brian J, I appreciate the nice comments about the staff, but must admit I am a little perplexed by several of your comments. The room you were in was one of standard rooms, making it decidedly more economical than any of our surrounding competition. Admittedly it is our smallest room, and looks out over the back of the building, as opposed to the lovely Park-side Balcony and King Balcony Suites, which are larger rooms, offering outdoor sitting areas on the balcony, and views over Central Park or upscale Park Ave. I personally walk the rooms everyday, but made it a point to take a special look at your room. I heavily rely on guest reviews to point out things we may have missed, and take these comments very seriously, but oddly couldn't find peeling paint, broken drywall, mildew or loose plumbing fixtures. You are correct that we do not offer coffee makers in the rooms, however freshly brewed coffee is available all morning in the lobby, and later in the day we make it for you personally , and are happy to bring it up to your room on a tray. The complimentary continental breakfast is intended as a nice starter to your day, nothing more, nothing less, and most consider it a lovely touch. I am sincerely sorry that you were disappointed, but I would encourage you to give us another chance next time you are in the area. Please reach out to me personally and I would be more than happy to ensure that you have a wonderful stay. Sincerely, Pia Brenan, GM
Read more
This is a quaint downtown historic hotel. Certainly an accommodating and genial staff. But cannot help but wonder if we were placed in un-refurbished rooms as they did not meet the standards described on their website. The 2 rooms we had were certainly in need of some
Read more
Response from Pia-PPH, General Manager at Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Morning Monty B, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are thrilled that you were so happy with the Staff, and the proximity to the train, which was a plus when you were able to walk to the Hotel from the quaint Winter Park Station. We agree it can be a little noisy when the trains pass through later in the day. The Hotel was actually built in the 1920's by the railroad, in order to house its workers. Please let me know a little more in detail what fell a little short for you. It would help us to know, as our goal is to make the Hotel a lovely retreat for our guests. We appreciate you staying with us. Sincerely, Pia Brenan, GM
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
my room (in back, no balcony)
Photo provided by managementPark Plaza Hotel Winter Park
Photo provided by managementPark Plaza Hotel Winter Park
Balcony overlooking Park Ave
Photo provided by managementPark Plaza Hotel Winter Park
Frontside Balcony Suite with Sitting Area & Balcony
View fron porch connected to room.
PreviousNext
12345614
Do you allow register 7 pound therapy dog
Greetings, Yes we are Pet Friendly. Dogs up to 25lbs are welcome at the PPH. We do charge a Pet Fee of $50 for the first night, $25 for subsequent nights. Service Animals are not subjected to the pet fee, but we do charge a one time cleaning fee of $50 to cover steam cleaning out of respect for subsequent guests who may be allergic to pet dander. Thanks for asking! Pia Brenan , GM
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello - is there a champagne Brunch available for Christmas this year? Thank you!
Good Morning, The Hotel does not have a separate restaurant. You might be thinking of Park Plaza Gardens next door, but they have separate owners, and have been closed for almost a year. On a separate note, we serve a small Continental Breakfast up to your room as part of your stay. Hot Coffee of Tea, Orange Juice and nice warm Croissant with butter and jam! Thanks for your question Pia Brenan, GM
0 votes
Show all answers
We are going back for a second visit next Monday. The staff is wonderful and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Winter Park. They are committed to making things right.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there a shuttle across the highway (and return) to the Ampitheater for an 8pm show?
Good Morning Triangler2, Unfortunately we do not offer a Shuttle Service from the Park Plaza Hotel, but we would be more than happy to assist you with Taxi or Town Car arrangements if need be. Please let us know what we can do for you. Sincerely, Pia Brenan General Manager Park Plaza Hotel (407)647-1072
0 votes
Show all answers
"pay a little more for a room facing Park Ave."
"Many of the even numbered rooms have a balcony and overlook Park Avenue. Odd numbered rooms look out to the Farmers Market and train tracks."
"Park Avenue Balcony Rooms are great."
"If you ask for a street view room, the train noise isn't as loud. Still loud though."
"Get one with balcony on the non-Park Ave side"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$198 - US$334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
park plaza hotel winterpark plaza winter parkwinter park park plaza
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaCentral FloridaWinter Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing