We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Edgcumbe Arms

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cremyll
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Edgcumbe Arms
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
dartford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely room and welcome from the landlord. Dinner was very tasty. Breakfast was not as good, but ok. Staff were mixed in terms of friendliness, but recommend for business in Cornwall if you are aware of the local roads.

Helpful?
Thank p1simon
Donna P, General Manager at The Edgcumbe Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Apologies if you did not find all the staff approachable we do aim to provide a relaxed, friendly service for all our visitors & guests. However we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lovely rooms. More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A warm welcome awaits in this pub, firstly from the lovely crackling fire and then the staff. We went here for Sunday lunch and left feeling so full and satisfied. The carvery was fresh and delicious, everything cooked so well and generous portions of meat. To finish it off the pub is in a perfect location for a nice walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Foxyvegaschick
Donna P, General Manager at The Edgcumbe Arms, responded to this review

It's great to know you enjoyed your visit to us for Sunday lunch especially our open fire and carvery. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Ruislip
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We chose the Edgecumbe Arms as it was a bed and breakfast that my parents had stayed for a couple of nights earlier last year. We found it very pleasant and welcoming. The room was spacious and the en suite a fantastic shower. Very good food too. Thanks.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
Donna P, Manager at The Edgcumbe Arms, responded to this review

We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay on recommendation of you parents. It's great to know you were happy with your room and food. Thank you. More 

Dursley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

The bed and breakfast has been refurbished and the standard was excellent. Very tastefully decorated, plentiful supply of toiletries and big fluffy towels. Although it was a Saturday night, after a few rowdies had left in the early evening, it was very quiet. We ate in the pub, staff were very helpful and one small problem (missing salads with burgers)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela T
Donna P, Manager at The Edgcumbe Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we're pleased you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and location. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Kew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We were looked after so well from the moment we arrived. Our large room was beautifully decorated, very clean and looked out over the sea. Really quiet too. The food was delicious, specially the fish in tempura batter! We loved the historic location, so much to see and do, coastal walks..... and Plymouth is just a ferry hop away. We'll... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggy D
Donna P, Manager at The Edgcumbe Arms, responded to this review

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt that you were looked after. We always try to put our guests first. Thank you for the feedback on our newly refurbished bedrooms and our fabulous location. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I would have loved to have stayed here as planned for my birthday weekend, but unfortunately we arrived to find the pub had double booked our room. We had booked through booking.com 6 weeks earlier and it appears as though this booking was somehow not transferred to the book where the pub records all it's bookings and we were not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liana K
Donna P, Manager at The Edgcumbe Arms, responded to this review

We are ever so sorry that with the trouble you experienced when trying to stay with us. As explained via private message, we have been experiencing some technical issues with booking.com which have now been rectified. We're pleased you liked our location and the pub itself and do hope that you visit us again. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

I must admit that i haven't been at the Edgcumbe Arms for many years,but i was not disappointed on a busy Summer's day. We went for a light lunch and to be fair to the staff they did warn me that there was about a 45 minutes wait for food,and as the sun was shining on a beautiful day we... More 

Helpful?
Thank SamSam1960
Donna P, Manager at The Edgcumbe Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit. More 

York North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Ordered burger and chips When it arrived the chips were dry, no garnish and poor presentation all for £11.95. Would definitely not recommend this pub and they need to take note of the negative comments. A lovely situated pub we have stayed and eaten there before and it's a shame we were so disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Fwips
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here in two rooms over the weekend of 13/14th August and the rooms were lovely. The one we had , with views over the river was excellent. The staff were really helpful and the food we had in the evening was great, as was breakfast (the full English is huge !) yes, it is incredibly busy when a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan R
jacqui_southw, Owner at The Edgcumbe Arms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

The food was not nice it took almost an hour for the food to come out and for the price I was absolutely mortified. One of the chicken dishes was undercooked, and all of the food was Greasy, next time I'll settle for a picnic! Would not recommend and will defiantly not eat there again!

Helpful?
Thank tasha-e90

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Edgcumbe Arms

Address: | The Edgcumbe Arms, Cremyll PL10 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Cremyll
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Edgcumbe Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have sea views, some are bigger than others”
 of 5 bubbles MaggyD300, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a view of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles CaptainBovril, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms over looking the tamar river”
 of 5 bubbles stephenl880, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 1”
 of 5 bubbles kevingT3687XG, 24 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Room 1 had great views if you don't mind a small double bed and a noisy corner room!”
 of 5 bubbles PenelopeJane1948, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5