We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 395: English reviews
Ketchum, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Don't plan on "room service". I was told the restaurant was open until midnight but when I got to my room at 10:30 after along day and called to order a sandwich, I was told "you'll have to come get it yourself". No apology or explanation. Difficult to figure out dial thermostat since it didn't have an indicator bar so... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patti F
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second stay at the Red Lion. It is located close to downtown and offers large rooms that have recently been updated. We took advantage of the onsite pool and gym. In this location we didn't need a car, we just walked to restaurants and shopping or took an uber or lyft (under $10 to most places). I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daimon B
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We appreciate all of our guests feedback. We are so happy to hear that both times you stayed you had good experience and will return. Thank you so much for coming back and we look forward to seeing you again. Beth Mathieson Front Office Manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been staying here for business for 15 years. Recently renovated, great proximity to downtown. Most of all, Jimmy the van driver always picks me up with a great smile, safe and comfortable ride, and a welcome like no other. He really sets the tone for my stay. Thanks, Jimmy!

Helpful?
Thank Scott D
Management response:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. We truly appreciate all of guests input. It is awesome to hear that our staff made your experience so great. I will share this review with Jimmy and the rest of the staff. Thank you for the 5 star review! Beth Mathieson Front... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
281 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I called a week and a half in advance, and I thought he made a great reservation . But unfortunately when I checked in the rate I was quoted , was much more than what I expected, so I could not stay for my five night trip. The front desk clerk could not help me so I had to cancel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brent S
Management response:

I am disappointed that you found our staff unaccommodating and have continuously had bad experiences with us. We continually strive to improve both the product and the service of our hotel, and your comments will be used to that end. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. More 

Portland, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Filthy hotel. Smelled like antiseptic upon arriving, room obviously old, outdated, gross. When I went to plug in the incredibly old lamp, I spotted a wadded up pile of sticky toilet paper and a USED condom! It was about midnight and I did not want to change rooms. When I told the front desk about it the next day, they... More 

Helpful?
Thank still442
Management response:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. We truly value the input of all of our guests. This review has been shared with the appropriate department managers and will be used to improve our service. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. Please reach to me... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Stayed here recently. It was a comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Rooms are recently renovated. Location is good with nice restaurants within walking distance. Best part was our van driver who picked us up at the airport. Jimmy was awesome!

Helpful?
1 Thank DaveW32212
Management response:

Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff accommodating. I will share your review with Jimmy. He will be pleased to hear what you said about him. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you again.... More 

Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I had booked a room at the Extended Stay America through Travelocity and they overbooked the place by four rooms. So Travelocity got me in one of the last rooms in Boise because of a BYU/BSU football game. The room was a handicapped room with horrible double beds. They were lower which is to be expected but what I could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sage1029
Management response:

Thank you for sharing the experience from your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that your room was not satisfactory. I will pass on the information regarding the condition of the bed to the appropriate parties. The charge to your card was reversed immediately, unfortunately most banks do not issue the credit for 5 working days. If you would... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

When we have a work overnight in Boise at the Red Lion, and Jimmy, the van driver is on the clock...we KNOW we will not be waiting at the airport. He checks our schedule, times his arrival and is there on the nose. Always has a warm welcome and a smile. He is a true asset to the Red Lion.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Amart3344
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor readers. It is so great hear that you have received exemplary service while in Boise. I will share your comments with Jimmy. He will be so happy to hear your comments. We truly enjoy our SWA crew members. Thank You from the Red Lion family and... More 

Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Checked in early and the staff were very accomodating. Even politely moved us from the first room due to a significant whistling noise outside our room. Accomodations were showing signs of age but were relatively clean in the rooms. Public areas such as hallways seem to not get as much attention as they should. All in all comfortable and safe... More 

Helpful?
Thank benferg
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. We are disappointed to hear that you experienced some noise outside of your room and found that the public areas were in need of attention. We are happy to hear that you were comfortable and felt safe. Thank you for staying with us. Beth Mathieson... More 

Lawrence, KS
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My wife, daughter and I stayed in this hotel for one weekend night. We had never stayed in a Red Lion property before, but were forced to do so in this instance due to a Boise State football game and the corresponding lack of available hotel rooms. The exterior of the hotel is dated and ends up serving as a... More 

Helpful?
Thank plainsrunner
Management response:

I would like to extend my appreciation for the time you spent sharing your observations with me. We value the input of all of our guests. Thanks for sharing your comments both positive and negative regarding your stay. We are so happy to hear that the staff was friendly during your stay. Thank you for staying with us. We hope... More 

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.9 km away
Safari Inn Downtown
Safari Inn Downtown
#31 of 55 in Boise
127 reviews
1.5 km away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#6 of 55 in Boise
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#7 of 55 in Boise
685 reviews
2.5 km away
Courtyard Boise Downtown
0.3 km away
Cabana Inn
Cabana Inn
#40 of 55 in Boise
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Address: 1800 Fairview Ave., Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Price Range: $126 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
La Grande, Oregon

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles still442, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tower wing above the 3rd floor, with northerly view to the foothills and to avoid traffic noise from Fairview or Main.”
 of 5 bubbles benferg, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ITravelMontana, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a mountain view in the tower since they are a nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Bwasp, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I've stayed in both buildings and on many different floors. I have had good rooms in all.”
 of 5 bubbles 413carolk, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay