We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the nicest rooms I stayed in. Friendly staff, well kept rooms. Only downside was no breakfast, other than that great experience. Lots of accommodation and recent updates. Definitely recommend.. Will be returning on my way back home..:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinarush26
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

The manger told us they just update all there roon this year 2017. Every thing looks good here losts of electric out let we choose this hotel because they pet friendly the room has in room coffee and micrwsnd refrigerater

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lacey S
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Stayed here thinking we weren't in need of anything fancy and all we really wanted was a clean bed, a clean shower, and a good nights sleep to make the 13 hour drive to Denver from there. For $50 we got non of those things. The room was dirty, stains on the carpet, dirty curtains, and a strange smell throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Florian S
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

My family and I were on our way to Nevada and this was scheduled to be our first stop. We wanted a cheap place to stay literally for 4 or 5 hours so we could get down the road early and not only did we have the dirtiest skankiest and loudest females occupying the room next to us. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jmahaffey1984
stailor847, Owner at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We are really appreciate your comments. If the next door guest was loud, you should've dial 0 and let front desk clerk know so we could take care of the problem or change the room and about room being hot, all...

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 11 August 2015

One of the worst places I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in some doozies-- old and rundown I can accept. Old and rundown and filthy, well, that can be not so bad, depending. But this has become a long-term residence, catering to folks that live there by the week and month-- I mean, even the staff look homeless. People...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neal f
stailor847, General Manager at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Mr. Neal for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments. This is not long-term residence motel we don't rent by the month here I really don't understand what the problem is people Traveling with there Bicycle or Front desk clerk being old man instead...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 May 2015

If all you need is a bed, a bathroom, and a roof over your head, this place isn't too bad. The price of our room was under $50. The paint on the door to our room was peeling. The carpet in the hallway is dirty like it hasn't be vacuumed in a while. The room had sort of a coffee-cigarette...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colbyRachmaninoff
stailor847, Manager at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments. thank you for undersranding you can't buy Luxury under $50 if people want laxury room they should accept to pay more luxury but under $50 we have basic room which include T.V, Cable, wireless internet ,...

Reviewed 23 March 2015

This is an older motel just south of downtown. We needed to stay cheap. The room was small and clean. It came with microwave, fridge, coffee maker and hair dryer. New light fixtures. I have stayed in major economy chain properties that were much poorer condition and paid a lot more.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil J
United states
Reviewed 7 November 2014 via mobile

The room was small and clean. It is an older building and it shows. The bed was reminiscent of something that you would have in a college apartment. The shower had lots of hot water with good pressure. Good value for $40 if all you want to do is sleep. Not the ritz by any stretch. We will stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notsopicky_42
Reviewed 18 October 2014

My husband and I are on a road trip and needed a bed to sleep in and didn't want to pay much. This place was pretty cheap so that was nice. We also didn't see any bugs except the dead flies in the cobwebs on the window sill. Overall, it was pretty gross. I kept my shoes on until I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank TravelinPeads
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I was in town for a week and just needed a place to sleep, wasn't looking for anything fancy and I wasn't expecting much from this place. But even for the cheap rate I felt like I was way overpaying. It is definitely not taken care of whatsoever. There was some kind of gooey substance all stuck on the walls,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Xdanielle

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
4.1 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
421 reviews
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
#2 of 14 in Mount Vernon
433 reviews
4.1 km away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
319 reviews
4.8 km away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#6 of 14 in Mount Vernon
354 reviews
3.8 km away
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
#8 of 14 in Mount Vernon
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Address: 750 S 10th St, Mount Vernon, IL 62864-5311
Region: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Price Range: $69 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't stay here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 991florians, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
1 of 1