We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ruebel Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ruebel Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ruebel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Montgomery City, Missouri
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We love going to the shops in Grafton, and decided to have lunch there also. We picked Ruebel Hotel. I wish we hadn't. First, we were greeted with a shout across the room to "sit wherever we wanted" even though the sign said please wait to be seated. So, we picked the table that was the least messy looking and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer U
illinois
Reviewed 12 September 2016

we have stayed here twice in the last couple of months and will return again. charming, spotless rooms. the owners, who are the nicest people ever, have retained the vintage look of the hotels era but added all the modern conveniences, like ice cold air conditioning that you can control and a shower with more hot water and water pressure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burtle112263
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The restaurant was quite busy and I understand that it's hard to get every order right in that sort of situation; I am keeping this in mind with my review. However, I feel like the addition of one or two more servers and or cooks, especially on a Saturday afternoon, would definitely improve the customer's experience. I had the burger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V B
Grinnell, Iowa
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We recently spent a weekend at the Ruebel Hotel in scenic Grafton, Illinois and couldn't have been more pleased. If you are looking for a covered canopy, valet parking, or help with your luggage, keep looking. But if you want the charm that only a historic venue can offer, while sacrificing none of the comforts of modern hotels, the Ruebel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
KKJean, General Manager at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to take the time to thank you for your wonderful review. It is so nice knowing that we do please some people as we try our very best to always do that but sometimes it just doesn't work out that way. It was a pleasure having you as guests and we hope you return to us in...

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We were given a gift certificate for this place. We decided to book it for the weekend of our 35th anniversary. We arrived around 6:45 pm on a Friday evening. There was a young man in the bar who came out to check us in. He had never heard of this gift certificate. He asked for a receipt. I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lisa B
KKJean, General Manager at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Although, there are many inconsistencies in your review that I would like to address. When you presented your gift certificate the employee stated that he had not seen a gift certificate like this because all of our gift certificates are for money amounts not actual packages as it give the freedom to the customer...

Dahlgren, Virginia
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Just ok and that is If you don't mind the lack of hot water and loud music from the bar until they shut down! We checked in for a weekend stay since we couldn't book both nights at Pere Marquette Lodge. Dealings with the front desk is by notes left by management. To check in we were instructed to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tkjck
KKJean, General Manager at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We were told that by going to a tank less hot water system it was going to be great. Customers would never run out of hot water. Well, if I would have known what I know now I would have never had it installed and would have saved a...

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

We drove through this tiny town along the Mississippi and stumbled this stunning little hotel that was built in 1879 and totally restored. Gorgeous room, incredible staff and most of all, fantastic food. We had dinner and I would do it again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schlieckau
KKJean, General Manager at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We greatly appreciate it. We hope that you will be returning to us in the near future.

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the reubel hotel once again for our anniversary. As always, great service and staff. Rooms are extremely clean and well kept. Beds have always been comfortable. We have stayed there many times over the last 8 years and have never had an issue. We will be returning many more times in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kinann2011
MoKhamee, Manager at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure having customers like yourself and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Marion, Illinois
Reviewed 6 June 2016

First of all, this hotel is outdated and dirty. My daughter stayed in room 12 and she caught bed bugs!!! Aside from that, it's overpriced and poorly managed. Never in my life have I met someone so rude, inconsiderate, and unprofessional. I witnesses the owner yelling at customers and threatening to cancel their reservations because they checked in at 7....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnbrad13
MoKhamee, Owner at Ruebel Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The issue with another customer was an isolated case and perhaps it was not addressed in a professional manner at the time. Our hotel was built in 1879 and we have tried to keep the old time nostalgia décor with the comforts of the 21st century for our customers as...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Great staff, drinks and room. Love this little gem...and it's less than an hour from home so we can visit often. So relaxing by the river and so many things to do in the area. Had dinner on Saturday there and breakfast Sunday morning. So great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
9.4 km away
Pere Marquette Lodge & Conference Ctr, BW Premier Collection
27.1 km away
Atrium Hotel & Conference Center
24.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/Alton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
18.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel St Charles
24.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Ruebel Hotel Restaurant
Ruebel Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small 22 room boutique hotel. Charming character with 21st century amenities. Located in the center of town on main street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ruebel Hotel

Address: 217 E. Main Street, Grafton, IL 62037
Region: United States > Illinois > Grafton
Price Range: $115 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruebel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ruebel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruebel Hotel Grafton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ruebel Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
1 month ago
1 month ago
Staunton, Illinois
2 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ruebel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a Superior room or better”
 of 5 bubbles gmauel, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is only one room with a private river view balcony - I would recommend that one if it is available.”
 of 5 bubbles words2music, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a view of the river - really pretty!!”
 of 5 bubbles SunsetBeachLover725, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see the room before you pay the bill to make sure it is what you expect.”
 of 5 bubbles 808genem, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we have stayed at the balcony room and the standard room. both are great.”
 of 5 bubbles burtle112263, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5