We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 107: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch with a friend a few weeks ago. Food was fantastic, fresh and warm and served quickly. The place was tidy and clean. Staff very friendly. Especially Alison(I am sure that was her name) she couldn't do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. You can see she goes above and beyond for all customers....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bellah1989
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to give the Royal Hotel and especially Allison a fantastic 5 star review. I will pass on all your lovely comments to her and the rest of our team, the RAD Hotel Group value all feedback. It is always lovely for a member of staff to feel appreciated for going...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I'm so fortunate that my Scottish Family are all regulars at this great wee spot as they really give us the Royal treatment. We live in Canada and regularly go to Cumnock for visits and always spend our last night having dinner here. Usually about 16 of us including 7 little kids and the staff are all so incredible. Rhona,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rakelly656
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening all the way in Canada, Thank you for your lovely review of the Royal Hotel and our staff. It is always a pleasure to welcome yourself and your Scottish family to the Royal, as we do on a very regular basis. You are a fantastic family (especially your 7 little kids). We very much appreciate the custom yourself...

Ochiltree
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We went for the early evening diner menu of 2 courses on a Friday evening. Very good value at £9.95 and arrived quickly. Would recommend the soup as a starter followed by either the chicken or fish. Service was fine and no issues, good value

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurel_265
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review. Delighted to see that you enjoyed the quality and value of our daily specials menu. I will pass on your feedback to our team. We look forward to welcoming to the hotel in the future. Regards Rhona Weldon Operations Manager

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Our family of 6 stayed here for one night en-route to Aberfeldy. The rooms are well decorated, spacious and spotless. The breakfast was delicious with a good choice. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would come back. Highly recommend as a family location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review of the Royal Hotel. It was a pleasure to have your family with us on your recent overnight stay. I will pass all your positive feedback on to our team. We would look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Royal Hotel in the future. Regards Rhona Weldon Operations...

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Go often for something to eat and the food is always lovely and the staff are all great. More than happy to accommodate dietary requirements. Nice cosy surroundings and a relaxed atmosphere. Very reasonably priced also. Will be returning very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jadeyh_1992
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Royal Hotel, and for your lovely 5 star review. We really appreciate your positive feedback, which will be passed on to all of our staff and management. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel when you next visit. Best Regards Rhona Weldon Operations Manager

East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Excellent every visit even oblige mum with a smaller portion, varied menu as the specials change, always an excellent choice and excellent meal well presented Can drop in without booking and will be fitted it whether it's a meal or light bites such a great choice Friendly staff as well as efficient

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Hotel, and for your lovely 5 star review. We work hard to make all our guests feel welcome in the hotel,. I will pass on all your lovely comments to our chefs, management and front of house staff. We will be delighted to welcome you in the near...

EAST AYRSHIRE
Reviewed 11 June 2016

For starters we had tempura which was ok main course we both chose braised steak but couldnt eat it as the sauce was terrible the plate was swimming in a wine based sauce if we had known that the sauce contained wine we would not have ordered it . We did ask the waitress and she said thats what chaseur...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANNE L
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to make me aware of your disappointment with your Main Course choice on your recent visit to the Royal Hotel. Can I take this opportunity to apologise that our very popular Braised Rump Steak, was spoiled for you, by the Chasseur sauce not being to your taste. I hope that you will...

Barrhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016

I stopped off at the hotel a week ago when I was out on a bike run. The restaurant is actually on the first floor as I thought I was in the wrong place as first area I came to was the office. Once upstairs it opens out into a very nice bar and restaurant areas. I went into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your fantastic 5 star review. I am delighted to see that the hotel exceeded your expectations in all aspects. We have some very exciting developments coming up for the hotel in the very near future, and it is great to be able to relay to our staff and managers that their hard work...

Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2016

My grandson took his mother and grandmother for a birthday treat for lunch today. My wife (grandmother) stated that the experience was unacceptable. She had a salad for lunch which consisted of 2 slices of inferior gammon, a minuscule portion of pineapple a disappointing salad mix and a portion of chips all for the princely sum of £10.95 She has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frankwalker2014
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your families experience at the Royal Hotel, the RAD group values all guest feedback. I am sorry to read that your wife felt that her salad was of an unacceptable standard. Our ham and pineapple salad is a very popular choice on our a la carte menu, it is priced...

Reviewed 28 April 2016

i have visited the royal hotel several times and more often than not i enjoy my meal however i have ordered steak on several occasions and have never received it the way i asked for it. other than that its OK, wouldn't rush back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David J
RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, guest feedback is very important to us at the Royal Hotel. As a RAD group hotel we pride ourselves on being much better than "average" and your feedback allows us to review and better our product where necessary. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your meals on previous occasions, however...

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
6.3 km away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
994 reviews
0.2 km away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
417 reviews
10.0 km away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 km away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
492 reviews
22.4 km away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
590 reviews
22.2 km away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Hotel was built in 1892 by Mr R J Barrowman, and has proven over the years to be a figurehead of Cumnock Town Centre. The hotel with it’s Victorian Façade has been extensively refurbished by the current owners, Mr & Mrs Kyle, with a few of the original features retained creating a more contemporary feel with a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All those who have frequented the Royal, past and present have welcomed the results. The refurbishment was culminated in 2006 with the completion of the Royal Sports Bar located on the ground floor, which has a spacious bar, area air conditioning and TVs, showing most major sporting events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 1 Glaisnock Street, Cumnock KA18 1BP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Price Range: $125 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not have a salad for lunch”
 of 5 bubbles frankwalker2014, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“We did not stay - just there for dinner.”
 of 5 bubbles Janice221, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have less noise from bar downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles 933laurau, 19 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Room 3 was nice and spacious”
 of 5 bubbles S11HNH, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We had room number 2.”
 of 5 bubbles touristBev, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay