King John Inn

King John Inn

Traveller (50)
Dining (27)
King Room
Room & Suite (22)

View prices for your travel dates

C$206
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 inn in Tollard Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated in the scenic village of Tollard Royal in rural Wiltshire, The King John Inn is a Victorian and award-wining country inn offering beautiful accommodation, delicious food and a warm, friendly service. Our eight en-suite bedrooms combine modern comfort with rustic elegance and feature luxurious linen, Nespresso machines, flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi, direct dial phones and luxurious toiletries. Our Head Chef is an accomplished fisherman, bakes his own bread, makes his own cheese and still finds time to get up early and catch local game when in season so you can expect that every plate on the King John menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. We are proud to have recently received 1 Rosette from the AA. In summer, our terraced garden is the perfect place to dine alfresco while watching the chefs in action in their Victorian-inspired outdoor kitchen. In winter, relax near our roaring-log fires in our open plan pub or in the informal restaurant. The bar provides an ever-changing selection of imported drafts and local beers as well as an extensive wine list. Salisbury and its cathedral are only a 30 minute drive away whilst the beautiful hillside town of Shaftesbury is only 20 minutes. The King John Inn also sits within a 5-minute walk of the historic Rushmore Park, an area of lawn and open woodland home to the Rushmore Golf Club.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
243Reviews0Q+A52Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 112
  • 55
  • 39
  • 29
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Andyuk51 wrote a review Mar 2023
Wiltshire, United Kingdom18 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had been to The King John for lunch but this time decided to make it a stop over on our return from the north. I think that some peoples reviews forget the context of what this place is, it is a Pub that does accommodation as opposed to a hotel that does accommodation.
We booked the King Room which is enormous, even the king size bed looked small! 2 large windows let in a generous amount of light during the day and the heavy duty curtains keep the room dark at night. There were only 3 lamps to light the room and no ceiling light, that wasn't a bother to us, but I guess to some it might be questioned.
The bed was very comfy which gave us a good nights sleep.
The bathroom is also large with a roll top freestanding bath and a very large walk in shower with large rain drop shower head.
We had an evening meal which was very good and sat near the open fire in the bar. The pub is owned by Butcombe Brewery so the beers on offer were just Butcombes, not a problem to me as their Original is a good ale, the usual draught lagers were on offer.
Breakfast was excellent, a typical full English and done very well. All the staff who served us were really friendly and very helpful.
This is a great pub that does well at hotelling! We can recommend this place to any traveller looking for a place to stay, you will be well fed and well rested.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It's quality, not budget. Location is remote and rural. Plenty of parking. Dog friendly pub....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah D wrote a review Feb 2023
Newbury, United Kingdom11 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night
Room was lovely. Huge bed, nice bathroom.
Clean and tidy
Barman was helpful but was a bit confused at first which room we were to go in
Very nice decor and roomy
Prices in the bar were high but expected
Bit noisy early evening but again not to an annoying level and quiet after 11
Nice pub atmosphere

What was a shame

On arrival the TV did not work. There was a variety of excuses for this. It was a known problem the barman thought was fixed, the outside ariel was not working, it was only ITV (it wasn’t). Lots of checking if others rooms and was assured all the TVs had the same problem.

After a good 45 minutes of this was offered that after the rugby was ended the TV which could be connected by WiFi could be bought to room. This was irritating. I wanted to settle down but didn’t know if this was soon or later. Luckily I had a laptop which I was able to connect and I didn’t need a TV bought up.

Later that evening spoke to another guest who informed their TV was fine. This really let down the visit. For the price £90 a night I would expect the owners to review how this is done. Twice it was mentioned this is an issue. So sorting it makes it a good experience for the customer

There was no milk for tea/coffee and coffee was for cafetière but not one available to use. So back to staff and one was supplied.

Again the other guest also had no milk

Little niggles but this should be managed better. Back for a trip in September and I will stay elsewhere which is a shame as the rest is good

Breakfast was nice but had to chase for salt/pepper and sauces not offered so chase again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cirrus Inns, Marketing at King John Inn
Responded Sep 15, 2023
Sarahd2076, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at King John Inn - Hotel. We are now under new management and really do hope you try us again soon! Dan General manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo C wrote a review Dec 2023
United Kingdom190 contributions89 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had room 2, situated right above the bar, the decor was stylish and the room was comfortable with en-suite bath/shower, toiletries provided all great for a nights getaway.

My only complaint here would be, don’t allow guests to stay up in the bar until 4am, though I had fallen asleep, there loud voices woke me up about 3am.

We booked for supper and it was good, but it didn’t have the wow factor that the photos on the website had alluded too, so I was a bit disappointed. But the staff completely made up for that as they were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable.

Breakfast was a delight, with plenty of choices to have.

All in all a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Marketing at King John Inn
Responded Dec 13, 2023
Dear Jo, Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. I will ensure i pass this on to our team. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the Room. We are always working hard to achieve 5 stars and we take all feedback seriously and act upon it. Kind Regards Dan and The King John Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul D wrote a review Mar 2020
Penzance, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Wouldn't have noticed much to have issues with (although the evening downstairs was incredibly noisy), until staff didn't turn up for their breakfast shift. Guests were locked out of the dining area, and after an hour we had to go without settling up. Well we couldn't. Don't know when staff actually arrived.
We got a phone call as we were travelling home to ask us to settle the bill for the evening meal the night before, which I did over the phone. As it seemed more than I expected for two drinks and two main courses, I emailed when I got home for a breakdown of the bill. It took a lot of attempts and patience to finally end up with a response, which came after about a week. When I got the invoice,there were three drinks on it that we hadn't had and a 'discretionary' service charge that I hadn't agreed to.
After a few exchanges of email about this and our overall experience,and with obviously no sense from The King John that an apology for anything was needed, ( I did get, "I don't know, I wasn't there" as though I needed to be challenged on my observations and I did feel there was an inference that I could be telling an untruth.) , I advised them to keep the overcharged amount as they would probably end up needing it with that kind of attitude. I don't know, maybe they were not not reading anything I said. Or from a galaxy far, far away?
On the bright side, staggeringly incompetent hospitality is always amusing. I note that you are offered a Prosecco, a Mimosa or a Bloody Mary for breakfast. Does this offer up any kind of clue?
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Feargal wrote a review Sep 2020
Tisbury, United Kingdom43 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had Sunday lunch here last Sunday, having eaten at the sister pub for my birthday last year we decided to try the King John.
I as are the other 3 so very glad we did. On arrival at this picturesque village pub everything looked perfect, nice outside area, lovely interior and a friendly welcome.
The food menu and wine list have a great selection at various prices.
The quality of the ingredients and their preparation was faultless as was the service but, and it’s a small thing and purely personal the presentation on the plate wasn’t as good and distracted from an otherwise perfect meal.
The Cote du Boeuf was a stunning piece of meat, cooked to perfection and great flavour, the Pork Belly tasty with a crisp, not too salty crackling and finally the Soufflé perfect. All needed just something even if it was just to dress the salad that came out.
We as ever opted for cheeses and they were a nice temperature when served and the girls loved the Brownie.
All in all a huge success and we will be back.
The only other gripe is the service charge been added on with the food section on the bill while the “gratuity” bit left empty
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean T wrote a review Jan 2023
United Kingdom37 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Went for Sunday lunch and having looked at the menu , reviews etc looked like the perfect place to enjoy a family meal . We arrived at 1.45 for our table at 2pm so after their really busy period . unfortunately we waited 50 minutes for our meal to arrive and another table that arrived after us had their meals served well before us , when the food eventually arrived it was not to the standard we thought it would be , my chicken was slightly raw on the bone which they did apologise for , the beef was fatty and the potatoes and Yorkshire pudding were over cooked , the broccoli cheese that was supposed to be served to us got forgotten about , that said in fairness the partridge pie was excellent and the chocolate orange torte one of the best deserts we’ve tasted . We did raise our concerns in a nice way when we paid for our meal but it was met with nonchalance which was probably more disappointing than the meal itself .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is a challenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cirrus Inns, Marketing at King John Inn
Responded Sep 15, 2023
Jeant441, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. We have currently formed a new management team both back and front of house. Hopefully you will come back again and try the king John. Many thanks Dan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anjsimone wrote a review Oct 2020
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom34 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It's not a michelin star restaurant or fine dining or nouvelle cuisine, it's a bar/bistro/pub/inn and so I don't expect to be told, in a very blunt manner, that they DON'T have ketchup for fish and chips. (I wish, now, that I'd asked why....) Billed as 'pub classics' on the menu, that's how they should be served. You can make the ketchup yourself if you want to be trendy about it, but chips that are dry need a little bit of something moist and the thimble of tartar sauce wasn't enough to cover the fish (which was totally delicious) as well as the chips. Service was friendly when at the table but we were left far too long trying to catch someone's eye to get a drink or ask for the bill. Also, if I ask for a pint of lime and soda then that's what I expect to get - a pint.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris_Potter wrote a review Mar 2022
Chigwell, United Kingdom21 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely Inn located in the heart of the countryside. Choose one of the larger rooms if you plan to stay a few days. The restaurant had a limited but very nice menu. The room we stayed in could be easily improved to make it more modern and functional.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bongo Bongo wrote a review Oct 2023
Salisbury, United Kingdom34 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly staff but repeatedly had to go to the bar during our meal to order more drinks. Really surprised at such a terribly bad meal , was actually very embarrassed as we took the in-laws .
Tasteless , soggy roast food that wasn’t very warm, such a shame as we have such lovely pubs in the area and the price for what we were served was disgusting. Wont be back I’m afraid , back to the Chickpea group pubs 🙌🏻👌
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Might be nice for a good beer but not much else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cirrus Inns, Marketing at King John Inn
Responded Oct 20, 2023
Roberta L Thank you for your feedback. We at the King John strive for excellence in food and service and 100% satisfaction. I’d be truly appreciative if you were willing to share your experience with me directly using the contact details on our website so that we can arrange for us to prove ourselves to you. Kind Regards Dan and The King John Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ccowie384705 wrote a review Oct 2020
Swindon, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was absolutely delicious and the menu selection is fantastic. The staff are super friendly and extremely helpful, and were very accommodating at short notice. Service was exemplary throughout our stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
edfrapbo wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great place to take your dogs to as well"
Read full review
Bongo Bongo wrote a tip Oct 2023
Salisbury, United Kingdom34 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Might be nice for a good beer but not much else "
Read full review
Nina L wrote a tip Oct 2023
Salisbury, United Kingdom2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The service was not very good and the food was very disappointing. "
Read full review
J2Travellers wrote a tip Jun 2023
Bath, United Kingdom88 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the butcombe loyalty card as discounts apply on food and rooms."
Read full review
CAMegaEater wrote a tip Jun 2023
Romsey, United Kingdom198 contributions85 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wait til they get it sorted and then it will be good"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tollard Royal area.
PRICE RANGE
C$128 - C$235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
king john hotel wiltshire
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWiltshireTollard Royal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

King John Inn - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about King John Inn
Which popular attractions are close to King John Inn?
Nearby attractions include Larmer Tree Gardens (0.9 km), Melbury Downs (5.6 km), and Cranborne Chase Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at King John Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at King John Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at King John Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to King John Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Forester, Horseshoe Inn, and The Museum Inn.
Is King John Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Tollard Royal.
Are pets allowed at King John Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to King John Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Wardour Castle (8.5 km), Gold Hill (9.4 km), and Dinton Park & Philipps House (15.6 km).
Is King John Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars