We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harpole's Heartland Lodge, Inc

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nebo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 40: English reviews
Start your review of Harpole's Heartland Lodge, Inc
 Click to rate
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The lodging and accommodation 5* The food and people were awesome. Ate like a kind for the weekend. The snow goose hunting was a bummer. 5 or 6 big snow goose spreads (only one with Harpole's) are all in one area. It is way too overpressured. Also with snowgeese being migratory birds you have to kind of hope that the...

Thank liecrm02
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I participated in the Couples Weekend Getaway, to celebrate our 14th anniversary. We were amazed with the whole adventure, as this destination is a hunter's paradise! Not only does the lodging scream "outdoor beauty", but it was super clean as well. From wine tasting to shooting, the staff was always friendly and helpful. The food was amazing,...

Thank Rebecca R
Harpole, Owner at Harpole's Heartland Lodge, Inc, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review Rebecca! I am glad you enjoyed the Couples' Weekend Getaway and we could be a part of your 14th anniversary celebration!

Lonedell, Missouri
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our weekend at Harpole's Heartland Lodge was fantastic! The room was great, & clean. The food plan they offer was super. Wanda & her staff was top notch people. We really enjoyed our time here! We will be back!

Thank Larry K
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic weekend! We had a blast, met a lot of new friends, and stayed busy with activities. So relaxing, and the food is unbelievable. The wait staff, the desk staff, and the house keeping staff are absolutely focused on the guests. I can't wait to go back.

Thank jefstac
Harpole, Owner at Harpole's Heartland Lodge, Inc, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review! I am glad you had a great time! I look forward to your return. Gary

Wentzville, Missouri, United States
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

My bestie and I visited for Girls Getaway Weekend. She had been before and tried to explain the beauty and charm of this place but honestly nothing she could have said would have been able to accurately and completely represent what Heartland Lodge is all about. So I am not even going to attempt it in this review. All I...

Thank Angela H
Harpole, Owner at Harpole's Heartland Lodge, Inc, responded to this review

Thank you Angela for the great review! I am glad you enjoyed the Girls Getaway Weekend! I look forward meeting your husbands and seeing you in April! Gary

Troy, Illinois
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We decided to splurge and stay in the room with sauna and whirlpool. Very nice, except walk out on patio and several of the decking was rotten and holes, told Dena she could care less. Our friends brought horses and what they charged and they did not clean the stalls before she got there, was awful she spent hours cleaning...

Thank lara p
Harpole, Owner at Harpole's Heartland Lodge, Inc, responded to this review

I always welcome constructive feedback and suggestions for improvement when it’s accurate, however this review is misleading and inaccurate. Lara enjoyed staying here so much in 2014 she rebooked for a second girls’ getaway weekend the following year (as her title states) and also reserved a separate stay for her and her husband in June 2015. For the girls’ getaway...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We go to Harpole's every couple of years, in the fall, to celebrate our Anniversary and ride our ATV. The staff at Harpole's always tries to make your stay enjoyable and accommodate your needs.We set up impromptu horseback rides, and ATV rentals without a problem. At the end of a long day exploring the ATV trails (they just opened up...

Thank madcheddar
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Harpole's Heartland Lodge had everything we were looking for, and way beyond. The Original Lodge was spotless - gorgeous! Really sharp designed interior. Everything working in tip top condition - nothing quirky about this place, and yet had such a comfortable touch of home. We couldn't have been more comfortable. The staff made us feel so welcome, like family. The...

1Thank Eleanor S
Harpole, Owner at Harpole's Heartland Lodge, Inc, responded to this review

Thank you Eleanor for the kind review! I am happy to hear that you had a great time! I look forward to your next visit! Gary

Marysville, Washington
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Second visit and just as impressed this time as the first time. LOVE this place. The hospitality, the food and everything is top notch. Treated like family! Both times I have been the lodging was pristine and the food amazing. Have been here with my family of over 20 and then with just the sisters and mom and both times...

Thank Dawn M
Harpole, Owner at Harpole's Heartland Lodge, Inc, responded to this review

Thank you for the very kind review Dawn. I am glad you enjoyed your stays with us and I look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Gary

Reviewed 24 June 2016

We stayed at Harpole's this past week, Wednesday through Thursday and could not have had a better time! We stayed in the Pintail Room at Sunset Valley Lodge, which is one mile away from the Original Lodge (The Big House). There is another lodge called Prairie Ridge, and then the Heavenly View Cabin, which can only be booked by a...

Thank KCLJ520
Harpole, Owner at Harpole's Heartland Lodge, Inc, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! I appreciate you staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return!

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (41)
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Family/Play Areas (5)
Dining (5)
View from Room (2)
Room/Suite (6)
Bathroom (1)
Other (7)


  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Harpole's Heartland Lodge, Inc

Address: Rt 1 Box 8a, Nebo, IL 62355-9801
Region: United States > Illinois > Nebo
Price Range: $100 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harpole's Heartland Lodge, Inc staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms very small, overpriced”
 of 5 bubbles 752larap, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The main cabin is the nicest and your room connects to the dining hall.”
 of 5 bubbles madcheddar, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Splurge for a hot-tub. Its worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles 538EleanorS, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed during mid-week in the Sunset Valley lodge, 1 mile from the Big House....we had the entire lower floor to ourselves!”
 of 5 bubbles KCLJ520, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the rec room may be quieter in the AM than rooms near the dining room.”
 of 5 bubbles 406gregl, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5