We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Super 8 Gurnee

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Gurnee
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 181: English reviews
Hudson, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 100stant
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathygC3205QM
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Granger, Indiana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best things about this hotel is they have in room jetted tubs and the prices are decent. You are within a very short drive to Gurnee Mills and lots of places to eat. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice. I only have a couple of negatives. The first being the breakfast. The breakfast hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TACKY-TOURIST-GANG
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We always take our guests feedback and comments seriously. We are happy to know that you was happy with our front desk person and our prices. But, at the same time we would also like to apologize for the inconvenience about the breakfast hours, and juice issue you have mentioned. We have taken a serious...

Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 202helenn
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel for it's proximity to the Six Flags amusement park. You can walk to the park from this hotel. It's a little dumpy, there was weird neon cartoon paintings on the main floor which was creepy, and it was a little smelly and outdated. BUT it was cheap, you got a discount at the Golden Corral, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadene R
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you much for your comments. We will be glad to have you again as our guest.

Naperville, Illinois
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The lobby is small and dated. The pool is right off the lobby. The free breakfast is weak. The room was surprisingly nice and comfortable. Good for one or 2 nights. Its a good value but Id like to see the lobby improved since its the first impression, oh and English speaking staff at the desk would be good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gqrochi
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you for comments. We will try and look into the issues you have mentioned about breakfast and the lobby. Thanking you again for being our guest and we look forward to have you as our guest again in future.

Colona, Illinois
Reviewed 25 October 2016

My husband and I were going to Six Flags and we just needed a place to crash after a long day. This was it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 684ericaf
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response.

Ohio, United States
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Great location right off highway. Loved the large room and memory foam mattresses. Hallway had a smokey smell to it, but rooms were very clean smelling. Room was quiet and we got a good nights sleep. Breakfast was very basic and has waffles in the toaster, not a waffle maker. Staff was friendly and helpful with directions and answering a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita R
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and we appreciate your response and comments. Hope to see you again soon.

Spencer, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Don't expect to put food in fridge, fan in bathroom doesn't work, heater in room didn't work. Ice machine in basement. Over priced for what you get. I paid for king, got a queen. Breakfast is not hot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 827jonathanz
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Super 8 Gurnee. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectations, We will surely look into the issues you have mentioned.

Minneapolis
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We were in town to attend my son's ceremony from military boot camp. The hotel was clean & staff was friendly. Breakfast was very basic such as cereal, yogurt, bread, coffee etc. I liked that there were restaraunts nearby so we didn't need to travel far to eat. My parked car was hit by another car in the parking lot,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lsy Y
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us, and we will be looking forward to see you again soon.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
187 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Convenient, family friendly,newly renovated, clean rooms, memory foam mattress, only 1000 feet away from six flag Chicago ,no need to spend $25 for parking at six flag.Free wireless internet,Indoor pool,free hard wired internet,free grand breakfast,free parking,cabal t.V.,Hairdryer and iron and ironing board,nearly 14 dining option in walking distance,great location,gurnee mill mall is 1 mile,great lake naval station 6.7.Mile, oversize specious room,off 94 interstate on route 132. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Gurnee

Address: 5520 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-4901 (Formerly Grand Hotel and Suites)
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Price Range: $86 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gurnee 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gurnee
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gurnee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Gurnee staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Gurnee staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay off the main floor, corner rooms are best”
 of 5 bubbles 547nadener, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side are quieter" bottom floor easier in and out”
 of 5 bubbles sonjal624, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Very nice place to stay . You'll be comfortable and Happy”
 of 5 bubbles kennyandtruck, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Really close to the Naval Base and the mall. You will not be disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles 653gailm, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“must stay here if planning a trip you won't be dissapointed”
 of 5 bubbles 537jasone, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay