We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Main Street Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Main Street Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Main Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 January 2016

First time staying with 2 other couples. The customer service was incredible, the Inn beautiful and the area, just awesome. Highly recommend, excellent location. Clean, quaint rooms and friendly, available innkeepers. We hit bad weather on our way out and they offered to let us stay another night, if needed, at a discounted rate because they were concerned for our...

2Thank Stephanie P
Momence, Illinois
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Stayed in the English Room, very quiet and roomy. Located downtown where we could walk everywhere. Downside was no parking, had to rely on parking on the street or paying at a nearby business. Would return.

1Thank 588cathy
MainStInnGalena, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We too wish we had a parking lot, but until then we'll keep helping customers find spots nearby. Look forward to seeing you again!

Davenport, Iowa
Reviewed 23 December 2015

A really neat,clean, quiet place to stay with reasonable prices, and a great downtown location, close to shops and restaurants. parking is close to hotel and is no problem. Rooms are nicely decorated and appealing to the eye.

1Thank don J
Oswego, Illinois
Reviewed 11 December 2015

BB decor and wonderful service. Really a BB w/o the breakfast. Great to be right on main st during the Christmas season. Super value. Very clean. Anna was very personable and attentive. No biggy my wife did not bring hair dryer none in the room.

Thank kengawlik45
mainstinn, Manager at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Ken. We do have multiple hair dryers available in the buffet located in the lobby and are sorry we didn't catch your wife's need. We hope to see you again soon! -Anna

Quincy, Illinois
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Amazing place to stay so close to all the shopping. Great hospitality. Lots of things to make you feel at home. Quiet and comfortable and well priced! We went for our anniversary and loved every minute of our trip. Can very easily walk to everything from this Inn.

1Thank tammyilustr8s
Berwyn, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 22 November 2015

This is our favorite and only place we stay in Galena. We visit every year during Nouveau Weekend, not to celebrate the wine but to celebrate our anniversary. The Inn is always a great place to stay. We pull into town on Friday and don't have to get in the car until Sunday morning. The innkeeper at the hotel is...

1Thank Kathleen S
Oregon, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 November 2015

This was only my 3rd year staying at Main Street Inn and it was wonderful as usual. I am very pleased with the Main Street Inn and enjoy staying there. We all have such a great time and the location is fantastic! Can't wait for next year!

2Thank JulesbytheSea0321
Reviewed 9 November 2015

This was our 13th year of staying at the Main Street Inn in Galena. All 14 of us are from Wisconsin and spend a girls' weekend in Galena each fall. We have such a great time, we plan on continuing this tradition - well, until we can't! Main Street Inn is very good to us. We rent all 6 rooms...

1Thank HawaiiTraveler0909
McHenry, Illinois
Reviewed 24 October 2015

This inn is next to the trolley stop so offers a nice walk up and down Main Street. The innkeepers are extremely helpful. Though on the 2nd floor, they will meet you and carry luggage up for you, if necessary. There is a selection of 5 rooms of varying sizes. Ours was the smallest but there is a small parlor...

Thank Louette A
Reviewed 10 October 2015

One positive: lots of HOT water. We stayed in the European Room one night 10/6/15. Did not investigate the hotel beforehand. Should have. The place was very shabby. Mattress was very old. Pillows were "broken" - they felt like sacks of flour; I had a stiff neck by midnight. There was a light bulb broken in the bathroom. Tiles on...

Thank Chris60148
MainStInnGalena, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. It doesn't seem that we are a good fit for your particular needs, though we have many many guests that return to us time and time again because they love the Inn. Your stay was during our busiest 2 weeks of the year, so our apologies for...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (24)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Room/Suite (4)
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
3.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
3.3 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.5 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
0.3 km away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 37 in Galena
1,215 reviews
0.4 km away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 37 in Galena
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Galena's historic downtown Main Street, the Main Street Inn is a cozy, inviting place to relax that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places (circa 1850). We offer 6 luxurious and spacious rooms that will meet the needs of romantic adventures, friend getaways, or anything in between.Walk out our front door and take a stroll up Main Street. Browse through Galena's unique stores and boutiques, enjoy dining at one of Galena's fine restaurants, or simply enjoy the comforts of your room.Whatever your reason for coming to Galena, the Main Street Inn is here for you. Not sure what to do while in town? We can help you there too! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 404 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2231
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Price Range: $126 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Galena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Main Street Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Main Street Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are only 6 rooms, so book early if possible. Price varies based on the size of the room”
 of 5 bubbles sdr614, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“because the building is old, the room we stayed in had a much needed attic fan, so ask for the room with the attic fan in it.”
 of 5 bubbles bamah, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are only six rooms and all are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles 604gailr, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Vista room is farthest from the common room and quiet at night, but you hear street traffic during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles novemberwolfclaxton, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I feel all the rooms were very nice !!”
 of 5 bubbles Bonnie55528, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5