We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

dana hotel and spa

#54 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
dana hotel and spa
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for dana hotel and spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,275: English reviews
Plainfield, IL
Reviewed 12 April 2016

good location. Room request near family not noticed so didn't happen. Wind blew through room; doors need new seals. Solution was duct tape. Classy Dana. Didn't attempt a fix first 2 times we called. Shower leaked. Needs new seal too. Expensive for what we got.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank plainfieldmom
danahotelandspa, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review

Dear plainfieldmom, Thank you for choosing the dana for your stay in Chicago. I apologize we were unable to accommodate your request to be near family, sometimes the room types booked by the family members don't allow for this as an option. We should have explained this to you at check in and talked through possible options. I hope the...

Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewed 12 April 2016

I highly recommend the Dana. It is easy to get around downtown Chicago from the Dana. The property was very nice and the staff was very helpful. I also highly recommend the breakfast burrito and fried rice from the restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q7026CTjasons
Duluth
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Our second stay at the Dana and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Chicago. Best location, amenities, and ambiance. The roomy suites feel like an elegant apartment- especially with two balconies and a massive spa shower. This trip we brought along our two teenage children for their first trip to Chicago. They instantly fell in love with the town...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 750dona
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

This hotel is very beautiful and clean. The staff is also great and went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. The shower in our room was also awesome with the shower head mounted on the ceiling! The only negative was that our room was a bit chilly even though we had the heat up (pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
Bloomington
Reviewed 10 April 2016

1st time visit to Dana Hotel & Spa and couldnt be more pleased with the overall experience. The staff, amenities and location were above and beyond. I would take advantage of everything the hotel has to offer to enjoy the full offerings.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelsC6713WZ
Glenview
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We stayed over a Friday and Sat. Friday couldn't sleep due to pounding music until 4:30 a.m. Also, toilet was running all night and something dripped incessantly through both nights. Beds were comfortable and room clean, but it was hard to get any sleep. For $279 per night, I hoped for more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 904amyz
danahotelandspa, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the dana hotel and spa. We believe it is very important in helping us refine and improve our guest experience. I am extremely disappointed to hear of you experience. Providing a comfortable, quiet night of sleep is of the utmost importance to us and we deeply regret...

Lake Zurich
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We were very happy with this hotel with regard to location, kind and welcoming staff, nice waiter in restaurant. Room was OK; very stark with concrete ceiling that looked like someone forgot to finish the job. But the worst part was the noise. Noise from outside is relatively acceptable, but it felt like the walls were paper thin. We could...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 995darleneb
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review

995darleneb, thanks for reviewing your stay with us. Our dana hotel and spa team prides itself on service and guest satisfaction. I am happy to read your positive opinion of our staff, but very sorry that your stay was marred by a noisy neighbor. If you give us the opportunity to improve your opinion, I am confident that we will...

La Porte
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We picked the Dana because of the balcony option and boy am I glad we did. The views were spectacular! The bed was very comfy. The location was awesome! The only thing that might be a deal breaker is if you are going with a friend instead of your significant other because the shower was open by glass window to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianahY1484NC
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 8 April 2016

In a sea of inventory, mostly with a noticeable hotel brand logo on top of the building, the Dana Hotel is a unique gem. A combination of modern lines and architecture, and classic touches of hospitality with the best concierge and doormen in the city, it's got my vote. I've sent many industry friends there over the year and I've...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan C
Milwaukee
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Even though the roof top lounge is not technically a part of the property, They are a reflection of the hotel. I was treated very poor by the Vertigo bouncers and it severely put a damper on my trip. The hotel staff was great though

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 796veronicah

989 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (526)
Viewed
Room/Suite (166)
Viewed
Bathroom (50)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (193)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (434)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Comfy King (48)
Viewed
Corner King Room (50)
Viewed
Divine Double (44)
Viewed
Nirvana Suite (88)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Tranquil Suite (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#45 of 188 in Chicago
3,170 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#23 of 188 in Chicago
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range: $244 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from dana hotel and spa staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from dana hotel and spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Many rooms have balconies, but all have floor-to-ceiling views! When lounge was open, top floor underneath it was noisy at night.”
ellenf14, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't be fooled by the "balcony" there's a little triangle but nothing to right home about”
zoen378, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Corner suites have windows all around two sides and the views are breathtaking.”
paulasU6873IR, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Corner suites rock!”
stevesJ2044DA, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Face toward the lake, if possible.”
203maryz, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$619
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates