We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ohio House Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ohio House Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ohio House Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 488: English reviews
Marquette, Michigan
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Clean and mostly modernized in the interior. Great location although some road noise. Staff not particularly friendly, but responsive. Free parking first come first served. You cannot control your own heat. Inconveniences worth putting up with for the great value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Melissa. Thank you for choosing The Ohio House Motel for your recent stay in Chicago. I appreciate your additional time and information as well. I have shared the information with my staff and we have recommitted ourselves to our goal as being "Chicago's friendliest hotel." I hope you will give us another opportunity to present to you our number...

Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewed 22 February 2016

For those on a budget, it was really great. Central to all the good stuff in Chicago and if you get there early enough you might be able to snag some free parking. We got there late the first night and didn't get free parking, but grabbed some early the next morning after some guests had left.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zabby S
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of The Ohio House Motel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that it will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again sometime!

Iowa
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Staff is very help when you need directions to other places. Breakfast is good especailly like the Sausage Sandwiches. It simple place with all of my needs met and everything went fine at the Ohio House Motel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kbrianioa
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for choosing The Ohio House Motel for your recent stay in Chicago. It was a pleasure to serve you. See you soon. Larry

Staples ,On
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I went on this weekend with my hubby feeling a little worried about the bed bug problem since I had just been told that Chicago was the worst place in the U.S for bed bugs . I am very happy to report that the Ohio House Motel was very clean and very charming . The rates are very good for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois R
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Lois. Thank you for choosing The Ohio House Motel for your recent stay in Chicago. It was a great pleasure to meet you. We look forward to your next visit. Larry

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 16 February 2016

It was terrible. Parking is not guaranteed. I was forced to park in the street and wake up before 7am to move my car somewhere else so it wouldn't be towed. Breakfast is served in a dirty and old restaurant. They only give 2 complimentary breakfasts and I had reserved the room for 3 adults. One of my friends had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danny M
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Danny. Thank you for choosing the Ohio House Motel during your recent visit to Chicago. I'm sorry you had an unsatisfactory experience but I would like to address your concerns. Our website states that parking is free based on availability, and therefore, we are unable to guarantee a parking spot. We do not own the restaurant next door, but...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Location and free parking was great. Pictures of rooms on website were very deceiving,our room had old beat up furniture and hard lumpy beds. The free breakfast was for a chicken joint that had only one breakfast item,very disappointing. Motel staff was very friendly though.A huge effort was made to keep parking lot and side walks free of snow and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C6623PEcharlesb
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I assure you that this has been addressed by proper management. We truly appreciate your feedback!

LINCOLN
Reviewed 13 February 2016

It's a great value at the price w/breakfast and on-site parking! We may never stay anywhere else! Our only complaint is the common hallway gets a little noisy when there are late nite arrivals, but that doesn't turn us off to the property at all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libby A
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to share a bit about your experience here at The Ohio House Motel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chicago, and that your guest room was a comfortable place for you to relax and refresh. I hope that we will be able to welcome you...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Very nice motel. Clean and nothing like the Red Roof Inn. Good quality rooms. Will be there to visit again. The staff was nice and courteous and they even helped me adjust my stsy after a booking era.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarltonJ
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to share a bit about your experience here at The Ohio House Motel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chicago, and that your guest room was a comfortable place for you to relax and refresh. I hope that we will be able to welcome you...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 8 February 2016

This is my second review of Ohio House. Still an excellent bargain for short stays. It’s in a great location within walking distance of many fine restaurants including the Chicago Chop House, the Hard Rock Cafe and on the other end, “Mickey D’s” for a morning coffee and McMuffin. The “king bed” room we had has been updated with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Retired1811
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

When I went to Chicago I was shocked at the hotels parking facilities!! The hotels in downtown Chicago are not super cheap but average.. but if you add the 50 dollar a day parking fees it's crazy!! So I wanted to look for a downtown place with free parking.. impossible to find unless you want to have a 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sabrina V
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Sabrina. Thank you for your kind compliment. We enjoyed having you stay with us. You are now a proud member of The Ohio House family! See you next time! Larry

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (98)
Viewed
Queen - Double Mini Suite (29)
Viewed
Queen Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Double Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Near North Side
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#122 of 187 in Chicago
547 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ohio House Motel offers 2 star accommodations in the heart of downtown Chicago. We are walking distance from Chicago's finest attractions and are located in Chicago's River North neighborhood with free parking, Wi-Fi, HDTV, and free breakfast when you book us direct! The Ohio House Motel offers the best value lodging in downtown Chicago! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ohio House Motel

Address: 600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range: $154 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ohio House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ohio House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio House Hotel Chicago
Ohio Motel Chicago
Ohio Hotel Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ohio House Motel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
SASKATOON
7 months ago
over a year ago
United States

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ohio House Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from block F, the front door won't close.”
 of 5 bubbles BipBip2011, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get there early to ensure parking! Parking is on a first com first serve basis!!”
 of 5 bubbles kristens543, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Would not recommend bad service from general manager edgar .”
 of 5 bubbles yvetten819, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Better views from the balcony but it is only a 2 story complex.”
 of 5 bubbles kellyrJ7705ZB, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are two levels, if you're not trying to take stairs, ask for ground level”
 of 5 bubbles georgey891, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5