We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville

Save
Share
3475 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60657-1609
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$246
Expedia.comUS$246
Official HotelUS$246
PricelineUS$246
TripadvisorUS$246
Trip.comUS$271
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20-11-17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20-11-17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#154 of 214 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located two blocks south from Wrigley Field in the heart of Wrigleyville and steps from vibrant restaurants and nightlife, our pet friendly 4-Star hotel is perfect for both business and leisure. ​Experience the finest Chicago hospitality where our Concierge Team will attend to your every need. Accommodations at The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville don’t begin or end at the front door. Step out into the neighborhood and you’ll feel the unique and energetic vibe. Enjoy a bike ride along the miles of beach that stretch along the lakefront or an afternoon of shopping in one of the many unique boutiques that dot the neighborhood. In the evening, take in a live show at one of Chicago’s iconic music venues then savor some of the world’s best dining right in Lakeview. With over 30 theaters, nearly endless dining options, numerous art galleries and museums, and a variety of leisure activities available, the Wrigleyville neighborhood is where locals come to play.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Rooftop terrace
Concierge
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary welcome drink
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
68Reviews2Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 14
  • 2
  • 4
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
summercruiser wrote a review May 3
Columbus, OH108 contributions48 helpful votes
The room was as pictured. The beds were fine, although softer than I would like. There's an overhead light, which is nice. Problems: The website promised coffee and tea in the lobby in the mornings (under the section of Covid) but there wasn't any. There weren't even any cups in the room, if one wanted a glass of water. The website promises 3 drinks a day including spring water. I think I had to pay for that as part of the "activity fee". There wasn't any spring water listed in the text about ordering drinks and the available drinks could only be gotten between 6 and 7:30, pm (a time we weren't ever in the room) The website offers a roof deck; there was nothing on the website indicating the roof was closed for covid. Sometimes people answer the the phone and respond to texts but often they don't. I was asked twice to check in online after I'd already done so. I tried calling and texting to find out what the problem was, but for hours, I didn't get an answer. In addition, I was told I could get a physical room key at 4:30, but then was told I had to wait until the next day and just use my phone. Not a big deal, unless your phone dies. Then, on my last full day, my phone app and physical card wouldn't work. I had to wait 40 minutes to be let into my room. Part of the problem was that the housekeeping person thought someone was locked out on the sidewalk rather than in the lobby. He didn't ask us if we were the people waiting for him and he didn't have any ID on, , so we didn't realize he was staff (he was wearing black jeans and a t-shirt and could have been a guest) until after calling several times and asking where he was, he came downstairs a second time. This inability to get in our room for that long was a problem and it affected what we did for that evening and next morning. I understand wanting to save money or exposure to Covid by not having staffing, but if that's the case, you need to make sure your phone systems work and that your door systems are reliable. The signs make it appear you can call or text any time, but I called one morning about 16 times between 8 and 9 am and received no answer and the recorded message says Voice mail is full. Many people were having trouble getting their keys to work on the front door. The online check in asks if you want early check-in, but then doesn't inform you if you got it. I asked for 3:30 check in but never received a link to the app until I checked in with the desk clerk who was there at 4. This hotel is a great location with a nice lobby for sitting and I expect, a great bar area when it's not Covid, but I would never go again unless they increase staffing. I could have missed my flight, missed necessary medications and more. Certainly, I've been in hotels when my key stopped working---it took me 5-10 minutes to go to the desk and get a new key. This could be a fun place to stay if you improve staffing and customer service
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Try to get the top floor. We were kept awake by footsteps above long after the noise on Clark St...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
MelWisc wrote a review Apr. 2021
Milwaukee, Wisconsin280 contributions33 helpful votes
Check in required 1/2 hour on the phone hours in advance of our arrival to download a key app and activate it. That is after the phone was answered, which took 10-15 attempts. Upon arrival at the hotel at 9 pm at night in the rain and cold, the entry process was very unclear, and again the phone number rang and rang, voicemail went to "mailbox full" and the text number is disabled! We were finally admitted to the unattended lobby by another guest who had been locked out of the hotel for hours. Ultimately we figured out the key system and our room number and went up to our room. The elevator opened to a small corridor occupied by 3-4 random people just sitting on the floor in the hall. I had to step over one to get into the room. While none of them behaved in a threatening manner towards us, the opportunity for assault was huge. As we had just demonstrated, anyone can enter the hotel and have full access to all floors at any time in order to lay in wait for their victim. There is no one onsite and no one to call for help except for 911. Around 3 am there was a tremendous amount of talking laughing and music in the hall waking us up. I certainly was not going to open the room door to ask them to quiet down, and there is no one onsite or available by phone to handle this. While charged a "resort fee" of @$30 for amenities such as bottled water, beer, wine, and coffee in the morning, none of that was available. Absolutely nothing else warranted a "resort fee". In the morning we determined that only one of us would go out to find breakfast in case we were unable to re enter the hotel and the room. Sure enough the electronic key did not work for main entry nor for our room. The room had a broken towel bar, and the shower floor is improperly sloped so water flows out of the shower onto the bathroom and ultimately the entry way floor. The room was clean. Is this even legal to call yourself a hotel and have zero security and assistance only available by phone IF / WHEN it is answered? Plus an unreliable key system? And promise and charge for "amenities" that are not provided?
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Mike Smith wrote a review Jan. 2021
2 contributions
We have stayed here in the past and recommended it to friends. It is under new ownership and it’s terrible. There is no staff available for much of the day and night. The online key app is flawed. It doesn’t work. We were locked out of our room for over half of our stay. Another couple in the lobby was having the same issue. One man left his door ajar. That is enough to warrant this bad review. Here are other detail: The mandatory charge for the amenity package is a joke. We were told the beer choice was Bud Light or Coors Light. The bar are for the amenities pic is attached. None of the other promised amenities were available. Our room had no soap. The television had no service on most channels. And of course there was nobody to call for any of these problems. The hotel is messy and not as clean as you’d expect - especially during COVID. Seriously at any price this is not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill Morgenthaler, Marketing at The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville
Responded Jan. 18, 2021
Thank you for your feedback, MiSmi9999. We are sorry you were not happy with your recent stay and are addressing your concerns with our various teams as this is unacceptable. To keep our guests and staff safe, we have limited staff interaction. There is staff onsite daily to assist guests with requests and our Front Desk Agents are available by phone, text and email during operating hours. We are working with our mobile key app developer daily to ensure the best functionality for our guests. We have also installed additional lockboxes for guest keys as a back up should the app fail. We strive for complete guest satisfaction and apologize this was not your experience. We do hope you will give us another chance next time you're in the area.
Read more
Prentice M wrote a review Dec. 2020
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked a double queen room, but was contacted the day of my reservation and told that my room was no longer available, but I would be upgraded to a queen suite. Upon arriving at the hotel around 6pm, there wasn't any staff on premises, so entry was a bit of a cluster, but we figured it out. Our room "upgrade" was 100% a downgrade. The room was smaller, the bathroom so incredibly tiny, but most importantly it was FREEZING! The only heating component was a small wall heater, which no one had thought to turn on prior to our arrival. We couldn't figure out how to use the heater and since there isn't staff on premises, we didn't have anyone to ask for help. Long story short, we couldn't stay in a frigid room, so we left. I have a 10 week old baby, so heat sort of matters. I called the hotel group to let them know what had happened and was told that, despite the fact that the room was uninhabitable, they wouldn't refund my room fee. And the kicker (!!!) they overcharged me for the room. I have a call in to them, but haven't heard a word back. Long story short, I would not recommend staying here. If I could give them zero stars, please know that I would.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Cleanliness
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill Morgenthaler, Marketing at The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville
Responded Jan. 6, 2021
Hi there 94prenticem, We're sorry you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay and have contacted you directly to address your concerns. If you have any additional questions or feedback, please contact us directly. Thank you!
Read more
Jason K wrote a review Mar. 2020
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
Thanks to RICKETTS It has been CRICKETS from the management...is so annoyingto not get a response and explanation to my ordeal for over a week. Unacceptable for real. The worst experience ever. Chicago has many excellent lodging options, I wouldn’t ever suggest or stay at this amateur hour “hotel”. I’m not sure if anyone has experienced this, but it’s terrible when book a room and the hotel staff refuses to let you in, give you any information or reason and just hangs up on you repeatedly like I don’t exist. Now, this was March 19th, and this is a hotel the was accepting reservations, that I made earlier the same day. I booked a room at “the wheelhouse hotel” and when I arrived there was no one there and the door was locked...there was a sign on the registration desk that said “we will be back shortly” when I buzzed the door someone would say “Wheelhouse hotel”...I would request to be let in so I could check in and they would hang up, I did this 3 times as well as call the number listed, same thing, a guy would answer, and then hang up even after pleading with him to explain what was going on and there was no one there. The person answering the phone would not say anything other that Wheelhouse Hotel...he would listen and then not say anything and hang up, why would the idiot even answer the phone. The whole thing made no sense what so ever. Again, there are amazing hotels here that know what hospitality and customer service means...The would suggest eliminating this Unreal Surreal Ordeal House from your plans. All they had to do was say, find another hotel. And it has been a week later and I have not had one response from management, that is because they do not care...it’s not because they are busy. They do not care
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill Morgenthaler, Marketing at The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville
Responded Jan. 6, 2021
Hi there JasonKTraveler, We're sorry to hear about your experience. This hotel has been under new management since October 1, 2020 and we hope you give us a chance next time you're in the area!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$144 - US$788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Wheelhouse Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoWrigleyville / North Side / Lake View
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville
Which popular attractions are close to The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville?
Nearby attractions include Wrigley Field (0.3 km), Wrigley View Rooftop (0.4 km), and Sheffield's Beer and Wine Garden (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville?
Yes, a parking garage and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mia Francesca, Murphy's Bleachers, and Lucky's Sandwich Company.
Are pets allowed at The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Rookery Building (7.6 km), Macy's on State Street (7.1 km), and Marquette Building (7.6 km).
Does The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Chicago Hotel Collection Wrigleyville accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.