We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area

HIExpress.comUS$145*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

My son was having brain surgery at CHOA @ Egleston so a family member had paid for our hotel stay for several days so we could be close by. When we made the reservation over the phone explaining the situation. The gentleman was nice & even offered us a discount since it was a medical trip. When we got there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear Jessica N, I have to agree with you that we have failed as a team to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. I know that I would have been frustrated too having to wait in the lobby with my children after a long drive when it was not necessary. We could have done so many things...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed one night on a short visit to Atlanta. Visiting friends in near-by Druid Hills made this a convenient location. The following day, the airport car hire drop-off centre was a half-hour drive. The room itself was a bit on the tight side - we had requested a room with two beds but none were available - instead our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conn C
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear conn c, Thank you for a great review. I will make sure that my team hears how you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again. Leslie- GM

Sparta, GA
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

The location is perfect for navigating Metro Atlanta. It is very close to downtown Decatur. The check-in staff was very friendly. Our room was nice and quiet and had everything we needed for an overnight stay. The welcome "happy hour" was very nice, offering drinks and snacks. The free breakfast offered a good variety of food and it was constantly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parrothead31087
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We chose this location based on our plans to visit both Stone Mountain and Turner Field. The room was clean. Every time we walked in or out, the staff spoke and was friendly. Within walking distance to a Publix grocery store and Little Caesars. Ok small indoor pool and sauna. Biggest complaint would be the painfully slow elevator. We just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbutler12
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear bbutler12, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that we met your expectations of great service during your stay. I'm sorry that you had difficulties with a slow elevator. We do only have one elevator due to only have 62 rooms in the hotel, however I will speak with the elevator company to make sure we...

RI
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Overall a fine room, in decent shape. Farthest down the hallway, which was nice because there was no hallway noise but the traffic was audible. A pair of light earplugs helped with that. Biggest concern was the mold issue on the bathroom ceiling which hopefully has been taken care of after I let them know about it. Really no where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smanzi
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate the opportunity to make it better. I am sorry that all your expectations were not met and we will resolve any issues that you had in your guestroom. Take care, Leslie- GM

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 14 June 2016

I had asked for a room on the fourth floor away from the road and parking lot. I had Google earth it and saw there were rooms away from both of those with nice trees behind them. What I got was a room on the fourth floor on the corner of the road and parking lot. I had made these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jalyn72016
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay. It is disappointing to me as well that we fell short of our standards. We strive everyday to reach our goals in meeting and exceeding guest satisfaction. Regarding Google Earth, I cannot guarantee what pictures will come up about our hotel. We do...

Evans, Ga
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Was in town for a wedding. This hotel was close to the reception venue. It was clean and the staff was very polite. My room was 106 and at first I was reluctant to be there as it was close to the main lobby and the window was at the parking lot. But I was happy that it was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tleeEvans
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear valued guest: Thank you for your nice review. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. I hope you had a fantastic time at the wedding and many blessings to the bride & groom. We hope that you are able to visit us again on another special event soon. Take care, Leslie- GM

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 3 May 2016

My second visit at this hotel. I enjoyed everything about my first stay 4 months earlier. In advance I booked and paid for a king bed suite for 6 nights. I notified the hotel by email that I would arrive a day later. When I arrived, after waiting for 30 minutes to be checked in, I was told that only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dieter K
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear DieterW, As we have discussed while you were on property, the reason you did not get the room type that you reserved is because you cancelled your date of arrival at 1130pm and I advised that you would be charged for the one night guarantee. Our hotel was sold out and once cancelled, you lost your room type. We...

California
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

An okay location for Emory. Clean room and free parking. Off of north Decatur Td and is close to publix supermarket. Only covenient if you want to visit Emory and the city of Decatur. Atlanta will be about a 15 min drive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BargainTravelers
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your nice review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your clean room and free parking. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Emory location. Take care, Leslie- GM

Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

I checked in at this hotel at 5:00am on a Monday on recommendation from the hospital staff at Emory, where my aunt was in the ICU. I asked for two nights and was told that check out would be Thursday, so I assumed I was getting an early check in. I double checked this Tuesday night. I was told that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dana L
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest: Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. If a guest checks in before 7AM they are charged for the night before. This policy is comparable to all area hotels. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. I do hope that your friend is recovery...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#96 of 174 in Atlanta
478 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 174 in Atlanta
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emory Hotel in Decatur, Georgia, offers you a truly Southern hospitality experience. Enjoy our warm surroundings that truly make you feel at home away from home. The staff of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Decatur, GA, is looking forward to being of service for all of your hospitality needs in the upcoming years. We are conveniently located in the heart of the Emory Hospital & Emory University area and Dekalb Medical Hospital & Children's Healthcare of Atlanta hospital and only minutes from downtown Atlanta. One mile from Emory Hospital and near the Centers for Disease Control, the CDC.We are now proudly offering our complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring two hot items daily - omelets w/cheese, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy.Free local calls, mini-kitchens w/ microwave and refrigerator are available in all our newly renovated rooms. Meeting and banquet facilities available. Relax in our year round indoor heated pool or in our on-site fitness center. Restaurants and shopping plaza within walking distance. Visit Decatur, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Emory. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area

Address: 2183 N Decatur Rd, Decatur, GA 30033-5307
Region: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Price Range: $208 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area Hotel Decatur
Holiday Inn Express Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur
Decatur Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Seattle, Washington

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Floor 3 Appeared to have had water damage”
  • Nasty stuff on the walls in the bathroom, was unable to tell if it was dirt or mold ewwww either
  • Wallpaper doesn't even line up in some spots
  • Wallpaper in bathroom not even completely done and curling up off the wall in most places
  • Stains on chairs
  • All furniture was in pretty beat up shape
  • When in the bathroom you practically had to get in shower to close the door it was so small
  • Toliet seat installed on crooked
  • Unable to close fridge without first opening cabinet door
jessicanK5284UK, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing opposite end of N. Decatur Road are less noisy.”
DieterK640, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“They couldn't give us what we reserved.”
J3596VBjamesh, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Top floor is much quieter”
Christy31548, 20 Nov 2015 | Read review
“If all rooms are like the one I stayed in, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!”
larrysS4751FT, 6 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
HIExpress.com
US$145* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$145
Booking.comUS$145
PricelineUS$145
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates