We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Show Prices
#50 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown\/River North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,048: English reviews
Pasadena, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for a two day conference. The friendly staff helped check me in. The hotel offers basic amenities, and they function well. The cleaning staff does a great job every single day. The centrally located hotel is near many public transportation options. It costs about $50 by taxi from O'Hare airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JackandResh
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our first stay at the Residence Inn Downtown River North and we will be back! We can’t say enough wonderful things about this hotel. We had a beautiful and immaculate suite, which felt more like a studio apartment. The kitchen had everything we needed to complete our stay. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. My husband had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jules7354
JAvila410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about our hotel and our staff! It is so exciting to hear about your great experience. We hope you come back to see us soon! Best regards, Julie Brecheisen

Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great room, great amenities, great location. I love Residence Inns because of the hotel-like service and amenities offered with an apartment/studio-like clean, comfortable room. But what struck me was the HUMBLE SERVICE. From cleanliness to greetings, from front door man to behind the scenes staff, everyone there knew their job, did it well, and did it smiling. Each staff member...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RicknDonna
JAvila410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing five out of five rating and great review! It delights us to know that every encounter you had was a great one, your feedback is encouraging and greatly appreciated! We hope to have the opportunity to see you again the next time you are in Chicago! Best, Josue Avila

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location with easy walking distance to downtown Chicago and all of its shopping, restaurants and attractions. Everything about this location was top notch from the valet parking attendants, to the front desk staff, and food service. The bar next to registration was a great place for a nightcap or a quick meal. Breakfast was a bit crowded but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UTCFan
JAvila410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing review and encouraging feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It brings great joy to our team to know we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to have the chance to see you again the next time your travels bring you back to Chicago! Best, Josue Avila

HunterGreen02
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room, pool, and fitness center were great. It was within walking distance to anything we wanted to do in the city. My favorite part was breakfast. Ismeta made the stay at this Residence Inn worth every penny. Excellent customer service!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HunterGreen02
JAvila410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review

Thank you for your five out of five rating and encouraging feedback! It delights us to know that you enjoyed your experience during your recent stay and we hope to see you again the next time you are back in Chicago. Best, Josue Avila

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very reasonable rate. Spacious corner room 3 windows and great views and we didn't even ask. Excellent service at the lobby, valet, and front desk. Our room was clean, very comfortable and full of amenities, the hotel in general was in new condition as it had just gone through a renovation. We will definitely be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichMom22girls
JAvila410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent feedback! It is great to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay. We hope to see you again! Best, Julie Brecheisen

Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel with no real complaints. Upper floor corner room had amazing views. "Hallway" was floor to ceiling windows and the bedroom area had wall to wall windows on each corner wall which allowed for exceptional views of the city. Kitchenette had full size fridge, microwave, small cook top, dishwasher, sink, and was fully stocked with dishes and cooking supplies....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristen C
JAvila410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for your amazing review and encouraging feedback regarding your recent stay with us! Its brings great joy to our team to know that you enjoyed an amazing experience. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago. Best, Josue Avila

Lake Forest, IL
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It has been several years since our last stay here and I am happy to report the place is much better! Before we arrived, the hotel manager, Bernice contacted me via email to be sure all details for our visit were covered and that we got the room we wanted reserved. She was most helpful in all my requests. That's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
JAvila410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for your great review and encouraging feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It delights us to know that you enjoyed your experience with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be passed on to the appropriate party. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you back to Chicago. Best,...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took a king suite here for 4 nights as part of a 2 month US holiday. The room was an open plan bedroom, lounge, dining, kitchen and while not small was not spacious & we juggled our luggage somewhat to fit in but managed OK. Bed was comfy, kitchen OK, bathroom most spacious room but wasted space!! Free wi-fi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JacquelynMaree
JAvila410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologize that we did not meet your standards. We appreciate your comments and will work our hardest to resolve the problems you have mentioned. Best regards, Julie Brecheisen

Turnhout, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is very well located, many good restaurants in the area and close to Magnificent Mile. The hotel staff are very friendly...and especially the Lady from Bosnia working in the breakfast room. She loves her job and is a joy/sunshine for the customers. Will definitely go back!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steven S
JAvila410, Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback! We hope you stay with us again soon! Best regards, Julie Brecheisen

271 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Downtown River North located just north of the Loop, offers pet-friendly suites and convenient perks in the heart of downtown. Our Chicago River North hotel is only minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and the Museum of Science & Industry. Surrounded by Chicago's best restaurants, every appetite will be satisfied. If you don't feel like dining out, we offer room service from Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You, or you can hit the brand new, Holloway's Bar in the lobby. Each suite also has a fully-equipped kitchen with all the cooking necessities. Our newly-renovated suites also have flat-screen HD TVs, free WiFi and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms featuring brand new mattresses + linens, new carpeting and stylish new pull-out sofas. Take advantage of full-service amenities such as valet/self-parking options, free breakfast, 24-hour gym, or top-floor indoor pool & hot tub with fantastic city views. Enjoy the value of the Residence Inn brand in vibrant downtown Chicago. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Price Range: $159 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors will have less street noise. We were on the 11th floor with a great view of the city from Dearborn/Kinzie St.”
 of 5 bubbles jules7354, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“High floor, front (N. Dearborn/Kinzie). Our 6th floor view was lit, lively and bustling. View from the 27th floor pool area was exceptional!”
 of 5 bubbles RicknDonna, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor offer better views”
 of 5 bubbles robtroxel, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Harry Carry's and the House of Blues are 1 block from the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles mrsslopejump, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Take the king-suites with city views, its worth the extra cost”
 of 5 bubbles dicymoon, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay