We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Baker

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hotel Baker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Baker
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

We were visiting out of town for a friends wedding which was held at the Hotel Baker. It is a beautiful facility. Tons of history. The staff were friendly and extremely accommodating. The hotel was extremely clean. Would love to know more history behind the hotel other than built in 1928.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ecseger
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Please email jborsellino@hotelbaker.com. Provide your name and mailing address so we can forward a historical booklet to you. We look forward to seeing you again!

Wheeling, Illinois
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Stayed in a king room on a Saturday night. $230. Staff was friendly, hotel is old style, all the decor is a history of the hotel. Room was in good shape -- newer carpet, paint, etc. Right on Main St of the city. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Restaurant in hotel is $$$. Didn't eat there. No parking on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrBill923
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear MrBill923, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Your thoughts are greatly appreciated. We hope that you will give us a try at ROX City Grill - we would love for you to come and dine with us. We look forward to having you come and visit us real soon! WIth much respect, Team HB

Granger, Indiana
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Pouring rain, no parking. No valet. Had to ask for an umbrella. Told parking was one block down two blocks south. Rooms were shabby at best, very old. Had to look for toilet paper. Drunk women in lobby when we arrived, glad I didn't have grandchildren with us. Stayed at Hyatt the previous night, better room and amenities for half...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OHara628
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Ohara628, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for your poor experience. We hope that you will give Hotel Baker another try in the future. As we have many challenges, we always try to make sure we can accommodate your needs as best as we can. The information you have provided is helpful in...

Saint Charles, Illinois
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We have gone here for Breakfast with Santa the last two years and it has been great! The food is excellent and plenty of it. Also Santa is upstairs to take pictures with the kids and they also have face painting activities. The only advice I would give if you are interested in going to Breakfast with Santa is to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Derek S, Thank you for your Breakfast with Santa review. It is such a joy to see a review that the Breakfast with Santa event was enjoyed. We try to make sure we have events that are memorable which becomes tradition for many. We are looking forward to another wonderful holiday season in 2016 having Breakfast with Santa on...

Saint Charles
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Get one of the top floor suites!! Awesome view and a hot tub on a private balcony! Feel like your living back in the 1920s or 1930s!! Great Location with nightlife all within walking distance. All this right on the Fox River. Go St. Charles!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew K
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Andrew K, Thank you for your thoughtful and gracious feedback. We hope you are able to return to the hotel sometime soon and enjoy the upgraded amenities we are working on (and ongoingly working on). We hope you have a great summer and be safe! Sincerely, Team HB

chicago
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We stayed for one night to celebrate a birthday. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite. The room was very dark and sparsely furnished in old tired looking furniture. The carpet looked like 50 years old and in need of replacement. The decor and room in general was not inviting and sort of creepy in an odd way. Bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielswiss64
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear danielswiss64, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. We hope that you will give Hotel Baker another try in the future. The carpet has been changed in the rooms, not 50 years old. To date, we are in the process of upgrading the floorings in the public spaces and the guest rooms and suites. The information...

Saint John, Indiana
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

I usually do due diligence and read reviews before booking a hotel. My husband booked Hotel Baker for an anniversary overnight. Highly disappointed!! What could of been a beautiful romantic overnight ended up being a nightmare. Rude staff, dumpy room and neighbors who kept their TV on all night for us to enjoy! So much potential but very overpriced thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyMommy
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear HawkeyMommy, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for your poor experience. We hope that you will give Hotel Baker another try in the future. As we have many challenges, we always try to make sure we can accommodate your needs as best as we can. The information you have provided is helpful in...

Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Absolutely the worst customer service I've ever experienced. Front desk was awful. Front desk managers even worse! This was the most unprofessional and horrible group of customer service employees ever dealt with. Have stayed in many hotels and totally disappointed at lack of professionalism from this hotel. Will never stay here again. Rooms were smelly, people were rude, terrible experience....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lillie l
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Alex M, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your experience. We constantly review our guests' feedback in order to improve the services we offer at our small abode. Should you have detailed information of scenarios where you believe the response was not appropriate from staff, please forward any information to rsalas@hotelbaker.com. With respect, we thank...

Fortaleza, CE
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Have been to Hotel Baker various times in the past years and it is always good to be back. I usually stay here for business so the review is written out of this perspective. The hotel is centrally situated in Saint Charles next to the river. It is a really nice location and with good weather you can take a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AvdV80
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear AvdV80, Thank you for your kind words. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to having you come back to Hotel Baker. Respectfully, Team HB

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 1 February 2016

I must say I was disappointed. We booked a room for a weekend getaway for my husband's birthday. The room was not impressive at all. The carpet and furnishings were worn and drabby, plus the room was a very awkward shape. The bathroom was small and not impressive. When I checked out I asked the desk clerk if it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen V
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Karen V, Sincere apologies for your disappointing and poor experience. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Your feedback allows us to make improvements on the points you have mentioned and more. Again, thank you. We hope that you will come and visit us again in the future. Some changes have been made and will be...

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
3.1 km away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
3.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
2.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
442 reviews
3.0 km away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
130 reviews
5.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Address: 100 W Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1810
Region: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Price Range: $161 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baker 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Baker staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Las Vegas, Nevada
Pembroke Pines,FL
over a year ago
Forsyth, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Baker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room over looking the river”
 of 5 bubbles paul30, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 255christinee, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“River / Main St. views are good.”
 of 5 bubbles SWONTraveller, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I would definitely ask to see a room before booking. The website shows rooms with beautiful and lavish furnishings. Very deceiving.”
 of 5 bubbles KarenV372, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room on the backside to get a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles welltraveledOkie, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5