We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 425: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really appreciated Danielle's help at the front desk when I forgot my charger for my phone. And Jimmy was a great driver bringing us back from the airport right away so we would not have to wait! Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anika S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my first stay here. I arrived a little behind schedule, however Jimmy the van driver was there waiting for me by baggage claim as planned. We had a nice chat on the drive to the hotel. Nice guy with some cool war time stories. Danielle helped me at the front desk upon arrival. She was quick to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenny K
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at The Red Lion Hotel in Boise Downtown several times. The hotel is very nice in general , cozy , and welcoming. The rooms are cleaned, good lighting , safety ( floor, doors ) in good condition,amenities are good. Good location for many activities, restaurants, shops , theater. The hotel staff are very nice and professional. Hotel got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
Vale, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose the hotel for an overnight on Christmas Eve as we were celebrating the holidays with our families and were arriving from out of state and this was a great location for Caldwell and Then Star. The Staff was AMAZING! Our room was clean, well stocked and very comfortable. The Breakfast in the morning was GREAT. We will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MishelleSerendipity
Salem, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor customer service. Nobody was smiling and happy. Every single employee was frowning and didn't have any personality except the bartender on Friday night. Small pets allowed but breakfast lady wouldn't allow me to bring my 4lb service dog in her bag to come in with me so I can have breakfast with my husband. Reservation stated free breakfast but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A6969FJkathyf
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Red Lion Downtowner hosted a funeral reception for our family. Mowbray Brown and his team helped us plan the room, food and other hospitality details in a professional and competent manner. The reception came off flawlessly, the food delicious. Their professional service made a difficult time for our family possible. We highly recommend their facility and hospitality services.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmazLvn
Management response:

Let me first extend my appreciation for the time that it took to write a review on your experience with us. It is so great to hear that our staff made a difficult time for you so memorable. I will share your wonderful review with the staff. Thank you for recommending us. Beth Mathieson Front Office Manager

Twin Falls, Idaho
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were treated very well upon arrival! The room quality was perfect. Nice and quiet and cozy for the two of us! The hotel bar was great! We enjoyed the shuttle drivers who took us to the hockey game and also picked us up! I would stay here again in the future!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferpG6655YC
Management response:

Thank you for sharing your experience with our Trip advisor readers! It is great to hear that you were treated well and comfortable during your stay. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you again. Beth Mathieson Front Office Manager

Tempe, Arizona
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here for work for 16 years and I can honestly say the best part about this hotel is the staff. From Jimmy, the van driver, who always shows up prior to your arrival with jokes and an amazing warmness; to Rebecca at the front desk, who will make sure she gets you that king sized bed you've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences with us throughout the years. This is what we hope that all of our guests experience during their time with us. It is so awesome to hear that the staff is welcoming and accommodating at all hours of the day. Thank you again for sharing. We hope to see...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are nice and clean, at the restaurant and bar is just ok. Van driver in front desk are most helpful especially Jimmy. Pick up from the hotel are very prompt. Front desk is very prompt and courteous. Breakfast buffet is OK service is lacking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xkuzme1
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience during your stay. We appreciate all of our guests feedback whether positive or negative. Thank you for mentioning the staff that made your experience great and for mentioning where we are lacking. We hope to see you again soon. Beth Mathieson Front Office Manager

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at the hotel and were given the keys to a King size room. At the reception we were told it was the last King size room left. The floors, the bed side tables were filthy, there were hair on the chair. The fridge was make a loud noise. The bathroom hasn't been cleaned. We immediately called the reception....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank madamelucieferrari
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. We truly appreciate all of our guests feedback whether positive or negative. I apologize for inconvenience that you experienced with the cleanliness of the rooms. I will share this review with appropriate parties so that it can be used for training purposes. Thank you for...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.6 km away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#7 of 57 in Boise
692 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 57 in Boise
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#6 of 57 in Boise
646 reviews
0.9 km away
Safari Inn Downtown
Safari Inn Downtown
#32 of 57 in Boise
128 reviews
6.0 km away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Address: 1800 Fairview Ave., Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Price Range: $132 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
La Grande, Oregon

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for north facing rooms, mountain views”
 of 5 bubbles Flutedude, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“pet room 231 is great”
 of 5 bubbles kadiehlers, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles still442, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tower wing above the 3rd floor, with northerly view to the foothills and to avoid traffic noise from Fairview or Main.”
 of 5 bubbles benferg, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ITravelMontana, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5