We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-08-27 2017-08-28
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The BlackSmith's Arms

    Lewes Road, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PN, England
    Best prices for your stay
    2017-08-27 2017-08-28
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    View Deal
    Traveller (1)
    Room & Suite (6)
    Dining (2)
    • Excellent34%
    • Very good22%
    • Average18%
    • Poor14%
    • Terrible12%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Family Rooms
    Multilingual Staff
    Pets Allowed
    Meeting Rooms
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from The BlackSmith's Arms
    Deals (5)
    Aug 27Aug 28
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Double Room, Ensuite
      View Deal
    • Double Room, Ensuite (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      View Deal
    • Double Room, Ensuite
      View Deal
    View all 5 deals from US$77
    The Forge
    169 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Halland
    Pelham House
    798 reviews
    #4 of 8 hotels in Lewes
    White Hart Hotel
    962 reviews
    #7 of 8 hotels in Lewes
    The Shelleys
    379 reviews
    #3 of 8 hotels in Lewes
    Write a Review
    Reviews (71)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 71 reviews

    Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

    The food here is great - fresh fruit etc at breakfast and beautifully presented fish dishes for dinner. However, I stayed Monday - Thursday and the restaurant wasn't open on Monday or Tuesdays so had to drive to Lewes when I had hoped to dine...More

    Thank bonchurch58
    Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

    Stayed for four nights. NEVER AGAIN IT SHOULD HAVE NO RATING AT ALL. dirty hallways, laundry bags to step over. Food was disgusting. Everything frozen. Incompetent staff. Sent a burger back ( buns solid) they changed bun and the chips had a fly wing on...More

    2  Thank andrews scott
    Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

    Wouldn't stay here even if they paid me, rooms were dirty, the shower didn't work properly. The rooms were freezing, I actually slept in my work gear one night as It was snowing outside. If your thinking of staying here please look over the road...More

    Thank Hally1974
    Response from Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's ArmsResponded 29 March 2017

    Always interesting when someone reviews us over a month after their stay. It is, of course, a matter of expectations. If you were staying for several days it seems odd that you did not raise any concerns with the management at the time. It is,...More

    Reviewed 20 March 2017

    Stayed for a quick overnighter. Understand the owners haven't been in situ very long so I found writing a review a bit hard and wanted to allow for that. Our room was quite small but we felt a few simple and cheap fixes would have...More

    1  Thank theploppys
    Response from Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's ArmsResponded 21 March 2017

    Thank you for your review, although it does seem a trifle odd that you waited almost a month to submit it and did not mention any of these problems to us during your stay, which may have helped us to make your stay more enjoyable....More

    Reviewed 19 March 2017

    Steve & Vicky made us very welcome, there was a roaring fire and a feeling of cosyness about the pub. Steve showed us to our room, which was clean, modern and well equipped. Our doggy was also made very welcome. We stayed Fri & Sat...More

    Thank JudeNIan
    Response from Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's ArmsResponded 20 March 2017

    Thank you so much for your very positive review. Hope you had good journey home. It was a real pleasure to meet you both (and the dog). Look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area. Steve & Viki

    The Forge
    169 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Halland
    Pelham House
    798 reviews
    #4 of 8 hotels in Lewes
    White Hart Hotel
    962 reviews
    #7 of 8 hotels in Lewes
    The Shelleys
    379 reviews
    #3 of 8 hotels in Lewes
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Breakfast Available
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Price range
    • US$83 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 6
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The BlackSmith's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • East Sussex >
    • Lewes >
    • Halland
    • Also Known As
    • Black Lion Hotel Lewes
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (1)
    Room & Suite (6)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (15)
    Bathroom (5)
    The Shelleys
    379 reviews
    11.24 km away
    The Forge
    169 reviews
    .09 km away
    Pelham House
    798 reviews
    10.91 km away
    White Hart Hotel
    962 reviews
    10.85 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Blacksmiths Arms
    94 reviews
    2.04 km away
    Muffins Cafe
    41 reviews
    2.11 km away
    Hare and Hounds
    52 reviews
    3.83 km away
    Blackboys Inn
    357 reviews
    4.24 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Branching Out Adventures
    60 reviews
    1.97 km away
    Raystede Centre for Animal Welfare
    133 reviews
    3.22 km away
    The Lavender Line
    61 reviews
    5.51 km away
    Farleys House & Gallery
    44 reviews
    5.54 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from The BlackSmith's Arms staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "only saw one room but very quiet"
    Read review
    "ask for a room not next to the fire escape"
    Read review
    "Stay well clear of this place, any good reviews are clearly fake!"
    Read review
    "Can't help here. We were dining only."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing