We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cloister at Sea Island

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

745 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 738: English reviews
Madison, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I have been staying at the Cloister for about four years, and I think it is one of the finest luxury resorts I have stayed at. Okay, I haven't stayed at a lot, but I have stayed at a number. We get one of the Ocean Residences, which are basically incredibly well-appointed condos. Full kitchen, separate bedroom,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saye506
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Seeing that you regard The Cloister as one of the finest spots you have stayed is wonderful. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to welcome you back.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

If it wasn't for the fact that we were locked out by guests in the adjoining room by locking the outer door, I would have given this beautiful hotel an Excellent rating. Beware of the Ocean Residences that have this feature! For a hotel of this class, I would have expected more than just $100 off. Fortunately, we moved to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about your visit and am very glad that you found so much to your liking. Please do come see us again.

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lavish resort, exceptional fantastic grounds, very expansive, the vibe is comfortably relaxed, pure luxury. Service charming but can be slow or lacking. Double check if all facilities are available as some may be off limits due to private parties. Resort can be very lively during school holidays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ullamilla
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your comments. It is good see that you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely lovely spot. The drive in from st. Simons entrance is simply beautiful. Giant oaks, beautiful marsh, tasteful architecture and expansive marsh views. We stayed in the ocean residences in a 3 adjoining condo w/ common room that had kitchen and fireplace allowing for 3 couples or two families to easily stay. The rooms were beautiful and offered great views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlyboyTraveler
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

How nice to read your comments and see how much you enjoyed your trip, especially your accommodations and the variety of things for your family to do. We are glad that you left happy and hope to see you again soon.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of the premier vacation spots in the country and remains so. It has just about everything for everyone. What a pleasure! If you want an active vacation with the opportunity to relax this is a great place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NYSojourner
Reviewed 1 week ago

The suite was spectacular! The setting was breathtaking! The food was mediocre. I purchased the breakfast buffet one morning: $25 plus $5 service charge, plus tax, on a meal that was comparable to the buffet at a Hampton Inn. My husband and I were attending a conference. Most of the food was sub-par, even the seafood buffet. As part of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank intrepidmother
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

It is good to know that you thought highly of your accommodations and our setting, but it is disappointing to see that the menu selections arranged for your conference were not to your liking. I have passed your thoughts along to our staff involved in your gathering. Thank you for posting your comments. I look forward to you returning for...

Santa Barbara
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We reserved three night stay, but only learned while checking in that a golf tournament was dominating the resort--which limited our access to restaurants and facilities--so we checked out after one night. Got to resort at 4PM, but room wasn't ready until after 5PM. Tried to make a reservation for dinner at Italian restaurant and was told first available was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Starstation310
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Please accept my apology that you were not made aware that the PGA tournament was taking place during the days of your reservation. That is an oversight on our part and I can understand your displeasure. We do, however, hope that you will return at a future date and have a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It had been many years since my wife and I visited the Cloister. It is now owned by the family that owns the Broadmoor and has been beautifully renovated, and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Our River View room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. It felt more like an apartment home than a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FJP-TEX
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

It is great to know that you enjoyed your visit to Sea Island so much. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This beautiful estate is perfectly designed to somehow feel a certain opulence in a quaint fashion. Every last detail is attended to including service. Greetings from staff were warm, helpful, frequent and genuine. The rooms are unbelievably large and very comfortable, including the bed/bedding. Beautiful art, antiques, rugs and furniture abound. The exterior is just as lovely flanked by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pimplepopperDO
New York City, New York
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We read about this place in one of my magazines and decided to look into it further. What a great surprise and so glad we got to spend time here. From the minute we arrived we felt special. We really enjoyed the service and the wonderful staff. We can't wait to go back. Treat yourself is all we can say.........

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank candy y

1,241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (436)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (128)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (52)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (163)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (776)
Viewed
Amenities (218)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Beach Club Adult Pool (7)
Viewed
Beach Club Pool (22)
Viewed
Black Banks Suite (117)
Viewed
Fitness Centre Pool (13)
Viewed
Main Building Suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
Sea Island Suite (92)
Viewed
Standard King Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)
Viewed
Water Atrium Spa Pool (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Island
15.3 km away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
1,092 reviews
6.0 km away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
561 reviews
16.0 km away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
504 reviews
5.5 km away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#1 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
1,121 reviews
3.2 km away
The Inn at Sea Island
The Inn at Sea Island
#4 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Resort that offers golf lessons plus a variety of other activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, sailing and swimming. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Address: 100 Cloister Dr, Sea Island, GA 31561-9705
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Price Range: $422 - $916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cloister at Sea Island 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island
The Cloister At Sea Island Georgia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cloister at Sea Island staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from The Cloister at Sea Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure the outer door that adjoins two suites doesn't lock.”
 of 5 bubbles LizN212, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best to stay at Beach Club when traveling with kids or Ocean Rooms when you want to look at ocean but don't mind walking.”
 of 5 bubbles ullamilla, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ocean club rooms have views of the sea, beach club rooms are older, garden wing rooms are nice and new but don't have views.”
 of 5 bubbles nshein, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 2, nice one bedroom suite”
 of 5 bubbles GBFlorida29, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We've stayed in both large rooms and suites in Lodge, Beach residences, Cloister (main and north wing)......all superb.”
 of 5 bubbles ritzytopaz, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay