We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tamarack Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tamarack Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 165: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The Tamarack provided a perfect location for our stay! We loved how we could walk to everything in town. Tom, at the front desk, was very helpful and friendly! He recommended some delicious restaurants in town that we enjoyed very much. We will definitely be staying at the Tamarack next time we visit Ketchum!

Thank buckleybear
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Did a sister trip with my three sisters. The Tamarack lodge is centrally located in Ketchum. Short walk to shopping and dining. The rooms are dated but clean. The price was good. The advertised free Buffett breakfast does not exist. After complaining they gave us some Starbucks gift cards but not enough to buy breakfast for four. Because of the... More 

Thank Roberta R
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location! The comfy bed is amazing... Also, this is walking distance to everything is a plus. Thanks to Tara at the front desk for all the help in finding everything we need! Looking foward to our next stay!

Thank Lakerchick00
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is not a new hotel but the bed was super comfortable and clean! It is downtown so within walking distance to many shops, grocery store and movie theater. We have stayed there for 3 years in a row while attending a conference. We asked for a top floor and a view. Was fun to watch them making snow on... More 

1 Thank suzbrn
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights during our motorcycle trip. Although our room 210 had a deck facing Bald Mountain with great views, the facility needs lots of work. The stairway to the room is old, mildew all over shower tile, constantly dripping bar sink, glass door sliders that didn't open easily, ripped screen and their lodge sign lit up the... More 

2 Thank OregonFamof6
HayMaxHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

All of us at the Tamarack Lodge would like to thank you very much for your business and for taking the time to post this review. Our company acquired the lodge in December and we have been making improvements at the property as quickly as possible. We have exciting plans coming up for the lobby and the guest rooms. We... More 

Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Good location, comfortable beds (if you like softer mattresses). Front desk staff was friendly, fast and helpful! Place was older, but not too bad. Large room with sofa and coffee table. Sink space was smaller and a challenge for my wife when she was getting ready. We stayed on a Monday night (Labor Day) and the next morning the alley... More 

Thank David L
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

At $230/night, I expected at least a decent room. Not so. Was very dark and dingy and felt not clean. The area for the ice machine smelled bad, the bed was not comfortable (too soft for me). It is very conveniently located in downtown Ketchum but we will not be back. I was surprised that it got 4stars on TA... More 

Thank J W
HayMaxHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

From all of us at the Tamarack Lodge we want to thank you for your support of our hotel and for taking the time to post a review. We pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable accommodations in an excellent location in Sun Valley and Ketchum. We have some exciting improvements planned for the future and we hope you will... More 

Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

The lodge is conveniently located in the middle of town within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Our room was much larger than the typical hotel room and was very comfortable. Laundry facilities were on site. The lodge is showing its age although efforts to keep it in good condition were obvious. There is no included breakfast and no restaurant... More 

Thank twballard
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

This facility has a 14 day cancellation policy. But aside from that I cannot fault the place except for the lumpy pillows. I would expect better for the price of the room. We had a late check in and were accommodated nicely by the front desk clerk who came out of his room to see that we got our key.... More 

Thank Pamela S
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016

A full week before our one-night reservation, we had a tragic death in the family. Despite my call to the property to explain the situation, they refused to refund any portion of our $140 reservation. I was shocked and disgusted. We will certainly never give them our business again. Heartless.

Thank Emily F
HayMaxHotels, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Emly F, We are so very sorry about your loss and we hope your family is doing ok at this time. We always feel very badly when these situations occur however our cancellation policy is based on guests making plans for resort locations well in advance and our need to reserve those rooms and turn other guests away... More 

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (33)
Bathroom (4)
Room/Suite (13)
View from Room (4)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (13)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.3 km away
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge
0.6 km away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
305 reviews
17.9 km away
Wood River Inn
Wood River Inn
#1 of 4 in Hailey
255 reviews
0.4 km away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#7 of 10 in Ketchum
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tamarack Lodge looks forward to your visit to the Sun Valley area welcoming you with beautiful spacious rooms, comfort, unmatched hospitality, combined with unparalleled location all yours in the heart of downtown Ketchum, with all the comforts of home. The property also has a beautifully landscaped courtyard, a wonderfully relaxing outdoor hot tub with a great mountain view and a year-round indoor heated pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Address: 291 N. Walnut Ave., Ketchum, ID 83340
Region: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Price Range: $136 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Lodge Ketchum
Tamarack Hotel Ketchum
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tamarack Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
South Burlington, Vermont

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tamarack Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Talk to Tara she is the best!”
 of 5 bubbles Lakerchick00, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles suzbrn, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from alley side rooms to avoid early morning garbage trucks!”
 of 5 bubbles 862DavidL862, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is a courtyard that is banked by rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles pamelasO5831CD, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles OregonJoe, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay