We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 216: English reviews
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a great place to stay if you're going to Six Flags or shopping at Gurnee Mills. It's right there! The hotel is nicely decorated and very clean. The pool area is big and clean and the Spice restaurant inside not only has great food but kids eat free. We stay here every summer when taking the kids...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PerzFamily
Reviewed 22 August 2016

good staff, friendly guests, shuttle to local attractions. Right across from gurnee mills, next to restaurants and bars. Right next door to six flags great america. I was up late and they let me have a late check out with out charging my card for another night. I have stayed in a lot of hotels that do that these guys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I felt I was in a great Holiday Inn. Superior room, excellent service, and a friendly workers. The room was always clean and quite so I was able to sleep soundly. The workers at the Holiday inn always help me when I needed anything, if it was a problem with the transportation or if I just need some linens. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel H
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

I have a hard time sleeping, this is the first time in a while that I had a great night(s) sleep. Not sure what mattress they use but I would love to own one. Breakfast in the morning was great and Joe who worked in the restaurant couldn't have been nicer. Great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldemar
Wisconsin
Reviewed 8 August 2016

First time staying at this hotel. Nice room; Very clean and comfortable bed. I think that this hotel was a little pricey to not have breakfast included. We paid $129 for a standard king without the breakfast. I have paid less than that at very nice hotels with at least a continental breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
rockford, United States
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Family trip to Great America.... We selected this Holiday Inn because of the free transportation to the park. The hotel itself is great- nice and clean rooms, nice pool, friendly staff, and a great small restaurant.... It is at a busy intersection, so it is not very quiet when outside, but you don't notice it while inside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
Clinton, Iowa
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Not a bad hotel but the bathroom was dirty. Also the shuttle to Six Flags dropped us off in one spot but picked up in a different spot than we were instructed. You would think by now their drivers would be consistent. This caused a large group of people to miss the shuttle. The worste part is the hotel did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Brian T, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a candid review. I am happy to know that you had a smooth check-in, regarded our beds to be nice and found we have a nice selection of beer with a very friendly bar staff. On the other hand, it is disheartening that the...

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

If they had paid me to stay, I would write a review like, "they try hard." Since I paid however, I can't comment so highly. First room: unpacked all our gear and found out air conditioner broken. Advice from maintenance: "you could see if we can fix It, but probably better to move." Room two, day two: "I'll shave and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Matthew D, Thank you for leaving a candid review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We value each feedback as this will allow us identify the areas that may benefit from our additional attention. It is disheartening to know that your experience was not as pleasant as it should have been. This is not the customer service we endeavor to...

Ohio
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on the way back home to Ohio from Minnesota. Usually we book our rooms ahead of time, but this time we were unsure of where we would be at that time of day. I read ok reviews about this Holiday Inn so decided to give it a try. The hotel could use updating. It is not well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank familytravelerOhio4
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear familytravelerOhio4, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing. We are sorry for not living up to your expectations and for not creating a memorable stay for you. The feedback we receive...

Lynwood, Illinois
Reviewed 18 July 2016

When we first arrived I was not sure???? The lady that I believe her name was Rose she did not seem friendly and I was asking her questions about rates of some kind and she just kind of blew me off and didn't offer any discount with a glum look on her face. Other people told me to ask about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeyGirly14

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
1.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
1.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
1.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are Lake County's treasure with 10,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space, onsite dining, and signature accomodations for business or leisure travelers in Gurnee, Waukegan, Libertyville and more. We are now featuring 210 fully renovated contemporary guest rooms and elegant meeting space. Our full service property offers one of the largest pools in Lake County and a state of the art fitness center. We are right across the street from Gurnee Mills Mall and just minutes away from Six Flags Great America. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Address: 6161 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-1613
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Price Range: $92 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are well furnished & clean, 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles joannesparker, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I go for least expensive rooms if i travel alone.”
 of 5 bubbles N8376KObobs, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't be discouraged by Rose. Breakfast was awesome and friendly staff !!!”
 of 5 bubbles HeyGirly14, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Has 4 floors and elevators on both ends.”
 of 5 bubbles Y9257TVstevenw, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“4th floor for quiet and 1st for less walking”
 of 5 bubbles 507christam, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay