We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barra Lodge

136 reviews
Save
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (12)
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good33%
  • Average22%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible12%
11 Apr 2017
“Nice Stay”
20 Mar 2017
“Great Escape”
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Pool
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (136)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Barra Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
27
35
25
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
27
35
25
14
15
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
71 - 75 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed two nights and during the morning of the second day I discovered money had been stolen from my belongings whilst they were in the room. This was not an oportunistic theft as the money was well hidden. The thief had to had gone through...More

Thank Carol S
Response from BarraResorts, Manager at Barra LodgeResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for your review. We are indeed still investigating this incident and do take such occurances very seriously. Can you please email me on carrie@barraresorts.com and I can follow up this with you, from the head office.

Reviewed 17 August 2012

When we arrived our cottage was filthy the shower was disgusting, one of the knobs was broken and the general appearance of the room was nothing like the photos on the internet(not that i expected it to be). Did I mention the beds and linen...shocking!...More

2  Thank Vuvu S
Response from BarraResorts, Manager at Barra LodgeResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for your review. We were very concerned to read that your stay was below standard. Although some of our rooms are basic accommodation as advertised, we will be looking into the quality of the linen. We truly appreciate the feedback.

Reviewed 15 July 2012

This year we were back, dragging along another 3 families! The kids had the time of their lives and we loved it too. We requested 4 chalets next to each other, but got 3 and one further away. That probably being a bit of an...More

Thank DeninaBernard
Response from BarraResorts, Manager at Barra LodgeResponded 20 July 2012

Kids, family, friends and fun. We recognise that at Barra and are so happy to hear that we met your needs and expectations. I am also glad you got to experience the authenticity of Mozambique. That's what it is all about. We really hope to...More

Reviewed 12 July 2012

What a magical 5 nights spent at Barra over long weekend of April/May... The service was fantastic - Joaquim, Zeca and Love Joy looked after us like ROCK STARS!! Great food (prawns, prawns and yes... more prawns) and location (you can't find a better beach...More

Thank Winemistress
Response from BarraResorts, Manager at Barra LodgeResponded 20 July 2012

every time you close your eyes...that shall be our theme song! thank you for a lovely review. We really do take pride in our lodge and our 'rock star' staff. We hope to see you back again soon!

Reviewed 24 June 2012

Good food and service (including airport transfers) in a great location on a fantastic long, wide beach. Chalets private but not mosquito-proof with no aircon or ceilng fan.Another guest had a problem with a shower not working. Good dive centre on site but diving not...More

1  Thank KarinL65
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you for your review. Gaining the guest experience and perspective is so vital to us and our operations. Over-fishing in Mozambique is a problem, one that we have been working on and continue to work on, with the local government and local communities. We...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1131415161724
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$20 - US$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Inhambane Province
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Inhambane Province
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$20 - US$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Inhambane Province
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Inhambane Province
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (12)
Dining (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Barra Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"The cabanas are equipped wit air conditioners and are for large families. Lot of accommodation on offer. Ask..."
Read review
"It seems you can't really choose as allocation is changed as they please."
Read review
"Choose aircon type cabana, beach facing."
Read review
"The 6-sleeper chalets are great for a well-priced self-catering stay"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing