We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Welcome Hotel and Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Welcome Hotel and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of Welcome Hotel and Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed from 12/23/16. Through 12/27/16. On my last day was awakened by front desk wemon yelling with house keeper about a guest not using the rollaway bed. Sounded like two high school girls yelling and laughing very inconsiderate of paying guests. Manager should talk to employee s that worked morning of 12/27/16 About. There work ethics.other then that clean comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy S
Cassandra H, Manager at Welcome Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. As manager I have taking steps to improve the worth ethics of our employees to ensure this never happens again. We value each guest stay at our Hotel and try to make them comfortable and satisfied with their stay here as needed . Thank You for your business and hope that we can be of...

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I had a very nice stay in Decatur! The hotel was located off the freeway in a very easy to find and very quiet location. The staff was very helpful with the surrounding areas, and decorated the lobby with a lot of Christmas decorations- which gave it that "home away from home" feeling. The room itself was nice- complete with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy B
Cassandra H, Manager at Welcome Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank You for your generous review of our Hotel,we are happy you enjoyed your stay here,we work hard to keep guest comfortable and satisfied we gladly appreciate your business and look forward to accommodating you in the future if ever in our area again . Sincerely, Cassie

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel while visiting my son in decatur with all positive experiences. Friendly front desk, clean rooms, reasonable rates and decent breakfast. I beleive it is independently owned so there is the added benefit of supporting a local business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhackbarth
Cassandra H, Manager at Welcome Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at our hotel. I really appreciate the positive feedback and will make sure to share it with my staff. I am so glad you have enjoyed staying with us! I look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Friendswood, Texas
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We approached late and google maps took us in circles. We finally called hotel and eventually we found it hidden behind the Ramada Inn. Lobby looks nice but we were assigned rm 302 and there was a box fan in hall, I guess there was a water leak. The room's a/c didn't work and chair was in need of reupholstering....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fireauntx
Tara M, General Manager at Welcome Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. The box fan in the hallway was in place to dry the carpets that were being cleaned at the time. We did not have a water leak. I apologize for you having to change rooms due to the AC not working in your room. I will address...

Reviewed 17 August 2016

Overview: Only stayed for one night, but was a good experience. Called ahead to let them know I would be checking in late, and they were quick and courteous on the phone. When I arrived at 12:30am I was checked into my room promptly. Room and property is well appointed. Check out was seamless. Pros: Convenient location if you're passing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ocean J
Tara M, General Manager at Welcome Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at our hotel. I appreciate the positive feedback and will make sure to share it with my staff. I am sorry you didn't have a Do Not Disturb sign in your room. I have talked with housekeeping to make sure that all rooms have one in them.

Concordia, Kansas
Reviewed 5 July 2016

The Bathroom: Cons: It was Tight. The Under Mounted Sink that attaches to the Countertop that area needed a good scrubbing. The Floor was caked with Dirt in the Corners. The Grout and Tiles had Cracks in them. The caulking was dirty. The Blow Drier and its Cord needed to be Dusted. The Wallpaper was Stained and Separating at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RebaCM
Tara M, General Manager at Welcome Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize that you were less than satisfied with your stay with us. We are currently under renovation and in the process of replacing and repairing the issues you mentioned in your review. The cleanliness issues you mentioned were already addressed prior to your review. The staff...

Indianapolis
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We were here for a family for the weekend and my husband booked this hotel because the rating was a 4+ star. I don't know what hotel these people stayed in but it wasn't this one. Looking from the outside it was nice, even the lobby was presentable, got on the elevator still ok. Once we got to our floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CECEHILL
Tara M, General Manager at Welcome Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at our hotel. I have alerted my maintenance personnel about the phone in your guest room so we can make sure the phone is in working order. I apologize that you were unhappy with the hallway outside of your guest room and you felt that the pictures...

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Wall paper in hallways is peeling, refrigerators in rooms don't work. Sinks don't drain. Housekeeping didn't clean the room, garbage wasn't emptied, had to ask for toilet paper. Loud guests were never addressed. Staff were indifferent and talking about personal things and people in jail they knew.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vski2016
Tara M, General Manager at Welcome Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at our hotel. I apologize for the issues you incurred during your stay. I will address the issues you mentioned on a point-by-point basis with my staff to ensure that these issues do not happen again. As far as the wallpaper peeling, we are in the process...

Reviewed 16 May 2016

I have now visited Welcome Hotel and Suites on two separate occasions and am very happy to report that both the accommodations and customer service were just as fantastic as the first time I stayed here in the fall of last year! The indoor pool and hot-tub provided an excellent way to wind down after the long drive in from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
Tara M, General Manager at Welcome Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so very much! I will make sure all of my staff get to read your review! It will make their day!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 16 May 2016

I had a few issues with my room, like the window not being able to open so I can get fresh air, and they were resolved instantly. The staff were super-pleasant, and this place is tucked-in a decent area of town. You can tell they're trying hard to give customers the best experience possible- rooms were clean and amenities were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
Tara M, General Manager at Welcome Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to pass on your kind comments to my staff.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
0.1 km away
Ramada Limited Decatur
Ramada Limited Decatur
#6 of 12 in Decatur
267 reviews
12.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 12 in Decatur
64 reviews
9.7 km away
Decatur Conference Center and Hotel
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Decatur / Forsyth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Welcome Hotel and Suites is located in a suburban area with shopping, dining and movie theaters within a half mile of the property. We are conveniently located right off Highway 51 and US Interstate 72. We offer a hot buffet breakfast, a light dinner from 5-7pm Monday-Thursday, Indoor Pool, Hot tub, Fitness Center, Microwaves and Refrigerators in every room, as well as free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel and Suites

Address: 5170 N Wingate Dr, Decatur, IL 62526-9709 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Decatur)
Region: United States > Illinois > Decatur
Price Range: $93 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Welcome Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Welcome Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Welcome Hotel and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at either end of the building are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles oceanj2015, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask About Multiple Room Types!”
 of 5 bubbles elliotp448, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 841jackieg, 5 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Bring you own pillows. Hotel pillows were lumpy.”
 of 5 bubbles refelo, 20 Jun 2014 | Read review
“We had a room on 2nd floor that was very quiet and on the corner (217).”
 of 5 bubbles nurse4death, 19 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5