We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 256: English reviews
Channahon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The hotel is clean, the staff friendly, the pool was nice. But we got charged three times for the room, my company card was charged twice and my personal card was charged once, which is very disturbing because I never gave them that card. I thought I was going through the hotel website to reserve the room, but they must... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review

Dear Kevin C, Thank you for staying with us and leaving your feedback. I appreciate your feedback on the level of cleanliness, pool facility and pleasant staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service. It is certainly not our intent to cause undue distress to our valued guests. Your concerns regarding the erroneous charges... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

The staff was great, fun, smiles! I had no ne request they could not do, but I'm very particular 😜( I like earl grey tea ) and they could not always get it. That said, and we can all tell I'm just trying to find something, all was great. One other thing the pool water was cool. The room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2016

My wife is some sort of a member so they give a special rate . which keep in mind if you have to leave early it is none refundable. we were there for two nights and had to come home due to an illness in the family and my wife"s credit card was still billed $637.14 for two nights which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review

Dear Richard L, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the agreed cancellation policy when you made the reservation and the experience you had with the noise which fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

I highly recommend having any event at the Crowne Plaza! They went above and beyond to make our reception as perfect as could be. We originally set the date for 6/3/16 a year prior unfortunately do to a family emergency we had to reschedule 3 days before the reception! Not only did Crowne Plaza allow us to reschedule they also... More 

Helpful?
Thank funnyrok
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting Chicago hoping to have a romantic getaway in a nice hotel. The lobby is gorgeous and the rooms are updated but not very nice. We were hoping for a hot tub as the pool seemed nice, but no. Also, no tub at all. The ceiling's were low and lots of kids were running around. It... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank kasfb
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review

Dear kasfb, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you liked our lobby and apologize if the hotel's... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

My husband stays here when he is here on business and is always telling me about a lady that works the bar and how wonderful the food is at the restaurant. Last weekend, our daughter joined me on the train to Chicago and we were picked up at the Itasca Metra station. We dropped my husband off at the office... More 

Helpful?
Thank pwrwmn
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This was our option hotel after having a bad experience with the Holiday Inn in Itasca. I was not impress when we drove around to look for this place, the building is so so, but when we got in in the lobby is ok, clean, no smell, not hot. AC is working.! We got a king size bed with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank journeyjtg
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This poorly remodeled Holiday Inn is a wannabe hotel. It is purgatory on the way to the gates of hell. Do not be fooled by the entirely photoshopped website. Bubbling wallpaper nearly falling off the bathroom walls, musty and damp air conditioning, refurbished desk/ diy paint job, this pull out couch has a metal spring right in the middle of... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle T
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review

Dear Michelle T, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time in our hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.... More 

Lincolnwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

This is a great hotel with a great staff and large pool. Hotels internet is super fast and the pool is quite large. The glen prairie restaurant is amazing! Hotel allows for early check in and parking is free. They have a managers reception from 5-6 pm .

Helpful?
Thank jdaubs
Nick K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove, responded to this review

Crowne Jewel, Thanks you for your kind note. We appreciate it and hope your return soon! More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

My entire family stayed at the hotel for a wedding. The entire experience was terrible. First of all, the rooms were not ready after family including my very elderly grandmother flew overnight. Until we became angry and threatened to write an ugly review, did the manager act and make rooms appear. Second, I checked into my aunt's room with my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elena J
Management response:

ElanaJ, thanks you for your review. I do understand that this was a disappointing experience and for that I do apologize. I believe this has been cleared, if not please feel free to contact me directly. Crowne Plaza Glen Ellyn General Manager Nick Katinos 630-629-6000 nkatinos@cpgglenellyn.com More 

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellyn
3.2 km away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
2.9 km away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
3.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - Lombard/Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Comfort Suites Lombard
Comfort Suites Lombard
#7 of 10 in Lombard
85 reviews
3.5 km away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
6.1 km away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Green hotel in Glen Ellyn Offers Service and Comfort Located just off I-355 and near Chicago, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove is the ideal hotel for both business and leisure travelers. With seven high-tech meeting rooms and convenient access to regional and Chicago's attractions, our hotel in Glen Ellyn is the Place to Meet. Just minutes from our Glen Ellyn hotel's location you'll find corporate headquarters, including McDonald's corporate offices, just three miles away. Sara Lee, Accenture and Aramark are each within five miles of our hotel in Glen Ellyn. You can leave the driving to us and use our complimentary shuttle to area companies and attractions within six miles. While lodging in our Glen Ellyn hotel leisure guests can easily visit area attractions that include the Morton Arboretum, Yorktown Center and Oakbrook Mall. You can fully relax in rooms that feature 32' LCD TVs, Roomlinx Entertainment and high-speed Internet access. Our Glen Ellyn hotel has made a commitment to the environment with recycling programs and low E glass windows. Our restaurant, Glen Prairie Fine Food & Drink, also supports sustainable farming practices by using natural ingredients. From the natural colors and textures to our environmentally friendly programs, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove hotel offers guests great accommodations with a commitment to living green. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove

Address: 1250 Roosevelt Rd, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-6006
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Glen Ellyn
Price Range: $132 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glen Ellyn Lombard Hotel Glen Ellyn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's located at a busy intersection, best to get a back room”
 of 5 bubbles KevinC750, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to stay away from the elevators for a quiet stay”
 of 5 bubbles pwrwmn, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Best place”
  • granite SUPER hot showers
  • granite SUPER hot showers very nice big bathroom
  • granite SUPER hot showers
  • granite SUPER hot showers
  • granite SUPER hot showers
 of 5 bubbles jenniferkristopherw, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from rooms near vending machine”
 of 5 bubbles TheSusilos, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I was in the front of the hotel fronting on Roosevelt but had no noise issues.”
 of 5 bubbles 197jillc, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay