We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center

Booking.comUS$39*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 345: English reviews
Start your review of Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
 Click to rate
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Believe all the bad reviews you read about this place. Outdated, dirty and uncomfortable. Located in a very dodgy area, this unkempt establishment looks like it's ready to die. The breakfast areas is dirty, just like the rooms. If you like stained sheets, lumpy beds, broken furniture and staff with an attitude to match the decor then this is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in bad shape and I do not recommend it. There are stains on the carpeting, exposed wires where lights and exit signs should be, and the beds are not comfortable at all. The room cost $120 a night, but it is not up to the standard of hotels in that price range. The lighting in the parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were concerned about statying at this hotel after reading some of the reviews. We found it to be charming and comfortable. We enjoyed all the history the hotel had to offer and the front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iowamkp
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent one night at the hotel. In reading reviews, we saw that it was outdated, but clean and reasonably priced, which is why we decided to give it a go. The hotel met our expectations. Yes, there are some areas where there is a bit of peeling wallpaper. I talked to one of the housekeeping staff and she said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_Zirks
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm sure this hotel was wonderful about 20 years ago, sadly it is now a run down sad building. Only plus the girls on the desk were helpful. The downs (of which there were many) included: dirty walls and carpets; stains on sheets; breakfast was a bagel or cereal with cold coffee. We stayed as a large group (soccer team)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
South Beloit, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a great stay at the Cliffbreakers. The front desk was nice and helpful with driving directions. I stayed in a Bi-Level suite and had plenty of room to do some work and relax. Best place to stay in the Rockford area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank metzjoseph
CB_General_Manager, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

metzjoseph, Thanks so much for your great review! A lot of our guests love our HUGE Bi-Level suites because it gives them plenty of space and TWO full bathrooms. We look forward to upcoming renovations and hope that we can continue to be of service to you again in the near future.

Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I reserved a townhouse suite through Booking.com. When we arrived at 11 p.m. we were told that the hotel was overbooked so we were put into a regular room with one double bed. I was very unhappy as I had reserved the larger room so my adult daughter and I could each have our own beds and so that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelmaven018
CB_General_Manager, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I will ensure that we look into the issues you mentioned and use this as a coaching and counseling tool for the team to grow and learn from.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spoke with Hannah and Amanda about the government rates for government employees that were going to be nearby on a job site for one night. Neither person could tell me why the rate of the rooms did not match what was listed on the 2017 travel board listing. I had to contact the hotel twice because there was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank p0werc0uple
CB_General_Manager, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hello, I have sent you a private message in an effort to gather more information about your booking concerns. I would also like to say that we are aware of the government per diem amounts and while we often have the government rate set exactly at the per diem amount in order to make it an attractive stay for a...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, quiet, and unique; my kids call it "fancy." The staff is more than accommodating. Our 4th stay and will keep going back! My 2yr old told maid "I love you!" Can't wait to see it post-renovation!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany M
CB_General_Manager, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Bethany M, Thanks so much for your amazing review! We love our repeat guests here. Please message me directly in the future when booking so we can see how we can make your two year old's experience an even better one!

St Pete Beach
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

It could be nice, but it's in need of a major over-haul. The beds are old and you feel every spring. There's a fridge, microwave & coffee maker, but no coffee pot or coffee. The staff was accommodating and friendly. The free breakfast has been reduced to some cereal, bagels & muffins.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oconnor1129
CB_General_Manager, General Manager at Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Oconnor1129, Thanks so much for your review! We are excited about our upcoming renovations that will fix some of the structural issues that you have mentioned here. I am glad the staff was able to assist you and you found them accommodating and friendly.

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
9.9 km away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
10.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
9.6 km away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 25 in Rockford
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 25 in Rockford
329 reviews
10.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
9.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"The Jewel of Rockford" is the most popular destination for business travel, families and for special events such as weddings, business conferences and meetings and fundraisers with the region’s largest ballrooms and most attractive meeting space. The Northern Illinois Luxury Hotel at Cliffbreakers Riverside Resort includes more of what you want when traveling to the real, original Northern Illinois Region – the community with big-city amenities and a small-town feel! Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all guest rooms – we have it. Northern Illinois Riverview Suites, Loft Suites or Specialty Themed Suites – your choice! Free hot breakfast – available every morning. A European styled property with a heated indoor pool and evening room service – relax and enjoy. Every guest room with Microwaves, Mini-fridges and expanded cable TV....relax and enjoy! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 700 West Riverside Blvd, Rockford, IL 61103 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Cliffbreakers' Riverside Resort)
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Price Range: $119 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel At Cliffbreakers` Riverside Rockford
Lexington Hotel Cliffbreakers Riverside
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Minneapolis, Minnesota
over a year ago
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look elsewhere.”
931ma, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You can pay a bit extra and get a riverside room for a nice view.”
Swiss_Zirks, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Bi-level suite was a great room with plenty of space and a view of the river.”
metzjoseph, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“river view is nice”
LindaMcDermott, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor river view. Note lobby is on the third floor, as the hotel is built on a hill.”
RickJ86, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$39* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$39
Expedia.comUS$79
TravelocityUS$79
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates