Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel

Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel

Traveller (69)
Premier Inn bedroom
Room & Suite (50)
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel
Dining (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Inveresk
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Mussselburgh is a quiet fishing village. Edinburgh is one of the most exciting cities in the UK. So put yourself in pole position for both destinations, at Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh). Whether you're here on business or pleasure, you'll have a great stay. Musselburgh is known as 'The Honest Toun', and we can honestly say you'll have a fantastic time here. Laugh your socks off at the Edinburgh Festival, or bet your shirt at the Musselburgh races. Don plus fours and have a round of golf at Royal Musselburgh, or visit Rosslyn Chapel, one of the most remarkable buildings in Scotland. Then come back to a hearty meal at our Brewers Fayre - no need to dress for dinner - and a lovely comfy bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Paid internet
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles874 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel garners appreciation for its tranquil location conveniently near the A1 and Edinburgh, which many guests find suitable for their travel needs. The hotel's amenities, including complimentary parking and a reputation for cleanliness, receive positive mentions, though some guests suggest there's room for improvement. While the staff is frequently commended for their friendliness and helpfulness, experiences with service and housekeeping can be inconsistent. Rooms are generally regarded as comfortable and quiet, but some guests report issues with maintenance and noise. Travelers consider the hotel to offer good value, although opinions on the attached Brewer's Fayre are mixed.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Affordable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
874Reviews25Q+A97Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 465
  • 236
  • 95
  • 44
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jeff M wrote a review Nov 2023
Vagabond
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Do you want to feel welcome? Come here. Angela, Nicole, Mikayla, Chloe, Molly, and Robert do a great job. Special awards go to Lynn and Karen, for the best eggs I have had in 15 years! Plus shopping is just up the way.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
xingu123 wrote a review Jun 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall a pretty good Premier Inn. Staff friendly, particularly those servicing the rooms in the morning. Room was spotless, great shower and we had a nice view over the fields. Good covid procedures and distancing in the adjacent Brewers Fayre with staff making sure we had checked in using the QR code before showing us to our table. Cooked breakfast was tasty, although coffee was very weak. Main issue was room temperature as even with the window open, the room was very warm. Helpfully there was already a fan in the room, so it was on all night to try and help us sleep. That aside, it’s in a great location, with some nice walks nearby around Musselburgh itself - overall an enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Chillin2812 wrote a review Mar 2020
Corfu, Greece
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for three nights when treating ourselves to a long weekend away to visit some of the local attractions. We were extremely comfortable with a lovely bathroom, plenty hot water, heating controls for the noise free room and best of all an extremely comfortable bed.
We always take tea bags from home and purchase a bottle of milk to use in our numerous cups of tea through out the evening. However we forgot to shop for the milk on the first day and I plucked up the courage to ask at reception if we could have an additional supply of the small cartons. The member of staff willingly responded with a handful enabling us to enjoy our evening.
Another happy stay at the Premier Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
M** wrote a review Feb 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In these difficult Covid times , it was great to see the efficiency of this hotel group. The room was absolutely spotless, the reception staff on arrival & departure where pleasant & helpful, and all Covid protection & distancing abided by.
Very comfortable bed, fresh crisp white linen & towels . Ample hot water & The shower force was superb. Special mention to the receptionist who was on Afternoon/evening of Feb 4th 2021. She was very helpful in recommendations for places to order food from ( via the just eat app ) , and happy to provide more sachets for the complimentary drinks tray when asked .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If your looking for peace & quiet , the rooms at the end of the corridors have less foot fall...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Hammond wrote a review Sep 2022
Swindon
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I use Premier Inn because you generally know what you're getting and can trust the service.
Not this time unfortunately.
The staff we did see were fine but there seemed to be a general lack of services and provisions throughout our 3 night stay.
In a double room had only one towel, one chair, No waste bin in the bathroom. Empty shower gel dispensers (which was needed because airport security confiscated our supplies).
There was only 2 teabags and no milk. These were available in reception but you shouldn't have to ask.
The breakfast in the Brewers Fayre next door was disgusting. Lots of the items on the hot plates ran out and was not replenished and when there was some, it was cold.
A pot of tea or coffee in the morning would have been nice but we had to serve ourselves out of water boilers like in a truck-stop.
The scramble for butter, marmalade, milk, toast, juice, cereal etc was embarrassing and the whole place was filthy. All the doors were covered in months worth of black finger prints and the floors needed a good vacuum.
I know Covid has had an effect on hospitality but there is no excuse for laziness and lack of provisions.
If there is a shortage of housekeeping staff, then at least make sure there are enough supplies in the room so that the guests feel as though they are getting some kind of service.
The bed was comfy. That's the only positive.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PremierInn Musselburgh, Guest Services / Front Office at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel
Responded Sep 2, 2022
Hello Rachel, Thanks so much for your feedback, it’s really appreciated. We’re sorry your stay didn’t meet expectations. Please accept our apologies that your room was shy a towel, shower gel and milk. This has been an oversight on this occasion and reception would be happy to provide this for you and express our regrets that this has been your first impression of your room. Our rooms are standard and in order to maximise space for guests we don’t overcrowd them with additional furniture beyond the desk chair and an armchair or sofa but we’re sorry that this didn’t suffice. As a brand we stock the initial tea and coffee tray for arrival to your room and more are available to collect from reception whenever you’re passing. This is to minimise wastefulness in rooms as we can’t anticipate how much of everything each guest will need/want so we just wanted to reassure you that it wasn’t our intention to make you feel the provisions were lacking and guests can get as many as they additionally require from the front desk. We’re sorry that this is the view you had of the breakfast and are happy to feed this back to the restaurant. Our staff’s priority is guest experience and we do our best to rectify any situation when made aware and given the chance. Again we are very sorry you didn’t have a pleasant stay and thank you for your insight.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tonileighfell wrote a review Dec 2021
Barnsley, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for the Christmas market in Edinburgh. We travelled up from Barnsley so was in car 5 hours included toilet breaks for little one. We called the hotel before arriving as we was an hour early for check in and spoke to the friendly staff on phone who said our room would be ready in next half hour and we could check in this was great. When we arrived the staff was very friendly and was making sure laugh on how to say our names in Scottish.

The rooms was very clean we had 2 rooms so we even had interconnecting doors for the second room which was good as we had gone away as a family.

As it was my sons 7th birthday we arrived to a birthday card from the staff 2 small craft present which he loved as one was a dinosaur craft and ballons in our room made it a hot extra special for him all the staff wished him happy birthday.

We was staying at hotel for the Edinburgh Xmas market location is great. 2 juctions away from newcraighall train station and retail park for food. Park and ride for trains very cheap 65p for for full day then 3.50 for adults return ticket and 1.75 for child ticket for Edinburgh on train which are every hour.

The staff at the hotel was amazing very friendly location fantastic we will definitely be returning again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Geraint1976 wrote a review Nov 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here with our two year old daughter whilst visiting family locally. Our daughter is quite tall for her age and the cot was therefore a little small for her (not the hotel’s fault, of course).

We therefore used the sofa bed. See the attached photos of the mould, dust and scum when we lifted up the sofa cushions. Hadn’t been cleaned in months.

The hilarious thing is that the housekeeping staff leave a nice little printed information sheet in every room about all the measures they are taking to help prevent the spread of COVID.

Precisely what they are seeking to achieve is unfathomable. Clearly, hygiene isn’t one of the relevant criterion. Perhaps they think that leaving the helpful information sheet is all they need to do. So long as they’ve “ticked the box”, it doesn’t actually matter whether you bother cleaning the room properly. To be fair, I probably wouldn’t be too bothered about cleaning a room properly if I had only 12 minutes to do each room and was working for minimum wage.

Breakfast was poor. Coffee machine broken. Instant coffee only, served in dirty mugs placed rim down on a dirty tray. Restaurant desperately understaffed.

Premier Inn was once a good brand - clean, perfectly decent rooms which were good value for money. Not anymore. They’re now just a health hazard if my experience is anything to go by.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid staying here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leanne A wrote a review Mar 2022
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly, location is absolutely brilliant £15 taxi trip into Edinburgh. Pub attached, does get busy so you are better booking before hand.
Sadly, that’s all the positives for this hotel. The ladies on reception were friendly when checking in to the hotel, but when checking out we did try to explain the nightmare we had and it was just a quick “sorry” felt like we were being rushed out before we said anything more.
We arrived back at our room for about midnight, along the corridor were a group of lads who must have been on a stag party, we did expect some noise but to that level we experience was really unacceptable. Loud bangs until 2am, laughing, shouting it sounded like we were in the same room at times. I knocked on the door at about 2:30/3am and asked them to keep the noise down, no one was at reception and I was literally at my wits end. I looked at the clock and it was 4:30am and the noise had just stopped. We ended up sleeping through our alarms and were late checking out, as we were like walking zombies. The cleaner a young girl with blonde hair snapped and said I need to clean the room and rolled her eyes, I was really holding back snapping at her being tired and grumpy. I know this wasn’t her problem, but some common courtesy would have been night especially after the night from hell. It was my birthday weekend and we had intended on stopping another night, but my day was completely ruined being so tired and I just wanted to come home. I know the hotel cannot help the house from guests, but at least have the common courtesy to actually seem bothered about stoping this for someone else.
Such a shame as the location is ideal.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marble1985 wrote a review Feb 2023
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just spent 3 nights here. I picked it as a base for Edinburgh and other local attractions. We're from South Wales so after a long drive up the hotel was easy to find which was great. Check-in was smooth and the room we were allocated (19) was lovely and clean. The hotel is in a great location the train station is just across the road and it takes 15 minutes to get to Edinburgh. There is also a lovely retail park a short drive/walk away with some great shops. Our stay at the hotel was great. Every morning there were two lovely ladies on reception who were both cheerful and helpful. If you wanted your room cleaned you just needed to tell reception and it was attended to. There was also extra tea, coffee and milk in reception to collect. Overall we had a great stay here for a reasonable price. I would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Free parking, great location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yogesh M wrote a review Aug 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Usual premier inn but I was not expecting one staff member to be rude during checking in, he was not very helpful when booking restaurant fir the evening and told us to use the app, this wasn’t a problem but was not expecting that after a very long drive (10hrs by car ) , usually premier in staff do the booking from their desk.

The room’s toilet flush was not working, this was reported to the same member of staff who was on duty but nothing was done about it.

Breakfast order was mixed up by the same staff member, I checked the next day and another person on duty rectified the mistake.

Not sure if I’ll be booking the same hotel again, restaurant service was very slow . Food ok , nothing special.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking has limited spaces , restaurant could be better with better food selection
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from PremierInn M
Hello, From Waverley station there are usually taxi's based at the exit to come directly or you could get a train to Wallyford station which is a 6 minute taxi ride to the hotel. Edinburgh also has a great bus service, we would recommend getting a bus to Musselburgh high street and then the 140 or 141 which will stop outside the premier inn if you ask (info correct as of may 2024). The Lothian Bus website has a convenient journey planner where you can put in your start and end location. Kind regards,
fred w asked a question Apr 2023
United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
Can I get a bus to the races from outside or near the hotel
Answer from fred w
United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
Thanks for your help
Answer from PremierInn M
Hello, Hope you are well. We are just a short ride away from Musselburgh high street which has a wide range of bus services available, up to date timetables for which can be found on the Lothian Busses website. There is no official bus stop outside the hotel but on the main road, cross over and stand at the gate by the field and the bus will stop if you signal it down. Likewise if you getting the bus back there is no stop outside the hotel on this side of the road. We recommend telling the driver when you get on that you are getting off at Premier Inn. Hope this helps. For further queries please don't hesitate to ask at the front desk and see our travel information on our visitors board at the entrance. Kind regards, Reception
Answer from keith E
2 contributions
Sorry cannot answer that.We jumped in a Taxi from Airport.
Shona K wrote a tip Feb 2024
Musselburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spare a thought for housekeeping staff. Premier inn treat them terrible and expect far too much due to never having enough staff! "
Read full review
Tina T wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid staying during festive times as prices are high and so are taxi prices"
Read full review
CRW20 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom26 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The restaurant attached to the hotel is nice, offers good service and reasonably priced meals."
Read full review
smelly28 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Ledbury, United Kingdom111 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to breakfast early, as it gets busier the later you leave it."
Read full review
Iain D wrote a tip Oct 2023
7 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find somewhere else"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Inveresk area.
PRICE RANGE
C$116 - C$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn edinburgh (inveresk) hotel musselburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEast LothianInveresk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel?
Nearby attractions include Wild Cairns (7.4 km), Great Away Days (7.8 km), and Dalhousie Castle Falconry (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Parrilla Argentinian Grill - Musselburgh, Gurkha Bar and Restaurant Musselburgh, and The Melville Inn.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gilmerton Cove (6.6 km), Craigmillar Castle (6.6 km), and Newbattle Abbey (5.2 km).
Is Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Inveresk HotelsInveresk Hotel DealsHotels near Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars